Oct 17, 2011, 07:35 AM
Building until we fly w\ Jesus
Thread OP
Discussion

Plane is Grounded

I have a wood frame EV97 that I have installed a Exceed Optima 450 - 2220 - 850KV motor on. I started with an 8 x 5 prop and the plane weighs around 2 pounds or less. All seems great and on the bench test and it seems like it has enough power but when I took it out to the field it would not get off the ground.
I can pick up some good speed but it will just not take off. I changed the prop to a 9 x 5 and I could get it airborn but it still seems way under powered. Is this motor just too small for this plane or is something wrong with my setup? I am still very new to electronic flying. Thanks for your help in advance.

to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2011, 07:48 AM
What battery are you using?

Is the prop on backwards? The "curvy" surface should be forward. (With prop on backwards, you will still get forward thrust, but much less than optimal.)

Offhand, with 850 Kv and 8x5 prop on 3S battery, you're not going to get more than a pound or so of thrust.
Oct 17, 2011, 08:52 AM
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by rafe_b
What battery are you using?

Is the prop on backwards? The "curvy" surface should be forward. (With prop on backwards, you will still get forward thrust, but much less than optimal.)

Offhand, with 850 Kv and 8x5 prop on 3S battery, you're not going to get more than a pound or so of thrust.