New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:37 AM
MCrites is offline
Find More Posts by MCrites
I never finish anyth
^^Proof I am too hot for Ed
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:38 AM
kallend is online now
Find More Posts by kallend
Flying R/C since 1964
kallend's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olivier_C View Post
Plus if you set like aileron=0, rudder=0, pitch=0, throttle=40% so it goes back to the ground, it may be ugly when it touch the ground and the props keep turning. Whereas the Naza fail mode will (should) detect the ground contact and will stop the motors.
Tested mine before I had the GPS and it did indeed come down slowly, touch down softly, and stop the motors.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Using a DX9 to "strobe" LED...
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:38 AM
Olivier_C is online now
Find More Posts by Olivier_C
Since 1902. Maybe.
Olivier_C's Avatar
You shall not hurt lions.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:51 AM
mark_q is online now
Find More Posts by mark_q
KG7TTQ - Las Vegas
mark_q's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallend View Post
Tested mine before I had the GPS and it did indeed come down slowly, touch down softly, and stop the motors.
I agree and would add that on some days failsafe auto-land does a better job than me
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 25, 2013, 10:53 AM
Olivier_C is online now
Find More Posts by Olivier_C
Since 1902. Maybe.
Olivier_C's Avatar
The 1st time I tested the RTH, the auto-landing was so soft that the Naza didn't detect it, and it gently bumped 10cm, like 3 or 4 times until the bump was hard enough so it realized it was on the ground and stopped the engines :]
Or maybe it computed that it had already lost enough altitude, from the GPS or whatever...
Last edited by Olivier_C; Jan 25, 2013 at 11:48 AM.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 12:13 PM
Rickn816 is offline
Find More Posts by Rickn816
RCHN #150
Rickn816's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by helifreak592 View Post
i am Not in , St peters burg FLORIDA right now i am in my country Guyana South America ,
That is definately too far to walk to from here

Rick
Old Jan 25, 2013, 01:21 PM
alwaysconfused is offline
Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Volcano!!! I am not flying with you.
last time I flew into a volcano I found the keys to my truck I lost in '90
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:03 PM
w4yn is offline
Find More Posts by w4yn
Registered User

First Flight with out issue


Well I finally figured out I had gains all set to 100% and changed to factory recommendations for 550. Wow what a difference it almost flew hands off. I still have some drifting to work on I guess tweaking gains maybe, back to manual and this forum.
You gents (gals maybe) are the best, at least I out of starting blocks for learning curve.
It was so cold here I was flying from dinning room and negotiating trees (lots) in back yard and did not take any bark off!
Tim
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:13 PM
JJtr1954 is offline
Find More Posts by JJtr1954
NoLgs2StngArmsBigHeart!
JJtr1954's Avatar

Guyana South America ???


Quote:
Originally Posted by helifreak592 View Post
i am Not in , St peters burg FLORIDA right now i am in my country Guyana South America ,
I am sure you know better than I but I always thought Guyana was in Africa somewhere?....Not doubting You at all....JJ.....
Old Jan 25, 2013, 02:21 PM
1ooo0aks is offline
Find More Posts by 1ooo0aks
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJtr1954 View Post
I am sure you know better than I but I always thought Guyana was in Africa somewhere?....Not doubting You at all....JJ.....
Ghana.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 03:57 PM
alwaysconfused is offline
Find More Posts by alwaysconfused
Registered User
Ok so I flashed my 9x to er9x. It works but haven't flown it. Just hate that I am having issues with setting the 3 pos to go to manual mode. I have gps-atti-failsafe and I cant get it away from the failsafe. AARRGGHH! I would hate to think that I would be flying through trees or a building or under a flock of nearly extinct birds and I accidentally hit the switch al the way down and take out the last 3 birds of that species on the planet...whoa is me! lol
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:06 PM
T J Gilbert is online now
Find More Posts by T J Gilbert
Empire Support
T J Gilbert's Avatar

Switch Centering


Quote:
Originally Posted by alwaysconfused View Post
Ok so I flashed my 9x to er9x. It works but haven't flown it. Just hate that I am having issues with setting the 3 pos to go to manual mode. I have gps-atti-failsafe and I cant get it away from the failsafe. AARRGGHH! I would hate to think that I would be flying through trees or a building or under a flock of nearly extinct birds and I accidentally hit the switch al the way down and take out the last 3 birds of that species on the planet...whoa is me! lol
Here's what you do with a Spektrum/Jr or a Futaba transmitter:
I can't speak for one like yours...

On the 3pos switch Atti is center with GPS and Manual being at the ends.
Use subtrim for your switch channel to get Atti in the center.
It IS permissible to use subtrims on switches with Naza!
Then use travel adjustment to set the endpoints to GPS and Manual.
Do this while connected to Assistant and you can visibly see the correctness of your adjustments.
After losing Failsafe on the 3pos switch, you'll need to investigate a mix on another switch to force the U channel into Failsafe.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 04:47 PM
u2builder is offline
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kallend View Post
You don't need a GPS to get a soft NAZA controlled landing in the event of signal failure. All you miss without the GPS is the "return to home" feature.

Programming your individual aileron, rudder and throttle channels and circumventing the NAZA doesn't seem very sensible to me.
When my FM receiver (big mistake) lost signal at 100 feet out and 50 feet high and no failsafe available on the rX and none set on Naza the machine basically flew away at a pretty decent clip, maintaining altitude, till it ran into some trees about 400 feet away. If the trees hadn't been there it probably would have flown till the batteries wore out.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 05:38 PM
Olivier_C is online now
Find More Posts by Olivier_C
Since 1902. Maybe.
Olivier_C's Avatar
In order, from the safest to the less, I'd say :

Naza + GPS + Good TX/RX + RTH failsafe
Naza + GPS + RTH failsafe
Naza + Receiver with failsafe + Auto-landing
Naza + Receiver with no failsafe + A good bike or running shoes, and good cardio
Last edited by Olivier_C; Jan 25, 2013 at 06:01 PM.
Old Jan 25, 2013, 06:04 PM
w4yn is offline
Find More Posts by w4yn
Registered User

RX location on DJI 550


You all have convinced me to upgrade to AR8000 so I have fail safe.
On a 550 where is best place to mount RX and remote.
I am thinking RX next to Naza and remote on bottom side?
Tim


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** DJI INNOVATIONS Multirotor Electronics 20286 Nov 28, 2016 05:40 PM
New Product MultiWiiCopter "MiniWii" FC - Cheap, small 6DOF FC JussiH Multirotor Talk 707 Jan 01, 2013 09:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM
New Product United Hobbies FC 28-05 & FC 28-22 brushless outrunners $5.95 ea. JawaSnack Hot Online Deals 9 Jul 17, 2007 11:31 AM
Futaba FC-18 teacher to FC-16 pupil problem . jmquetin Radios 5 Nov 02, 2004 07:48 AM