RangeLink UHF Long Range system - Page 89 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jul 07, 2012, 04:53 AM
Registered User
Hello, I'd like to use X GYRO 1000 with RangeLink.
PROBLEM:
When I turn on the radio the gyro 1000 is blinking but if I move it I don't see the servo moving on the menu of the radio futaba 9 channel. The HT working well with his own port trainer.

This is the connection I did:
X GYRO 1000----HT port cable-----R/C port cable-----RangeLink

maybe I did a mistake to solder the cable, theese are the picture:
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/407/img0003sl.jpg/
UP: plug of X GYRO 1000 (3 pin)
DOWN: HT port cable

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images...g0005xetl.jpg/
the connection. I cut the blu cable. I put a white tape on the black cable solder with white cable.

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/38/img0008utg.jpg/
a detail of the connection to RangeLink


What do you suggest to do?
Thank you
Last edited by doc80; Jul 07, 2012 at 05:03 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 07, 2012, 09:09 AM
Registered User
If you have connected the X1000 to the head tracker port, the signal will not reach the futaba at all, rangelink uses the signal and transmits it directly to the receiver. it will appear on two channels as listed in the instructions,. hook up some servos to see if it works.
Jul 07, 2012, 09:44 AM
Registered User
It doesn't work. The servos don't move. I think a did a mistake to solder the GND cable with signal.
Look the picture, what do you think?
Jul 07, 2012, 11:35 AM
Registered User
I looked at them but I can't tell which TX wire is connected to which on the X1000.
Jul 07, 2012, 08:53 PM
Registered User
Ok, I changed the GND with signal and now work without push the switch to turn on the trainer.
But I am using a servo pan 360 degrees, it is a little bit dangerous becouse If I remove the goggle with thradtracker, thr servo could turn on itself more then 1 time so the cable of tilt go around the camera and it is very dangerous.
Jul 08, 2012, 06:45 PM
Chinglish-funny
My webshop is www.rangepiloting.com , so no need email for ordering.

Sid
Jul 09, 2012, 08:37 AM
Registered User

Rx Antenna


I have embedded the dragon link dipole antenna iny aircraft. Will this antenna work with the range link?

Thanks,
Ken
Jul 09, 2012, 10:32 AM
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by k5beason
I have embedded the dragon link dipole antenna iny aircraft. Will this antenna work with the range link?

Thanks,
Ken
of course ,works fine.

Sid
Jul 10, 2012, 01:35 PM
Registered User

Reinstalled Rangelink in Twinstar with some improvement


Sid,

Finally re-installed the replacement Rangelink you sent me on my Twinstar with my 5.8 ghz 600mw vid transmitter and got 60 meters on the micromode rangetest. Then I flew out 2 miles for a test flight which was the maximum range of the 5.8 video transmitter.
Then I installed my 1.3 ghz video transmitter (transmitting on 1280). This is a 1000 mw transmitter and my micromode range test imediately dropped to 18-20 meters or less.
I think the 1.30 transmitter (1w) is too much power and is knocking down the range of the Rangelink.

Went back to the 5.8 vx and had several nice flights out past 2 miles. Then hooked up the RSSI into my Eagletree and it showed almost 99%. Flew this morning and had a lockout at less than 3000’. Right after I launched the RSSI dropped from 94% down to 60% very quickly. Had a major lock out and nearly crashed. Switched to high power and saved the plane,

Took the Twinstar home and performed advance bind and then set the failsalfe. Now the RSSI is up to 96% and my micromode ground test is getting almost 50 meters.
Trying to figure out why my RSSI dropped so much for no apparent reason. Any ideas?

