Thread Tools
Old May 14, 2012, 01:04 AM
windfou is offline
Find More Posts by windfou
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
i plan to use my ff board on a 25inch quad 620mm motor to motor so do i need to use the pid ajustement in the software or just do the rc calibration ? thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 14, 2012, 02:27 AM
DerRose is offline
Find More Posts by DerRose
Registered User
Hey Jim

Quote:
Try increasing your yaw P and D a few points at a time to get a tighter yaw response. First make sure your motor tilt is correct by doing a dynamic neutral stability setup and test.
I'll try it. But when I want to run the PID Parameter v1.24(2012-2-10) I got the mscomm32.osx error message. I'm running Win 7 68 bit, can someone support?

But as QIW wrote
Quote:
well ... the quad flies very well with the KK board
MY Quad was fine with the KK. Here is an old picture of my FPV Quad.



BR
Michael
Old May 14, 2012, 02:28 AM
andygilbert23 is offline
Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Registered User
My guess is you will have to load in the default pid settings the nearest size, so 500mm and adjust from there which is what I'm doing for my 600mm quad.

But to which software you start with at the moment is anyone's guess as there is two pid software's both with very different default values.

Thanks
Andy
Old May 14, 2012, 02:30 AM
andygilbert23 is offline
Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Registered User
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
Old May 14, 2012, 03:14 AM
DerRose is offline
Find More Posts by DerRose
Registered User
Quote:
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
Thanks Andy! That was quit easy
Old May 14, 2012, 03:57 AM
andygilbert23 is offline
Find More Posts by andygilbert23
Registered User
@DerRose
No Probs

Does anyone know if the PID accepts floating values? (decimal values)

Thanks
Andy
Old May 14, 2012, 04:55 AM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
I think PID stuff came from MK, so no
Old May 14, 2012, 08:15 AM
jesolins is offline
Find More Posts by jesolins
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
Q,
You certainly should have seen a huge difference when changing the P value that much. Did you send the settings?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
well ... the quad flies very well with the KK board
i just swapped over the FF into this frame and electronics .. did the radio and ESC calibrations using the ZN software .. self leveling is not aggressive (i like that)
its just the yaw overshooting and extremely soft control/hold problem ..
maybe i will just play around with the PID settings (somehow i feel whatever figures i throw it does not get written into the FF)
changed yaw P & D values ranging from 50 - 150 does not seem to have any effect .. or should i be playing with the ROL values ?
Old May 14, 2012, 08:28 AM
QiW is offline
QiW
Find More Posts by QiW
QiW
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesolins View Post
Q,
You certainly should have seen a huge difference when changing the P value that much. Did you send the settings?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
sent .. and saved as well (after sending)
the chinese characters says "values successfully uploaded" ..

stick controls and sensors all working perfectly in the ZN software ..
Old May 14, 2012, 08:35 AM
jesolins is offline
Find More Posts by jesolins
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
Hi Q,
OK good. Is that with the slider PID utility version? I've only been using the PID v1.24 linked on the first page, so those defaults seem to be OK. I was able to increase the P by 7 points on my build. Yaw is default for me and responds well. Setting up dynamic neutral stability is key to success there.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
sent .. and saved as well (after sending)
the chinese characters says "values successfully uploaded" ..

stick controls and sensors all working perfectly in the ZN software ..
Old May 14, 2012, 08:38 AM
QiW is offline
QiW
Find More Posts by QiW
QiW
Registered User
i am running firmware 1.22C currently (or so it says on the ZN software)
so i am using the PID utility for 1.22 that has no slider ... maybe i should try the one with the slider
will try and do that and see what happens
Old May 14, 2012, 08:46 AM
Papiti is offline
Find More Posts by Papiti
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by andygilbert23 View Post
@derose right click the software and select to run as administrator and make sure you have the OSX file in the same folder as the software exe.

Thanks
Andy
Hi Andy, hi TC,

I put both OSX file and PID 1.24.exe in a PID directory in c:Windows/System32, but I still get the error message when I follow your procedure.

TC, you recommended to "open (elevated on vista/7) command prompt, cd to \windows\system32, and type 'regsvr32 mscomm32.ocx", but my poor English doesn't allow me to exactly understand what to do.
Could you please explain it to me in very simple words?
Old May 14, 2012, 08:50 AM
jesolins is offline
Find More Posts by jesolins
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
Q,
I recommend that you upgrade to FF V1.24 first.
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Info Mega Link Index
Quote:
Originally Posted by QiW View Post
i am running firmware 1.22C currently (or so it says on the ZN software)
so i am using the PID utility for 1.22 that has no slider ... maybe i should try the one with the slider
will try and do that and see what happens
Old May 14, 2012, 11:30 AM
windfou is offline
Find More Posts by windfou
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
for Jesolins
Old May 14, 2012, 01:00 PM
windfou is offline
Find More Posts by windfou
multi rotors,foamies,car lover
windfou's Avatar
i just downgrade to 1.24 and the download with the bootloader was succesful but now my board flashing a red ligth and can't see any activity in the set up software


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 3 Aug 11, 2011 09:25 AM
Sold FY90Q Flight Controller for Quadcopter - $70 shipped jpsabo Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 Jul 29, 2011 11:21 AM
For Sale Complete MultiWii Quadcopter Flight Controller Kit madushan2008 Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 7 Jul 26, 2011 09:58 AM
Sold Multi Wii flight controller with auto level ver 1.7 tc3wins Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 1 May 08, 2011 02:02 AM
Video Trex SE...3d flight with auto Nick Maxwell Electric Heli Talk 10 Dec 18, 2006 10:23 PM