Nov 16, 2011, 07:01 PM
Sarge
Thread OP
Discussion

Easy Glider VS Easy Glider Pro (what's different?)

Hi, (beginner here).
I own an Easy Glider electric with brushed motor. I've had it for a few years and just now getting around to building it. I'm looking for a few parts and all I can find is references to Easy Glider Pro. What's the difference? I'm looking to replace the brushed motor with a brushless motor. Any advice is appreciated.
Cheers,
Mark in Colorado
to remove ads between posts
Nov 16, 2011, 08:33 PM
eflyguy
Flaps. I'm an idiot.. sorry..
..a
Last edited by Andy W; Nov 17, 2011 at 06:56 AM.
Nov 17, 2011, 03:00 AM
I have both, although the Pro is still in the box. The big difference is the original is a geared inrunner setup, while the pro has a substantially redesigned nose for outrunners. I'm pretty sure neither has flaps - Andy W might be thinking Radian Pro

While you can convert the original to brushless outrunner, it requires surgery on the nose.

What I did was find a brushless inrunner comparable in size & weight to the S400, and put it in the original gearbox. While it is more efficient and puts out a bit more power than the S400, there's not much point in going overboard with the original gearbox because it has limited power handling capability.

I use a Keda KB20-40L-17L, about $15 from Hobby King. Fits the original gearbox perfectly, and uses the original 2.3mm bore pinion. Kv is 3400 and from memory with the standard prop it uses about 110W from a Turnigy 2S 2200 pack which slides into the battery recess perfectly. Power sounds low doesn't it! But gliders have very low drag and it climbs out fine, just not like a hot outrunner EGPro.

Last weekend I flew for about 30 minutes in marginal lift with probably 8 climbs. Went out again on the same battery as it was still at over 3.8V/cell for another 20 minutes, again very little lift anywhere.

I'm happy to recommend it rather than cutting up the nose.