One possiblity is that I’m using an 18” extension for the Rangelink receiver antenna so I can mount the antenna up on the vertical stabilizer. I’m using a GoPro but have the same problems when it is removed.
The 5.8 vid attenna is mounted less than a foot away and underneath the Rangelink rx antenna (see pic)

Thanks,




Mark
Jul 10, 2012, 01:43 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Generally if you see the RSSI drop immediately after launch, it's due to an antenna problem,
usually a disconnect.

ian
Jul 10, 2012, 02:47 PM
Registered User
Antenna seems fine at both ends
Jul 10, 2012, 06:30 PM
Skint since 2000
ghost2212's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ecworks
Sid,

Finally re-installed the replacement Rangelink you sent me on my Twinstar with my 5.8 ghz 600mw vid transmitter and got 60 meters on the micromode rangetest. Then I flew out 2 miles for a test flight which was the maximum range of the 5.8 video transmitter.
Then I installed my 1.3 ghz video transmitter (transmitting on 1280). This is a 1000 mw transmitter and my micromode range test imediately dropped to 18-20 meters or less.
I think the 1.30 transmitter (1w) is too much power and is knocking down the range of the Rangelink.

Went back to the 5.8 vx and had several nice flights out past 2 miles. Then hooked up the RSSI into my Eagletree and it showed almost 99%. Flew this morning and had a lockout at less than 3000. Right after I launched the RSSI dropped from 94% down to 60% very quickly. Had a major lock out and nearly crashed. Switched to high power and saved the plane,

Took the Twinstar home and performed advance bind and then set the failsalfe. Now the RSSI is up to 96% and my micromode ground test is getting almost 50 meters.
Trying to figure out why my RSSI dropped so much for no apparent reason. Any ideas?

One possiblity is that Im using an 18 extension for the Rangelink receiver antenna so I can mount the antenna up on the vertical stabilizer. Im using a GoPro but have the same problems when it is removed.
The 5.8 vid attenna is mounted less than a foot away and underneath the Rangelink rx antenna (see pic)

Thanks,




Mark
1.3ghz VTX's are known to affect LRS. Someone on FPV lab had success with adding ferrites on the wires by the video tx i believe.
Jul 10, 2012, 06:40 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
1.3Ghz VTXs don't have that magnitude of effect. When I did a 30 mile ground range test
of Rangelink, I had my 1.3Ghz VTX powered the whole time. If the RSSI drops immediately
after launch, then something is broken or disconnected, and as I said above, the most likely
culprit is an antenna.

ian
Jul 10, 2012, 06:50 PM
Skint since 2000
ghost2212's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
1.3Ghz VTXs don't have that magnitude of effect. When I did a 30 mile ground range test
of Rangelink, I had my 1.3Ghz VTX powered the whole time. If the RSSI drops immediately
after launch, then something is broken or disconnected, and as I said above, the most likely
culprit is an antenna.

ian
I was more referring to this "5.8 ghz 600mw vid transmitter and got 60 meters on the micromode rangetest." and this "Then I installed my 1.3 ghz video transmitter (transmitting on 1280). This is a 1000 mw transmitter and my micromode range test imediately dropped to 18-20 meters or less."

Do you have a picture of how your VTX and LRS is set up when you do ground tests? Any special wiring(shielded,.....) on the vtx?

Thanks

Brett
Jul 11, 2012, 12:36 AM
Registered User
Couldn't concentrate on work so I kept working on this problem and finally decided to rearrange the entire layout. I moved the 1w 1280 vid transmitter out to the very end of the left wing and attached the stock antenna which tilts up or down. Temporarily laid the wiring from the transmitter on top of the wing back to the fuselage. Then I moved the Rangelink stock antenna out to the far end of the right wing and used an 18" antenna extension. Wired the Rangelink receiver to my FY-30 gyro and wired the 1280 vid transmitter to a small battery and the vid servo wire to the Eagletree and powered the whole thing up. Results: In micromode for the rangetest I now get 42 meters roughly. In normal low power mode the rangelink is holding at 98% for as far as I can walk away. (couple hundred yards on my street) A few days ago the 1280 1w vid transmitter knocked down my range test to 15 meters or less. The only question I now have is whether the 18" antenna extension will reduce my Rangelink reception very much.
I'll do a long range ground test soon so see if I can go a few miles downrange and see how the Rangelink and 1280 vid perform together.

So it seems to have been the distance between the rangelink and the 1280 1w transmitter. Originally it was a foot apart. Now close to 3 feet.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! NEW DRAGON LINK ADVANCED: Full Telemetry, Bluetooth, Droid Planner, Data Modem JettPilot FPV Equipment 63920 Today 08:31 AM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM