Thread Tools
Old Nov 28, 2011, 11:27 AM
ggcrandall1 is offline
Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by psionic619 View Post
hi guys, will the balance board of my hitech charger plug right in to the pl 6? or do i have to get a new one thats made for it? thanks.
The balance connector for the PL6 is not compatible with any of the other manufacturers connectors. You will need one of these and modify your existing balance board.
http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...-10-9-Position
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 28, 2011, 12:06 PM
psionic619 is offline
Find More Posts by psionic619
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ggcrandall1 View Post
The balance connector for the PL6 is not compatible with any of the other manufacturers connectors. You will need one of these and modify your existing balance board.
http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...-10-9-Position
thanks but in what order do i solder that to my board? thanks in advance
Old Nov 28, 2011, 12:38 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Revolectrix Ambassador
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
How are u guys mounting your PL chargers in your cases? I need a solution that isn't velcro related.

Thx
I'm using 4 pads of 3m Dual lock.



More pics and details here
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...5&postcount=23
Old Nov 28, 2011, 12:40 PM
ggcrandall1 is offline
Find More Posts by ggcrandall1
Registered User
ggcrandall1's Avatar
"thanks but in what order do i solder that to my board? thanks in advance"

Look Here.

http://www.fmadirect.com/support_docs/item_1213.pdf

Glen
Old Nov 28, 2011, 12:43 PM
Turner2 is offline
Find More Posts by Turner2
Registered User
And Here:

http://www.revolectrix.com/support_docs/item_1315.pdf
Old Nov 28, 2011, 12:59 PM
psionic619 is offline
Find More Posts by psionic619
Registered User

thanks


thanks guys. i just order 2 pl 6 with those cables u linked and a pc connector
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:06 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Revolectrix Ambassador
Quote:
Originally Posted by psionic619 View Post
hi guys, will the balance board of my hitech charger plug right in to the pl 6?
Which board do you have? Do you have a link?
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:19 PM
psionic619 is offline
Find More Posts by psionic619
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
Which board do you have? Do you have a link?
i dont have a link but its the jst-xh one
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:44 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Revolectrix Ambassador
If its 2s through 6s you will need to enable XH mode on the PL6s and move the red wire from pin 9 to pin 7 on the FMA pigtail. The wires currently in pin 7 and 8 will need to be removed. Or you could use one of these instead

http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...HR-Std-Adapter

If your Hitec adapter is not 2s through 6s, there may be different instructions. More details about the adapter would help me be more specific.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 01:51 PM
psionic619 is offline
Find More Posts by psionic619
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
If its 2s through 6s you will need to enable XH mode on the PL6s and move the red wire from pin 9 to pin 7 on the FMA pigtail. The wires currently in pin 7 and 8 will need to be removed. Or you could use one of these instead

http://www.usastore.revolectrix.com/...HR-Std-Adapter

If your Hitec adapter is not 2s through 6s, there may be different instructions. More details about the adapter would help me be more specific.
yeah its the 2-6s adapter. thax for the info
Old Nov 28, 2011, 03:29 PM
teeforb is offline
Find More Posts by teeforb
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
I'm using 4 pads of 3m Dual lock.



More pics and details here
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...5&postcount=23
I've mounted my PSU. I'm looking to mount the PL6. I only see your PSU mounted.


Thx
Old Nov 28, 2011, 04:08 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Revolectrix Ambassador
Quote:
Originally Posted by teeforb View Post
I've mounted my PSU. I'm looking to mount the PL6. I only see your PSU mounted. Thx
Oh, sorry. I missread your post. With that case I don't have the PL8 mounted. It sits in the spot in front of the power supply. At the field I pull it out and rest it on the power supply.

I'm in the process of working on a new case that will have the power supplies under a plate or board. The PL8s will sit on top mounted to the board. I was also planning on using 3M Dual lock in that scenario since it holds very well. 3 to 4 small pads should do the trick. If you use the dual lock the adhesive takes some time to obtain maxium grip. Give it 12 hours to a day before you try to pull them apart. I've also seen the PL8 held down with large zip ties. A look I'm not particularly fond of.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 04:35 PM
teeforb is offline
Find More Posts by teeforb
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
Oh, sorry. I missread your post. With that case I don't have the PL8 mounted. It sits in the spot in front of the power supply. At the field I pull it out and rest it on the power supply.

I'm in the process of working on a new case that will have the power supplies under a plate or board. The PL8s will sit on top mounted to the board. I was also planning on using 3M Dual lock in that scenario since it holds very well. 3 to 4 small pads should do the trick. If you use the dual lock the adhesive takes some time to obtain maxium grip. Give it 12 hours to a day before you try to pull them apart. I've also seen the PL8 held down with large zip ties. A look I'm not particularly fond of.
the major issue i see with mounting the Pl6 with velcro is the space beneath the chargers. it isn't flat and therefore, don't have the surface area to attach to the bottom of the case.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 05:00 PM
Gregor99 is offline
Find More Posts by Gregor99
Revolectrix Ambassador
3m Dual lock is not velcro and it does not need to a huge piece like we put on our batteries. I haven't seen the bottom of the PL6. But on the PL8 there are two "feet" that each could take small piece of dual lock and they could put a third on the bottom front.
Old Nov 28, 2011, 05:11 PM
Tim Marks is offline
Find More Posts by Tim Marks
President, FMA, Inc.
Tim Marks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gregor99 View Post
3m Dual lock is not velcro and it does not need to a huge piece like we put on our batteries. I haven't seen the bottom of the PL6. But on the PL8 there are two "feet" that each could take small piece of dual lock and they could put a third on the bottom front.
Gregor:

If you're able to mount the PL8 with this stuff, then the PL6 will be even easier. Instead of two small feet on the sides, the PL6 has one large "foot" in the back that spans 80% of the bottom of the case. The front is similar to PL8 design. I think this is the same stuff they use to mount speaker grills into speaker cabinets. Good stuff!

Tim Marks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Sneak Peek at the NEW Cellpro PowerLab 8 (v2) Tim Marks FMA Direct 6544 Yesterday 01:03 PM
New Product Introducing the ALL NEW Cellpro 10XP Charger Howard Matos FMA Direct 448 Oct 26, 2016 04:58 PM
New Product Introducing the Scirocco--All Molded, All Carbon Pitcheron Ward Hagaman Slope 180 Oct 04, 2014 10:43 AM
Sold Revolectrix/FMA direct Cellpro PowerLab 8 unused new thwang99 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Aug 26, 2010 04:24 PM
Wanted Cellpro 4S 4amp Charger-New Version ( Found One--Thanks! ) helinut4ever Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 1 Jan 27, 2009 05:24 PM