Thread Tools
Old Nov 26, 2011, 03:35 PM
waldoi is offline
Find More Posts by waldoi
Registered User
Discussion

HTS - SS Blue Sensor Station & HTS Voltage Sensor - How to Set Up


Cannot figure how to set up and connect the new HTS - SS Blue Sensor Station and HTS - Voltage Sensor to my Optima 7 Rx.

1. Does the T -Clip attach to the ESC leads, and if so, the + or - lead?

2. To what is the 3 colored twisted wire attached to?

3. To what is the 3 colored wire with black connectors attached to?

4. How is the Station powered?

5. How is the Station connected to the Rx?

Thx for your help, waldo
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 26, 2011, 04:48 PM
A.T. is offline
Find More Posts by A.T.
Registered User

Hitec HTS-SS BLUE & HTS-Volt & HTS_C50 or HTS-C200 Amp attachment


Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoi View Post
Cannot figure how to set up and connect the new HTS - SS Blue Sensor Station and HTS - Voltage Sensor to my Optima 7 Rx.
1. Does the T -Clip attach to the ESC leads, and if so, the + or - lead?
2. To what is the 3 colored twisted wire attached to?
3. To what is the 3 colored wire with black connectors attached to?
4. How is the Station powered?
5. How is the Station connected to the Rx? Thx for your help, waldo
. Refer to attached jpg and inserted comments..
An alternative to using the crocodule clip for temporary or soldering it in for "permanent" use,
is to replace clip with bullet connectors, refer Post #10 below.

. HTS-SS BLUE Sensor Station for Electric Power Models - Instruction Manual.
(Right click and "save as" to download .PDF direct ex Dropbox. 7.95mb exceeds max size permitted to attach this post)
. Telemetry - Instruction Sheets & User Guides with pictures
Refer to items 2,7 & 10 as well as the attached pictures of the connecting leads
and wiring connections between HTS-SS, transceiver and sensors.
. Telemetry - Battery Voltage via SPC for EP Models

.Voltage not Displayed for GP Model or Opto BEC?
Hitec/MPX de advise:
"Connect a wire between negative battery wire and negative pin of receiver.
Pay attention that the wire is going to suppress the optocoupler protection of my opto HV esc
(galvanic break up)." see also preceding posts #19009 & #19012.
.pdf "HTS-Volt_Earth for GP & Opto BEC" of related Q&A posts is attached.

09Nov12:
HTS-SS Advance - most recent Sensor Station.
Incorporates HTS-SS Blue features and more.
Refer attached manual for connection pictorial.

ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, AFHSS Spectra Modules, Optima Transceivers, Minima Receivers
& Telemetry
- FAQ & Undocumented Features
- Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links (quick search = Ctrl+F)

[Right click RCG attachments and open in new window.
Button bottom right of IE screen (or _+icons Firefox Toolbar)
enables viewing size increase upto 400% for easier reading.]
Last edited by A.T.; Nov 14, 2012 at 02:12 AM. Reason: add HTS-SS Advance manual
Old Nov 27, 2011, 12:58 PM
waldoi is offline
Find More Posts by waldoi
Registered User
OK, thx, that is helpful. I will try to connect when I learn where to attach T Clip.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 03:56 PM
A.T. is offline
Find More Posts by A.T.
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoi View Post
OK, thx, that is helpful. I will try to connect when I learn where to attach T Clip.
additional jpg attached post #2

Alan T.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 06:19 PM
waldoi is offline
Find More Posts by waldoi
Registered User
Got it . Thx. waldo
Old Nov 29, 2011, 08:01 AM
jh2rc97 is offline
Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Registered User
Is there any way to calibrate the voltage and current readings?
Old Nov 29, 2011, 01:47 PM
A.T. is offline
Find More Posts by A.T.
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh2rc97 View Post
Is there any way to calibrate the voltage and current readings?
Not at present.

Alan T.
Old Dec 06, 2011, 02:06 PM
waldoi is offline
Find More Posts by waldoi
Registered User
Alan - does the Voltage Alligator Clip need to penetrate the ESC batt. lead insulation or can it just be clipped to the lead without actually touching the bare wire?
Old Dec 08, 2011, 05:58 PM
A.T. is offline
Find More Posts by A.T.
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoi View Post
Alan - does the Voltage Alligator Clip need to penetrate the ESC batt. lead insulation or can it just be clipped to the lead without actually touching the bare wire?
An additonal picture has been added to post #2 above.
. Bare the lead to allow good connection with crocodile clip.
. Best result will be obtained by soldering that lead as
vibration, dirt or corrosion could impact on reading.
. Insulate joint with self amalgamating tape or similar.

Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links (quick search = Ctrl+F)
Old Dec 09, 2011, 04:28 PM
WEREE is offline
Find More Posts by WEREE
Registered User
WEREE's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by waldoi View Post
Alan - does the Voltage Alligator Clip need to penetrate the ESC batt. lead insulation or can it just be clipped to the lead without actually touching the bare wire?
What I did was solder onto my ESC bullet connector a small 2mm bullet female lead. Then heatshrink wrap the ESC bullet connector as usual which also provides strain relief for the voltage telemetry lead. Then I converted the voltage sensor with the matching 2mm male bullet connector. It makes a good connection that is still removable and is very streamline.

I did not consider the alligator clip because I think it would just be too clunky and, more importantly, could fall off. I use the voltage telemetry to let me know when to land so having it come off wouldn't be good on my Logo 600.
Old Dec 10, 2011, 12:21 PM
waldoi is offline
Find More Posts by waldoi
Registered User
Guys, thx for your input.
Old Jul 21, 2012, 02:57 PM
petertn is offline
Find More Posts by petertn
Registered User
Hallo, I have one problem ... I have Volcano full carbon from Valenta. I need to place receiver deep inside the plane. It is possible to do update through hts-ss telemetry module? Using power connector.
Tnx
Old Jul 21, 2012, 05:40 PM
A.T. is offline
Find More Posts by A.T.
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by petertn View Post
Hallo, I have one problem ... I have Volcano full carbon from Valenta.
I need to place receiver deep inside the plane.
It is possible to do update through hts-ss telemetry module? Using power connector. Tnx
Hitec HPP-22 2.4GHz Programmer - Manual, FAQ - How to Install & Use (with screenshots).
ex Q&A:
NB: If the data port can be accessed, built in transceivers do not need to be removed from a model,
see information regarding use of extensions:
Optima Transceiver - Update Firmware in situ


ex Hitec USA Support Forum Sticky:
Aurora 9, AFHSS Spectra Modules, Optima Transceivers, Minima Receivers
& Telemetry
- FAQ & Undocumented Features
- Mixes, Setups, Tips. {Individual Links often updated}


Alan T.
Alan's Hobby, Model & RC FAQ Web Links
Old Jul 23, 2012, 05:10 PM
petertn is offline
Find More Posts by petertn
Registered User
Tnx, but it is not my situation ... I have rx deep inside my plane and telemetry station is connected ... it is not possible to connect programmer to rx. It is not possible to disconnect telemetry station ...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold Hitec Aurora 9 w 7ch receiver hp-22 hts-ss Scooter33 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 06, 2011 10:59 PM
Discussion HTS-SS Blue e Sensor Station release date?? *Voodoo* Hitec/Multiplex USA 9 Nov 01, 2011 03:15 PM
Question HTS-SS Sensor station cable length ? MTheMadhatter Hitec/Multiplex USA 3 Jun 22, 2011 06:58 AM
Question HTS-SS Blue e Sensor Station Functions MTheMadhatter Hitec/Multiplex USA 1 Apr 25, 2011 06:21 PM
Discussion Hitec HTS-SS Sensor Station Krazykayak75 Hitec/Multiplex USA 5 Mar 20, 2011 06:13 PM