Oct 08, 2011, 06:29 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

MeanWell 1000-24 vs. 2 x Feather Merchant PSU

I don't know which one to get. I'm just torn between the two. In one hand the MeanWell is much nicer and easier to hook up to my 306B, but more expensive. On the other hand the FeathermerchantRC is much cheaper and he can hook them up in series for cheap. But they don't look as attractive as the meanwell power supply. HELP! Which one would you get and why?

Either this one.
http://epbuddy.com/index.php?main_pa...products_id=71

OR

This one.
http://feathermerchantrc.com/

2x 12V 47A
to remove ads between posts
Oct 08, 2011, 07:31 PM
ltc
ltc
AMA 97737
FWIW, I have some experience with Meanwell supplies (medical equipment design).
They are pretty much WYSIWYG...nothing unexpected in operation
Oct 08, 2011, 07:59 PM
Southern Pride
If you have the coins purchase the Meanwell. Great to be able to brage about having a $200 to $500 power supply. Lot more impressive than saying you saved 80% of that purchasing used and soldering a few wires.

I use server power supplies myself and have for years. My 24v /55 amps. setup cost me less than $50 and about an hours time. May not win any beauty contest but gets the job done.

Charles
Oct 08, 2011, 08:25 PM
+1 on server supplies.