Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Jun 05, 2012, 11:10 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepelell View Post
i have found the PC calibration to be quite useless, so i don't bother with it. always calibrate with radio before every flight.
For what concerns your flips on take off, you do seem to have quite high levels of Again and pot gain. Try going to 7 on again and pot at 9 o'clock position and see what happens. You should still have a quite stable craft , but should be less sensitive to vibration. Maybe there is a certain rpm or ground resonance or whatever that on takeoff will disturb accels too much and make it want to flip. I have had a flip on takeoff only the very first time i tried it on my X8.
Thank you thepelell, I will try as you suggest it might well be as you say a certain rpm or ground resonance, it has happened at the end of a pack as well as at the beginning but its strange Most 98% of the time it is perfect & fly's better & more stable than any other FC I have.
My pot gain is already very low as you can see in photo.
Name: POT SETTING.jpg
Views: 76
Size: 34.6 KB
Description:
Probably a stupid question but you say 9 o'clock so where would 12 o'clock be? do you mean 50% or middle?

I calibrate once before I go out for a flight & that is all that's needed, I went through 5 packs last night when I was out & then 2 more when I got home with no issues. The whole reason I bought the AQ50D & not the AQ50 Pro was so that I wouldn't have to re-calibrate after changing every battery.
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 05, 2012 at 11:19 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 05, 2012, 11:24 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
Thank you thepelell, I will try as you suggest it might well be as you say a certain rpm or ground resonance, it has happened at the end of a pack as well as at the beginning but its strange Most 98% of the time it is perfect & fly's better & more stable than any other FC I have.
My pot gain is already very low as you can see in photo.
Attachment 4916010
Probably a stupid question but you say 9 o'clock so where would 12 o'clock be? do you mean 50% or middle?

I calibrate once before I go out for a flight & that is all that's needed, I went through 5 packs last night when I was out & then 2 more when I got home with no issues. The whole reason I bought the AQ50D & not the AQ50 Pro was so that I wouldn't have to re-calibrate after changing every battery.
as always a pic is worth a thousand words... yes your gain is very low already, that for me is 12 o'clock. I wrongly thought you had it the opposite, at 6 o'clock. Unless you have some really bad motors or unbalanced props you should be able to up the gain.
Jun 05, 2012, 11:37 AM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepelell View Post
as always a pic is worth a thousand words... yes your gain is very low already, that for me is 12 o'clock. I wrongly thought you had it the opposite, at 6 o'clock. Unless you have some really bad motors or unbalanced props you should be able to up the gain.
Ah, thank you I wasn't sure how to explain the Pot positions but now that makes sense.
I will try lowering the AGain in the GUI & raising the Pot gain.

I use Keda 20-26 & 20-28 (not together, 20-26 on one Quad & 20-28 on another) not the best motors but I like them especially the price
I balance my propellers carefully & check the motors for balance as well as checking for vibration in general.
I have noticed that the AQ50D is very sensitive to Vibration, more so than other FC's I've owned.
Jun 05, 2012, 12:18 PM
Registered User
So is there a place in which i can order the add-on ???
Jun 05, 2012, 12:39 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post

I use Keda 20-26 & 20-28
Hi nebstress and thepelell, helpful discussion!!!

How do you balance your kedas btw? ... I have the 20-28 too.

Your props are from Flyduino too (they look like actually)? For me they don't need any tweaking but
for sure I do it not the right way....

Thx
Jun 05, 2012, 12:51 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pietronet View Post
Hi nebstress and thepelell, helpful discussion!!!

How do you balance your kedas btw? ... I have the 20-28 too.

Your props are from Flyduino too (they look like actually)? For me they don't need any tweaking but
for sure I do it not the right way....

Thx
The same as you balance any motor, if you have Keda 20-28 you should know that they are very well balanced.

My Props are from Quadframes.co.uk
Any & all propellers for Multicopters need balancing!
Jun 05, 2012, 12:56 PM
Registered User
They seem balanced but I am not an expert in balancing... so that's why I am asking.

I'll try to blance my props then

Thx
Jun 05, 2012, 01:02 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pietronet View Post
They seem balanced but I am not an expert in balancing... so that's why I am asking.

I'll try to blance my props then

Thx
Balancing propellers is very important especially on multicopters.
I think maybe I have only ever had one prop that didn't need balancing to some extent.

If you run a motor with the prop off you can sometimes see & definitely feel if its unbalance, there will be extra vibration.
I have been lucky mostly with my motors being balanced, there are several ways to balance a motor usually by adding weight to a particular spot, using a 'zip tie' is an easy way to do it.
Jun 05, 2012, 03:33 PM
Registered User
I've added numbers the the pot in these images as a reference to help clarify calibration discussions, 0 being the lowest full clockwise setting and 10 being the highest full counterclockwise setting...
Jun 05, 2012, 03:40 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blast View Post
I've added numbers the the pot in these images as a reference to help clarify calibration discussions, 0 being the lowest full clockwise setting and 10 being the highest full counterclockwise setting...
Thats a great idea
Jun 05, 2012, 03:44 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by nebstress View Post
Thats a great idea
I can see the numbers fine but looks like the resolution is to low to be of any use online...oh well
Jun 05, 2012, 03:54 PM
Registered User
how about this......
Jun 05, 2012, 03:56 PM
Registered User
Better!

Thx
Jun 05, 2012, 04:45 PM
Registered User
caju's Avatar
Hi just got my new aqd50d embebed and was trying to update but nothing happens.
This is how I tried:
open firmware program
connect board
open firmware tmf digital 5.5
pressed the reset button on board
conected 5v
released button
and nothing
Could someone help me out
Also should I upgrade to tmp pro1.8 6g
??????????????/
Thanks for any input
Jun 05, 2012, 05:36 PM
Advanced Monkey
nebstress's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by caju View Post
Hi just got my new aqd50d embebed and was trying to update but nothing happens.
This is how I tried:
open firmware program
connect board
open firmware tmf digital 5.5
pressed the reset button on board
conected 5v
released button
and nothing
Could someone help me out
Also should I upgrade to tmp pro1.8 6g
??????????????/
Thanks for any input
I have just tried to update mine to 5.5 & I got the same, nothing happened!
this is what I got:Name: TMF GUI 5.5 Embeddeed.jpg
Views: 70
Size: 39.9 KB
Description:

I can Flash it to 5.1 with no trouble but it wont flash 5.5
Last edited by nebstress; Jun 05, 2012 at 05:56 PM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll What Motors do you use on your tri/quad/hexa/octal etc? bob4432 Multirotor Drone Talk 4 Aug 29, 2010 07:10 PM
Sold MicroKopter ARF Quad/Hexa G-unit Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 3 Aug 23, 2010 09:38 AM
Discussion Folding frame for AP - tri, quad, Hexa, Okto danielpetrescu Multirotor Drone Talk 9 May 10, 2010 12:25 AM
Question Tri/hexa-copter or Quad/Octa-copter and Spartan AP2000i or Helicommand Arthur P. VTOLs 2 May 20, 2007 03:02 PM