New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 08, 2011, 07:42 PM
rmmoorejr is offline
Find More Posts by rmmoorejr
So that's how you throw a DLG!
Discussion

problem with 8FG SOLVED


My transmitter will not format an sd card. It does not even know that one has been installed. Anyone else have a problem like this?
Last edited by rmmoorejr; Nov 10, 2011 at 06:36 PM. Reason: PROBLEM SOLVED
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2011, 08:04 PM
DougV is offline
Find More Posts by DougV
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
What size card are you using.

Doug.
Old Nov 08, 2011, 08:51 PM
rmmoorejr is offline
Find More Posts by rmmoorejr
So that's how you throw a DLG!
I have tried cards from 2,4, & 16 GB
Old Nov 09, 2011, 12:38 AM
TimBle is offline
Find More Posts by TimBle
Registered User
Ok you need a 2Gb cardmax, Usually a Scandisk works.
There are some brands of card that do not work in the card reader.
Old Nov 09, 2011, 09:23 PM
rmmoorejr is offline
Find More Posts by rmmoorejr
So that's how you throw a DLG!
TimBle
You may have hit it. I miss read the manual and I thought it said a card between 32 and 2 GB. What it says is between 32MB and 2GB.
Thanks so much
Old Nov 09, 2011, 09:30 PM
Wrend is offline
Find More Posts by Wrend
どうもありがとうミスターロボット
Wrend's Avatar
Make sure that it's a regular SD card too; not an SDHC. (Actually, SDHC cards might only start at 4GB anyway.)

But yeah, I use a regular 2GB SanDisk SD card in mine.
Old Nov 10, 2011, 03:01 AM
TimBle is offline
Find More Posts by TimBle
Registered User
Coolio, glad I could help. Once you have it sorted could you change the title of the thread to "8FG Problem Solved".

Just so we close it and don't attract the other brand fanboys who feel the need to jump in offer assurances that their brand can do this and that and before you know it we have another 100 page brand debate. Plenty of those around.


NB, also be careful of the orientation of the card when you insert it into the card holder. The shiny contacts on the card have to face up if the face of the radio is looking back at you. SLide it in till it clicks in place. The formet instructions are in the manual. I think its a simple power up procedure and the Tx detects the unformatted card and asks if you want to format it. Follow the instructions and you're good to go.
Old Nov 10, 2011, 04:53 AM
HallaBalla is offline
Find More Posts by HallaBalla
Foam shredder
HallaBalla's Avatar
Start of 100 page brand debate (fanboys only, please):


Ha! In your face, Futaba! Spektrum DX8 rules!

From https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1383952

Andy Kunz: "The SD interface has been tested with a bunch of different cards from different vendors ranging from 16M to 32G. Basically, ANY MMC or SD or SDHC or Micro SD or Mini SD should work."


(Sorry, couldn't resist ...)
Old Nov 10, 2011, 04:57 AM
Wrend is offline
Find More Posts by Wrend
どうもありがとうミスターロボット
Wrend's Avatar
What about SDXC?
Old Nov 10, 2011, 05:04 AM
DougV is offline
Find More Posts by DougV
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HallaBalla View Post
Start of 100 page brand debate (fanboys only, please):


Ha! In your face, Futaba! Spektrum DX8 rules!

From https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1383952

Andy Kunz: "The SD interface has been tested with a bunch of different cards from different vendors ranging from 16M to 32G. Basically, ANY MMC or SD or SDHC or Micro SD or Mini SD should work."


(Sorry, couldn't resist ...)
LOL, who cares?? At least the futaba radio works all the time!

JK,

Doug
Old Nov 10, 2011, 06:09 AM
TimBle is offline
Find More Posts by TimBle
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by HallaBalla View Post
Start of 100 page brand debate (fanboys only, please):


Ha! In your face, Futaba! Spektrum DX8 rules!

From https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1383952

Andy Kunz: "The SD interface has been tested with a bunch of different cards from different vendors ranging from 16M to 32G. Basically, ANY MMC or SD or SDHC or Micro SD or Mini SD should work."


(Sorry, couldn't resist ...)
"should" is a lovely get out of jail free ard isn't it...
Old Nov 10, 2011, 06:19 AM
rmmoorejr is offline
Find More Posts by rmmoorejr
So that's how you throw a DLG!
I installed a 1gb card and it did format but when I tried to send the update to the card I get a message saying that there is not enough space on the card. I checked the card and there is nothing on it. I stopped at Wal Mart this morning and they didd not have any small size cards except for a 2GB PYN brand and I have tried this brand and it wont format.
Old Nov 10, 2011, 06:55 AM
DougV is offline
Find More Posts by DougV
Registered User
DougV's Avatar
That's probably Windows, try this: Format that 1gb card first in windows then go back to you radio and format the card there, now try it and see if it works.


Doug.
Old Nov 10, 2011, 07:18 AM
TimBle is offline
Find More Posts by TimBle
Registered User
is the card unlocked? check the write protect tab on the side
Old Nov 10, 2011, 07:48 AM
rmmoorejr is offline
Find More Posts by rmmoorejr
So that's how you throw a DLG!
card is unlocked. I will try the format, reformat idea that Doug posted.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Futaba 8FG problem earp Radios 15 Jul 21, 2011 06:17 PM
Discussion Senior Citizen with Futaba 8fg programing problem Tez Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 2 Mar 19, 2011 11:31 PM
Discussion Futaba 8FG charger problem Hewey19 Radios 1 Mar 03, 2011 09:09 PM
Found Futaba 8FG and Futaba Rx(s) burke757 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Feb 01, 2011 11:15 AM
Help! Futaba 8FG linking problem? HogCrewChief Radios 4 Mar 14, 2010 01:27 PM