Thread Tools
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:59 AM
thekubiaks is offline
Find More Posts by thekubiaks
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashsalot View Post
that was the before, now this is after:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5dIHy5k3cAA
Graupners, Gopro in R3, more Expo.
Thanks, guys!!
Much better, looks like you are getting more comfortable flying FPV What gimbal?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:12 PM
crashsalot is offline
Find More Posts by crashsalot
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by thekubiaks View Post
Much better, looks like you are getting more comfortable flying FPV What gimbal?
No gimbal, Gopro zip tied to the body. Btw., I was flying my skywalker a couple of times right before and @3:43, I thought let's glide a bit....realized fast I was in a quad.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:31 PM
mark_q is offline
Find More Posts by mark_q
KG7TTQ - Las Vegas
mark_q's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crashsalot View Post
that was the before, now this is after:
...
Graupners, Gopro in R3, more Expo.
Thanks, guys!!
Really nice and solid! (what's R3?) Sounds smooth too Now you just need a little sun...
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 17, 2013, 01:37 PM
v00d0o is offline
Find More Posts by v00d0o
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
Just took a major crash into a tree...

My whole frame broke.. and I think my battery isn't looking too hot. My gopro got sliced by a blade (just the frame). Propellers broke again.

Sigh... this is getting frustrating. I will be back.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:51 PM
alwaysconfused is offline
Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Registered User
man.. just fried my $299 gopro using a fpv wire harness.. wont be doing THAT again! Heading off to get another gopro but the cheaper version..lol I am waiting for the new batteries to come in to test the issue with nthe up and down. I did everything but use higher C batteries in the 5000mah range. Still wants to be finicky with the 40-90C batteries but flies fine with the 45C and above. So weird since it was flying just perfectly with the 40C 5000mah batts just the day before with no changes made to anything.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:12 PM
CrashAffinity is offline
Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
this is what i use to power my F550, never any issues, i have a box full of these
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:37 PM
alwaysconfused is offline
Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by polix View Post
this is what i use to power my F550, never any issues, i have a box full of these
seriously? A 20C? If thats the case then why is mine freaking out on 40c?
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:50 PM
CrashAffinity is offline
Find More Posts by CrashAffinity
Crashaffinity on youtube
CrashAffinity's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
seriously? A 20C? If thats the case then why is mine freaking out on 40c?
not sure... if you do the math, my crappy 5000 20C might draw 100 amps, but i already measured my F550 w/6 motors and it doesn't draw more than 45A at full thrust.

You may have other issues
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:54 PM
alwaysconfused is offline
Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by polix View Post
not sure... if you do the math, my crappy 5000 20C might draw 100 amps, but i already measured my F550 w/6 motors and it doesn't draw more than 45A at full thrust.

You may have other issues
the issues would be on the multi rotor then because I have a few batts all the same size/amp/volt/etc...
all with the same reactions. The smaller but higher C rated batts work perfectly.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 04:54 PM
v00d0o is offline
Find More Posts by v00d0o
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_q View Post
Really nice and solid! (what's R3?) Sounds smooth too Now you just need a little sun...
R3 is a go pro mode.. I believe it is 720p 60fps.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 05:29 PM
goldsworthy is offline
Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by v00d0o View Post
Just took a major crash into a tree...

My whole frame broke.. and I think my battery isn't looking too hot. My gopro got sliced by a blade (just the frame). Propellers broke again.

Sigh... this is getting frustrating. I will be back.
Thats bad!!!! Well, the frame arms are only $3.00 each so your not out too much. The props are $8.00 a full set you should be flying in a day!. I allways had a big amount of all the extras I have many new motors still in the packs, I have 5 compleate frame kits worth of parts, along with factory ESCs.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 05:40 PM
v00d0o is offline
Find More Posts by v00d0o
Registered User
v00d0o's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by goldsworthy View Post
Thats bad!!!! Well, the frame arms are only $3.00 each so your not out too much. The props are $8.00 a full set you should be flying in a day!. I allways had a big amount of all the extras I have many new motors still in the packs, I have 5 compleate frame kits worth of parts, along with factory ESCs.
it sucks... but I'll be rebuilding.

I'm also thinking about getting a flight simulator.
Gotta practice more without breaking the bank.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:00 PM
kallend is offline
Find More Posts by kallend
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallend View Post
Does anyone have any gimbal servo suggestions for servos that play nicely with the NAZA?

I'm using Hitec HS65 on my gimbal, and I find them rather jerky (and you can hear the clicks as they move on the GoPro audio). Not sure if this is the servos or just that the NAZA isn't a great gimbal controller.

Would digital servos be better? Or is this just a feature of the NAZA?
Update: with judicious use of earplug foam and sorbothane I have eliminated all jello from my GoPro but still see the jerky servo movement in the video, mostly in pitch which drives the camera directly. The roll servo drive is indirect and seems better damped. Even using the TX "AUX" knob to adjust pitch with the quad sitting on the ground with motors not running the servo moves in tiny but discrete 'click's which are audible on the audio and can be seen in the picture.

Do others have this problem?
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:02 PM
kallend is offline
Find More Posts by kallend
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
seriously? A 20C? If thats the case then why is mine freaking out on 40c?
It hates you.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Old Feb 17, 2013, 07:26 PM
a9amg is online now
Find More Posts by a9amg
Registered User
a9amg's Avatar

Frsky D8R-II PLUS


I've just replaced my Specktrum Receiver in my Quad for a Frsky D8R-II PLUS,

all seems ok in DJI Assistant 1.8, but not in PPM mode only traditional,
and then when all calibrated, the Motors won't arm....

Do I need to update firmware of the Receiver?
Will it work in PPM mode?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20286 Nov 28, 2016 05:40 PM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 09:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 11:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 07:48 AM