Thread Tools
Nov 17, 2011, 01:51 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Discussion

Has anyone used meanwell RSP-1500-27 PSU?


I need for the united states. Has anyone used this PSU?

Thx
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 17, 2011, 02:51 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
i'll be running two PL6. Now, I'm trying to determine if i should run two 24v 42A (one PSU per charger) or should i run one 27v 56A to share with both PL6...
Nov 17, 2011, 09:51 AM
Registered User
What cell count packs and at what charge rate do you have planned?

If your total draw is well within the limits of a single power supply then one will be just fine. On the other hand, if you will continually be bumping up against the limits of the supply or altering charge rates to stay within PS limits, I would go with 2 supplies.

Mark
Nov 17, 2011, 09:58 AM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrforsyth
What cell count packs and at what charge rate do you have planned?

If your total draw is well within the limits of a single power supply then one will be just fine. On the other hand, if you will continually be bumping up against the limits of the supply or altering charge rates to stay within PS limits, I would go with 2 supplies.

Mark
I'm always in and out of 1/8 electric. So let's plan for 6s 5000mah at 8c charge (those would be the batteries of my choice of course)
Nov 17, 2011, 11:20 AM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
The official Power Lab 6 thead is here

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1525834

Manual here

http://api.viglink.com/api/click?for...13215493383461


A 5 Ah at 8C charge rate is 40A

40A X 25.2V (6S) = 1008 watts





Snip from PL6 maual

Quote:
Input voltage: 10-32VDC, reverse polarity protected Input current: 1A to 40A, software limited Power conversion: Synchronous DC/DC converter, supports multiple switcher frequencies of 31.25 kHz, 62.5 kHz, 125 kHz; user selectable by preset, 85% to 93% efficiency depending on output current Output battery charge current: Adjustable range 10mA to 40A, limited by 40A input current* Output battery discharge current: Internal discharge 10mA to 8A, 50W max Regenerative discharge 10mA to 40A, 1000W max** Continuous max output power: 408W @ +12VDC input, 1000W @ +30VDC

Charles
Last edited by everydayflyer; Nov 17, 2011 at 12:11 PM.
Nov 17, 2011, 11:32 AM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
Charles,

That thread is for the PL8.

The PL6 is a little different product.
It requires 30V input.
As far as I remember from looking at the specs you can't get 1000W out of the charge at 24V input.
Nov 17, 2011, 12:04 PM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Thanks I corrected link and deleted part of post.

Still not enough ps options any how..
Last edited by everydayflyer; Nov 17, 2011 at 12:10 PM.
Nov 17, 2011, 12:12 PM
Registered User
PL6 thread.

PL6 Power Supply calculator.

The PL6 will do ~820 watts on 24V source voltage. This requires a 24V / 40A / 960 watt PS. As such, a 1500 watt PS will limit output if you desire to run two PL6's at full output at the same time. Knowing this, a single larger supply or two 1000+ watt supplies would be required. Understand that the limiting factor when running two PL6's at 800+ watts will be your source AC line. PS's must have PFC and 220 V is recommended.

Mark
Nov 17, 2011, 02:13 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrforsyth
PL6 thread.

PL6 Power Supply calculator.

The PL6 will do ~820 watts on 24V source voltage. This requires a 24V / 40A / 960 watt PS. As such, a 1500 watt PS will limit output if you desire to run two PL6's at full output at the same time. Knowing this, a single larger supply or two 1000+ watt supplies would be required. Understand that the limiting factor when running two PL6's at 800+ watts will be your source AC line. PS's must have PFC and 220 V is recommended.

Mark
thanks mark... i've decided to do two 24v 42A 1000w PSU approach. I will get most of of my system this way (for the most part).

in regards to your AC line point. If i have one ac line per system (PL6 and 1000W PSU), then i do not think the AC line would be a problem. 800W / 100V AC is around 8A. However, i was thinking of tieing both PSU to one AC line. That maybe a problem. Im here in the states where AC is 110VAC. I have no other choice... BTW, what's PFC?

Edit: I have the meanwell SE-1000W-24v. Do they have PFC?
Nov 17, 2011, 02:30 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
Power Factor Correction.

Put the current in phase with the voltage.
Lowers the effective current draw.

Your standard house circuit usually has a 15AMP breaker.
The kitchen and maybe the garage may have a 20AMP circuit feeding it.
Nov 17, 2011, 02:38 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb
Edit: I have the meanwell SE-1000W-24v. Do they have PFC?
Meanwell SE series does NOT have PFC. SE-1000 specs indicate source requirements of 110V / 17.5A, as I recall. Running two of these at full tilt would definitely pop standard 15A and 20A circuits. Running a single SE-1000 and charging at 800+ watts will absolutely be testing the limits of a standard household 15A circuit.

In addition to power factor, AC-DC conversion efficiency of the power supply must be taken into account. Use 80% conversion efficiency in any calculations.

Mark
Nov 17, 2011, 04:05 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrforsyth
Meanwell SE series does NOT have PFC. SE-1000 specs indicate source requirements of 110V / 17.5A, as I recall. Running two of these at full tilt would definitely pop standard 15A and 20A circuits. Running a single SE-1000 and charging at 800+ watts will absolutely be testing the limits of a standard household 15A circuit.

In addition to power factor, AC-DC conversion efficiency of the power supply must be taken into account. Use 80% conversion efficiency in any calculations.

Mark
what else can i do, besides move out the country to where i can take advantage of 200+VAC? i've already purchased all of this stuff. I'm knee deep. LOL
Nov 17, 2011, 04:13 PM
RC Helicopter Pilot
TheWoodCrafter's Avatar
Figure out which recepticals are on different breakers and plug them in there.

If you are going to do your charging in a particular room figure out what breaker that is.
Then see where the next closest receptical is on a different break.
Run a GOOD extension cord.
Nov 17, 2011, 04:27 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb
what else can i do, besides move out the country to where i can take advantage of 200+VAC? i've already purchased all of this stuff. I'm knee deep. LOL
In addition to the excellent suggestions by TheWoodCrafter above, simply do not operate more than one charger at a time or keep total charge power within the limits of your circuit.

You have two each of the SE-1000's and PL-6's? If so, there's little doubt that they cannot be operated on the same 110V circuit a the same time if charging in excess of 800 watts each. If you only have one of PS and one charger, you can likely get away with it if there's nothing else on the circuit that is pulling any significant current while you're charging.

All US households that I am aware of have 220V available, typically routed to the kitchen for electric ranges and to the 'utility' room for washer/dryers. I have yet to see any residence that lacks 220V service.

Mark
Nov 17, 2011, 05:29 PM
Registered User
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrforsyth
In addition to the excellent suggestions by TheWoodCrafter above, simply do not operate more than one charger at a time or keep total charge power within the limits of your circuit.

You have two each of the SE-1000's and PL-6's? If so, there's little doubt that they cannot be operated on the same 110V circuit a the same time if charging in excess of 800 watts each. If you only have one of PS and one charger, you can likely get away with it if there's nothing else on the circuit that is pulling any significant current while you're charging.

All US households that I am aware of have 220V available, typically routed to the kitchen for electric ranges and to the 'utility' room for washer/dryers. I have yet to see any residence that lacks 220V service.

Mark

im not 100% certain in regards of the 220v in the home. I need to understand more on that... any way i can tell without blowing up myself and the home? My main concerns is at the track. I think i can plug each PL6/PSU in a separate AC outlet. I think i should be ok at the track.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion MeanWell 1000-24 vs. 2 x Feather Merchant PSU kouasupra Batteries and Chargers 53 Feb 18, 2012 09:34 PM
Discussion Has anyone used this foam from the Dollar Tree? bagofbones11 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 6 Nov 29, 2011 06:04 PM
Discussion Has anyone used the Turnigy XK28xx motors? heli3d Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 18 Oct 25, 2011 07:17 PM
Help! Has anyone successfully used RCTimer10A in multirotor timecop Multirotor Drone Talk 16 Oct 20, 2011 07:56 AM
Question has anyone used the new Dynam 6CH USB RC Flight Simulator? computerpc Simulators 4 Apr 08, 2011 10:28 PM