Thread Tools
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 03:09 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
I am considering purchasing this motor for my X8. Does it have enough power for FPV if I fly it on a 4s?
Old Jan 30, 2013, 04:12 PM
hendrix is offline
Find More Posts by hendrix
Registered User
Quote:
I am considering purchasing this motor for my X8. Does it have enough power for FPV if I fly it on a 4s?
I recommend the Hyperion Zs 4020 775 rpm/v with a 12x8 Aeronaut or 13x8 Graupner folding propeller
(300g ~70A at WOT) for a more than 4Kg AUW.
Plenty of efficient power for more than 5kg AUW.
For less than 4Kg AUW i don't know.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:11 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AVIATION_RULZ View Post
I am considering purchasing this motor for my X8. Does it have enough power for FPV if I fly it on a 4s?
Quote:
Originally Posted by hendrix View Post
I recommend the Hyperion Zs 4020 775 rpm/v with a 12x8 Aeronaut or 13x8 Graupner folding propeller
(300g ~70A at WOT) for a more than 4Kg AUW.
Plenty of efficient power for more than 5kg AUW.
For less than 4Kg AUW i don't know.
Thanks for the recommendation but I am really interested in this particular motor.. the Turnigy G32 shown above. Will the G32 have enough power with a 13x6.5 prop?
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:23 PM
Daemon is offline
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
No. It'll overamp the that motor.
That motor is in ecalc. Go see for yourself.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:30 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
No. It'll overamp the that motor.
That motor is in ecalc. Go see for yourself.
I'm not seeing where the motor would be overamped. Please see attachment.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 05:44 PM
Daemon is offline
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Choose any other brand prop and it goes over the limit.
Besides it's only rated for 42A max continuous and 55A burst.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 06:19 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
ignore post
Last edited by AVIATION_RULZ; Jan 30, 2013 at 07:27 PM.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:31 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
Daemon, I think I owe you a round of beers!

You actually drew my attention to a very critical error I made. When I did my calculations for the 13x6.5 prop, I made the calculations with the battery in "normal" mode. If I had put that prop on with a Full battery... it would have been catastrophic. Thanks for warning.... I owe you one.

Having said that, I went back into e-calc and I changed the prop size to a 12x7. I have attached the "full battery" and "normal battery" values. Can you please take a look at it and give me your thoughts?

Cheers!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Choose any other brand prop and it goes over the limit.
Besides it's only rated for 42A max continuous and 55A burst.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:14 PM
Daemon is offline
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Yes I think 12x7 is probably a good choice for that rpm. I've been considering it myself
for another plane. Just can't source those Aeronaut props from my usual sources.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:20 PM
AVIATION_RULZ is offline
Find More Posts by AVIATION_RULZ
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
Yes I think 12x7 is probably a good choice for that rpm. I've been considering it myself
for another plane. Just can't source those Aeronaut props from my usual sources.
Thanks for your feedback. A good supplier is espritmodel.com
I just ordered my props from their late last night and they had it shipped out with a tracking number available by this afternoon. And they are based in the US.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:23 PM
Daemon is offline
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
I don't see 12x7 folding in their selection. I know it exists, but it's rare.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:27 PM
Pattaya01 is offline
Find More Posts by Pattaya01
When a hobby gets a passion
Quote:
Originally Posted by satgod View Post
let me know if they actually work
my x8 build might get a set
It will take a few weeks, maybe even more as it hasn't even arrived yet. But it's all on the way, and as soon as it comes in and I can start, I will post the progress on this treat.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 08:29 PM
jayb1rdz is offline
Find More Posts by jayb1rdz
Never fly an A model anything!
jayb1rdz's Avatar
It mighyt be easier to source and buy 12 x 6 and use an 2 degree offset yoke ??
Old Jan 30, 2013, 11:29 PM
Jeff Watt is offline
Find More Posts by Jeff Watt
Registered User
Aeronaut makes a 12X6.5 - That's the closest I could find.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product X8---new 2.4GHz Radio System ASSAN Radios 5744 Oct 11, 2016 01:30 AM
For Sale Assan 2.4 ghz X8 6ch receiver Brand New Scooter33 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Oct 12, 2011 10:34 AM
Discussion Any info regarding this x8 setup?Better than coax x8? sjak Multirotor Talk 11 Aug 14, 2011 09:33 AM
Sold New Assan Module X8 2.4 for JR Tx norstaroption Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Nov 21, 2009 06:42 AM
Sold New - 4 (Four) ASSAN X8 R6 6Ch 2.4GHz Receivers - $105 EyeFlyPlanes Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 20, 2008 03:39 AM