Apr 08, 2012, 09:21 AM
Eat-Sleep-Work-Fly-Repeat
Grips's Avatar
Guys: Has anyone setup a head tracker on a Zephyr yet?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Apr 08, 2012, 02:35 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Under the bridge...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fCJq6eQ-gBc
Apr 08, 2012, 04:50 PM
N00b
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharonx View Post
blocked in US =(
Apr 08, 2012, 05:46 PM
wottree
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharonx View Post
nice vid man,
what set up?

why blocked in the US?
Apr 08, 2012, 06:44 PM
AMA 937634
Stone1295's Avatar
The error message states:

"This video contains content from WMG, who has blocked it in your country on copyright grounds."

-Mike
Apr 09, 2012, 10:42 AM
Registered User
I'm going to be ignored or joked about, but.....
This is my first wing, I'm a heli/quad copter guy.... And now that I have to link my servos on the Zeph I wonder how do I do it.... I have multiple input for 2 servos... Do I need mixing or "Y" wires to hook up? I'm a noob, sorry...
Apr 09, 2012, 12:31 PM
Registered User
zooman's Avatar
They need there own channel and mixing.
The same sevro that makes the plane go left and right also makes the plane go up and down.
Apr 09, 2012, 01:28 PM
fly by night
BCSaltchucker's Avatar
usually need to plug the elevons into 2 channels and program the mix in the radio. Need to know which channels your radio uses for elevon mixing, so check the manual.

- unless you are using onboard mixing like I am (Eagle Tree) which still uses 2 channels from control input, but the servos are wired differently.
Apr 09, 2012, 01:34 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooman View Post
They need there own channel and mixing.
The same sevro that makes the plane go left and right also makes the plane go up and down.
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCSaltchucker View Post
usually need to plug the elevons into 2 channels and program the mix in the radio. Need to know which channels your radio uses for elevon mixing, so check the manual.

- unless you are using onboard mixing like I am (Eagle Tree) which still uses 2 channels from control input, but the servos are wired differently.
Thanks guys, so I guess the elevons and aileron will be in a Y cable to the servos and then do the mixing in the radio.... I'll read my maunal...I bought it in Honk Kong at the time, I'll have to download the english version from their site
Apr 09, 2012, 01:51 PM
Registered User
zooman's Avatar
Just so were on the same level.
There's only elevons on this wing. NO ailerons.
http://rcvehicles.about.com/od/glossary/g/elevons.htm
Apr 09, 2012, 02:07 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by zooman View Post
Just so were on the same level.
There's only elevons on this wing. NO ailerons.
http://rcvehicles.about.com/od/glossary/g/elevons.htm
right! thanks, I was getting confused...
Apr 09, 2012, 04:50 PM
Mark Harrison
Quote:
Originally Posted by Halford View Post
I'm going to be ignored or joked about, but.....
This is my first wing, I'm a heli/quad copter guy.... And now that I have to link my servos on the Zeph I wonder how do I do it.... I have multiple input for 2 servos... Do I need mixing or "Y" wires to hook up? I'm a noob, sorry...
I had a hard time getting a handle on exactly how elevon mixing worked, so after I figured it out I wrote it up here:

http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2011/...il-mixing.html
http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2011/...culations.html

As everybody has pointed out, it's typical to have the servos on to separate channels and have your radio mix into elevon mode.

If you've got a Spektrum DX6i, there's a bug in elevon mixing and it doesn't work. Hance has a nice workaround here:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1553248
Apr 10, 2012, 01:35 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhar View Post
I had a hard time getting a handle on exactly how elevon mixing worked, so after I figured it out I wrote it up here:

http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2011/...il-mixing.html
http://eastbay-rc.blogspot.com/2011/...culations.html

As everybody has pointed out, it's typical to have the servos on to separate channels and have your radio mix into elevon mode.

If you've got a Spektrum DX6i, there's a bug in elevon mixing and it doesn't work. Hance has a nice workaround here:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1553248
Wow thanks! I have an old wk2801 pro that I modified with a dragon link... I just found out that it has a delta wing preset for elevons...I'll check out your guide, thank you for doing that!!!
Apr 10, 2012, 02:51 AM
fly by night
BCSaltchucker's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by marhar View Post
If you've got a Spektrum DX6i, there's a bug in elevon mixing and it doesn't work. Hance has a nice workaround here:
there is a bug? I have programmed elevons in my DX6i easy as pie on 2 planes. Plug the elevons into ch1 and 2, select elevons in the Wing-Tail Mix menu and make sure throws are the right direction. This took me like 30 seconds and I didn't even consult the manual and had never set up elevons before. Nowhere near as many steps as in the thread.

and Halford - just to be sure you understand, you cannot use any Y cable for elevons!
Last edited by BCSaltchucker; Apr 10, 2012 at 02:56 AM.
Apr 10, 2012, 08:18 AM
Guess Who's Back? :D
paintz2007's Avatar
elevator+ailerons=elevons


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Building the ultimate Ritewing Zephyr ThomasWF FPV Talk 34 Feb 20, 2012 05:14 PM
Discussion wing thickness ritewing zephyr Herishi The Builders Workshop 2 Oct 05, 2011 08:36 AM
Discussion Ritewing Zephyr hobbycity motor nexstarselect FPV Talk 2 Mar 07, 2011 04:37 PM