Thread Tools
Old Jun 01, 2012, 10:07 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
So whats new in the 1.6 version then? Other than GPS capability?
Don't know yet, I am going there tonight.
Site Sponsor
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 01, 2012, 10:18 PM
Vantasstic is online now
Find More Posts by Vantasstic
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDSURFnGLIDE View Post
So whats new in the 1.6 version then? Other than GPS capability?
Adjustable motor RPM at start up. There's some extra gain settings, or something like that, too I think.
Old Jun 01, 2012, 10:38 PM
Adidas4275 is offline
Find More Posts by Adidas4275
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Adjustable motor RPM at start up. There's some extra gain settings, or something like that, too I think.
like the WKM.
Old Jun 01, 2012, 10:40 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Exactly!
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 02, 2012, 12:41 AM
winggee is offline
Find More Posts by winggee
Registered User
So I just got my naza today and got it all wired up. I haven't flown it yet, since I'm running into a potential issue. Not all motors are arming, some will turn some wont. it also isn't consistent. The ones that don't turn, will turn once I get to about 50% throttle.

EDIT: I should mention that all the ESC's do arm, its just when I arm it with the TX, some motors will spin up and some wont. increasing the throttle significantly will eventually spin up the other motors.

I have programmed the end points on each ESC numerous times now.

Here's my setup:
Carbon Core H6 950mm frame.
Naza on v2.01
HK Blue Series 30a flashed with SimonK firmware.
Sunnysky 2814 700kv
DX7

All ESC's have the positive power wire removed from the plug. I have hooked up all the motors to a servo tester and they all turn on at the same time with the tester. I have calibrated the TX in the assistant.

I'm not sure what else to check, and I'm scared to maiden it with the way it is.

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated. Hopefully I can get it in the air tomorrow, assuming I get this resolved.

Thanks!
Last edited by winggee; Jun 02, 2012 at 12:46 AM. Reason: arming
Old Jun 02, 2012, 12:49 AM
kd4wen is offline
Find More Posts by kd4wen
Just a yard bird
kd4wen's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by winggee View Post
So I just got my naza today and got it all wired up. I haven't flown it yet, since I'm running into a potential issue. Not all motors are arming, some will turn some wont. it also isn't consistent. The ones that don't turn, will turn once I get to about 50% throttle.

EDIT: I should mention that all the ESC's do arm, its just when I arm it with the TX, some motors will spin up and some wont. increasing the throttle significantly will eventually spin up the other motors.

I have programmed the end points on each ESC numerous times now.

Here's my setup:
Carbon Core H6 950mm frame.
Naza on v2.01
HK Blue Series 30a flashed with SimonK firmware.
Sunnysky 2814 700kv
DX7

All ESC's have the positive power wire removed from the plug. I have hooked up all the motors to a servo tester and they all turn on at the same time with the tester. I have calibrated the TX in the assistant.

I'm not sure what else to check, and I'm scared to maiden it with the way it is.

Any help or suggestions is greatly appreciated. Hopefully I can get it in the air tomorrow, assuming I get this resolved.

Thanks!
Did you calibrate each esc and motor to your rx'ers throttle channel.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 12:54 AM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
With SimonK firmware you don't have to calibrate the esc;s. How do you know that the mortars are not arming?
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:07 AM
winggee is offline
Find More Posts by winggee
Registered User
Yeah, I calibrated each ESC with my RX throttle channel. When each each is connected directly to the throttle channel, they all spin up when I move the stick a tad.

Tahoe Ed,
When I arm them with the TX by moving the two sticks, only a few motors will turn on right away. I have to move the throttle to about 50% before the others will start turning.

So far the past 10 or so power ups, motor 2,4,6 don't turn when arming with the TX. If I move the control sticks, those motors will start turning, but significantly slower than the rest. Once I move the throttle stick up to 50% then they will start turning.

Thanks guys for helping me figure this out.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:11 AM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
My initial thought is that you have an esc problem or that your Tx has some minimum throttle settings that the Naza is not recognizing. I would recalibrate the esc, ignore the fact that they should not need it. I would also try different end points on the throttle.
Site Sponsor
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:33 AM
winggee is offline
Find More Posts by winggee
Registered User
Yeah, I'm not sure whats going on. I just recalibrated all the esc's again. Seems like it's motor 2,4,6. On thing I noticed, is in Manual Mode, motors 2,4,6 will spin up at a much lower throttle position. it still wont turn on when arming, but moving the stick up a bit will turn them on. They're still slower than the rest of the motors though. Odd how the behavior a little different in manual mode.

I'm not sure what to check on the dx7. If I direct connect each of the 6 motors one by one to the RX, they all spin up at the same throttle position.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:34 AM
Psionic001 is offline
Find More Posts by Psionic001
Psionic001's Avatar
Easy!!!
trim your rudder to center!

Otherwise just takeoff, you'll be fine. It will rudder Right a bit, so just trim it back, then land and let it idle again and they should all spin the same.


Cheers


matt



Quote:
Originally Posted by winggee View Post
Yeah, I calibrated each ESC with my RX throttle channel. When each each is connected directly to the throttle channel, they all spin up when I move the stick a tad.

Tahoe Ed,
When I arm them with the TX by moving the two sticks, only a few motors will turn on right away. I have to move the throttle to about 50% before the others will start turning.

So far the past 10 or so power ups, motor 2,4,6 don't turn when arming with the TX. If I move the control sticks, those motors will start turning, but significantly slower than the rest. Once I move the throttle stick up to 50% then they will start turning.

Thanks guys for helping me figure this out.
RCG Plus Member
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:39 AM
Sid3ways is offline
Find More Posts by Sid3ways
DJI Supporter
Sid3ways's Avatar
I had the same problem with a Naza machine I built for a customer on the BlueSeries ESCs. Not sure what the actual root cause was but I reflashed the firmware on the Naza and it solved the problem.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:52 AM
winggee is offline
Find More Posts by winggee
Registered User
Heh. So get this... I reflashed the firmware as suggested and now motors 1,3,5 aren't spinning up when armed, but 2,4,6 is working now. Maybe I should try downgrading to see what happens. I just hope it isn't firmware specific, since I have the GPS pre-ordered.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 01:55 AM
Dollarz81 is offline
Find More Posts by Dollarz81
Registered User
Dollarz81's Avatar
I'm setting up my Naza tonight using the Futaba 8fgh super tx. I've noticed none of the channels are controlling the Atti-failsafe-manual. How do I set a channel to control these? I'm using sbus from rx to naza.
Old Jun 02, 2012, 02:18 AM
winggee is offline
Find More Posts by winggee
Registered User
So I flashed back to 1.04, all motors are turning on and appear to be at the same speed. But I can't use it either, since v1.04 doesn't have my frame type ( "Hexa-rotor I" in assistant 1.6). 1.04 only has the "Hexa-rotor X6".

I guess I'll try to flash back to v2.01 and see what happens.

EDIT: I flashed back to 2.01 and no luck, I thought it might have been a mixer issue, but their Hexa V did the same thing. It's funny that flashing the firmware will make the problem swap motor positions. I'm going to flash back to 1.04 and fly it tomorrow. everything appeared to work fine in 1.04.

Sucks that the new firmware is causing me issues. The gps will be useless until I change out all the esc's or someone has any other potential solution
Last edited by winggee; Jun 02, 2012 at 02:39 AM. Reason: update


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20286 Nov 28, 2016 05:40 PM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 09:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 11:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 07:48 AM