Nov 12, 2012, 02:13 AM
Youtube: TomRi25
Dr.Tom's Avatar
it usually means you solder 2 battery connectors on your cable that goes to ESC,
in parallel naturally.

so you can fly with only 1 bat for the first time, or when you don't need long flight,
and plug both when you want to stay up longer...
(both must be fully charged before connecting!)

my setup is here, it gives me 70 minutes of flying
and is not expensive (Hobbyking motor, not scorpion)
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...8#post23051954
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 12, 2012, 02:48 AM
Registered User
Thank tom, champion! thats exactly what i needed! So do i parralel it or series link it?? because both those setups have diferent characteristics, series circuit doubles the voltage so i dont wont to blow up my motor?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Tom View Post
it usually means you solder 2 battery connectors on your cable that goes to ESC,
in parallel naturally.

so you can fly with only 1 bat for the first time, or when you don't need long flight,
and plug both when you want to stay up longer...
(both must be fully charged before connecting!)

my setup is here, it gives me 70 minutes of flying
and is not expensive (Hobbyking motor, not scorpion)
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...8#post23051954
Last edited by 7536jake; Nov 12, 2012 at 03:46 AM.
Nov 12, 2012, 04:11 AM
Registered User
Stefan_Go's Avatar
There are readymade adaptors for setting batts in parallel, e.g. this one: http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Parallel.html

About the setups, I started to collect a list of setups to help finding the most efficient combination of components, here: http://stefan.gofferje.net/projects/.../x8-setup-list
Nov 12, 2012, 04:17 AM
Youtube: TomRi25
Dr.Tom's Avatar
2 jake: I strongly suggest you remove the heatsrink and resolder (heat and add some solder)
those connectors on Y, parallel and similar harnesses from HK,

they are known for very bad QC, and contact can sometimes be broken by pulling the wire when unplugging connector.
not worth to risk your expensive fpv plane because of 2 min check needed.
Nov 12, 2012, 05:11 AM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
Hi Jake, mine are all in parallel mate. Giving the same voltage but double capacity. The lipos power the whole system, I use a variable voltage PSU to power and filter my camera and vtx.



I made up my own wiring loop so I can plug up to 5x lipos in, or ( what its mainly for ) is up to 4 lipos but giving options for locating them for the correct CG still.
Nov 12, 2012, 05:35 AM
Eduardo

X8 fly time


Hello Dr. Tom,

I saw you fly more than 60 minutes with your X8.
do you know your cruise speed ?
My X8 have turnigy 4240/800 with 13x6.5" prop and 2x5000 bat and i never flow more than 50 minutes.

i am using autopilot set to 26m/s cruise.

another question, you put the battery in front compartment ?
have you flutter problem ?

when i speed my wing more than 30m/s the flutter start.

best regards and sorry for my poor english.
Nov 12, 2012, 10:00 AM
Registered User
Quick question guys. How do you locate the CG, with or without the wings?

While I usually check the CG with the wings attached, it always tend to be tail heavy so the front is usually crowded. I'm just curious if somehow other guys check the CG without the wings.

Nov 12, 2012, 10:31 AM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
Always with the wings on, or its not its true CoG especially because the wings are rear of the CoG
Nov 12, 2012, 10:39 AM
Registered User
Wings on, batteries in, all gear in place - like it would be when it's flying. Otherwise, there's no point to the whole exercise.
Nov 12, 2012, 12:22 PM
Registered User
My quick questions never seem to get answered... :-D
Nov 12, 2012, 12:28 PM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
What was your quick question ?
Nov 12, 2012, 01:12 PM
Registered User
brifa's Avatar
I have this motor
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=17358
with a 13x6 cam prop (4S lipo)
do you advice a turnigy plush 60 (or flyfun 60, i think they are the same) or a turnigy plush 80 amp??

which is that one in the picture?

thanks



Quote:
Originally Posted by Coyote64 View Post
Hi Jake, mine are all in parallel mate. Giving the same voltage but double capacity. The lipos power the whole system, I use a variable voltage PSU to power and filter my camera and vtx.



I made up my own wiring loop so I can plug up to 5x lipos in, or ( what its mainly for ) is up to 4 lipos but giving options for locating them for the correct CG still.
Nov 12, 2012, 01:20 PM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
I use a 60 amp Plush, with your motor the datasheet only goes up to 12x6 on 4S pulling 60 amps. You might be pushing the Scorpion too hard with a 13x6

http://www.scorpionsystem.com/files/...data_chart.htm
Nov 12, 2012, 01:57 PM
Registered User
Thanks for informative information! thats exactly what i needed! has any of you ever dealt with the CHainlink Dare? im thinking thats what i need to plug into the back of my dx8 to get the longest amount of range?
Nov 12, 2012, 02:13 PM
Praying for better weather
Coyote64's Avatar
I watched too many scary problem video`s with the Dare. I use the original Chainlink still, works great. If they sorted out the Dare issues then go for it


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product X8---new 2.4GHz Radio System ASSAN Radios 5745 Mar 15, 2017 10:31 AM
For Sale Assan 2.4 ghz X8 6ch receiver Brand New Scooter33 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Oct 12, 2011 09:34 AM
Discussion Any info regarding this x8 setup?Better than coax x8? sjak Multirotor Drone Talk 11 Aug 14, 2011 08:33 AM
Sold New Assan Module X8 2.4 for JR Tx norstaroption Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Nov 21, 2009 05:42 AM
Sold New - 4 (Four) ASSAN X8 R6 6Ch 2.4GHz Receivers - $105 EyeFlyPlanes Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Oct 20, 2008 02:39 AM