Thread Tools
Old Jan 22, 2012, 03:10 AM
sid.huang is offline
Find More Posts by sid.huang
Chinglish-funny
so not yours ,peter his rx also the got glitchy..
maybe you can make a video to show me the issue,and how to do the advanced binding mode.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 22, 2012, 03:28 AM
Teamsherman is offline
Find More Posts by Teamsherman
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Yep, both systems were glitching.
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:23 AM
Daemon is online now
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
And you tested that either one would stop glitching if the other one was off?

ian
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:47 AM
PMRfly is offline
Find More Posts by PMRfly
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon View Post
And you tested that either one would stop glitching if the other one was off?

ian
ahhhhh yeah mate.. this aint the first time either teamsherman or i have used RC gear... lol
Old Jan 22, 2012, 08:17 AM
sid.huang is offline
Find More Posts by sid.huang
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by Teamsherman View Post
Yep, both systems were glitching.
email to me.

sid
Old Jan 22, 2012, 08:38 AM
NDw is offline
NDw
Find More Posts by NDw
NDw
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by h0tr0d View Post
Point being that you haven't posted enough information to help diagnose the issue. What antennas are you using on tx and rx? Are you holding the tx antenna vertical when you're pushing range?

I use the NA-771 whip attenuated down .5 db and the stock rangelink rx antenna Sid sells and still have 99% rssi @7km when I fly out in the middle of nowhere. When I fly in town around radio towers and on the other side of big buildings I take some big hits in RSSI even close in. Monitoring rssi is pretty much the MOST important thing to have on your OSD if you're attempting any range at all. According to your build pic I found, you're running CE OSD that requires you to solder 1 wire (instructions found on page 5 of ceosd manual) to enable the rssi display.
Out of curiousity did you find the NA-771 much better than the stock antenna? And why is it attenuated down .5 db?

Thanks.
Old Jan 22, 2012, 11:12 AM
avi8tor0 is offline
Find More Posts by avi8tor0
KK4CCD
I Received my RangeLink yesterday. Thanks Sid for the very fast shipping. 9 days.
I was expecting at least 2 weeks considering the Chinese New Year.

R/Hank
Old Jan 22, 2012, 12:39 PM
h0tr0d is offline
Find More Posts by h0tr0d
FPV FTW
h0tr0d's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by NDw View Post
Out of curiousity did you find the NA-771 much better than the stock antenna? And why is it attenuated down .5 db?

Thanks.
Haven't really messed with the stock antenna for the TX. Sid recommended the diamond SRH-771 a while back and the Nagoya NA-771 is slightly less quality, but supposedly built in the same factory and half the price of the diamond. The only time I tested against the stock one was in micro power mode and I got a few steps more from the nagoya antenna over the stock one.

The RangeLink has good filtering on 1280Mhz, but when you have a lower output vtx and the vrx starts cranking in the gain at distance, it will start picking up more of the harmonic at (1299Mhz?) and distort the video. The clpfl 600 filter from digikey can be used on the rc tx, but it does attenuate the signal ~.5 db. A better SAW filter in the vrx will do the same thing, but it's harder to put in the vrx than it is to just screw the sma filter in line with the rc tx. Even with additional filtering that's really not needed (unless you're pushing distance), I'm seeing better RSSI numbers out of the RangeLink than I've seen from my friends with DragonLink.

Keep in mind that the issue with the harmonics is a problem with all UHF control systems used with 1280 video and not limited to the RangeLink.
Old Jan 22, 2012, 04:38 PM
bingo17 is offline
Find More Posts by bingo17
Registered User
bingo17's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sid.huang View Post
yeap,works with 2s or 3s lipo.
Thanks for the reply sid, I have another question.

I don't use a ground station, I have a lawmate 1.3GHz receiver mounted to the side of my goggles.
(So the receiver is in close proximity to the rc system)
If I use your lrs would I need a band pass filter for the lawmate?

Thanks
Old Jan 24, 2012, 07:52 AM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Guys,

How bad will the range go down if i install the Rx dipole not straight (180 degrees) but with vertical elements (90 degrees to each other) ?
Old Jan 24, 2012, 08:11 AM
markus123456 is offline
Find More Posts by markus123456
Registered FPVer :)
markus123456's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm View Post
Guys,

How bad will the range go down if i install the Rx dipole not straight (180 degrees) but with vertical elements (90 degrees to each other) ?
Assuming you keep it still vertical, this equals a so called vee antenna. It will be directional towards the "closer" end at the cost of the more "open" side. 90 degrees is a lot. This aporach only works if you can place the antenna compared to the level of the plane like this ">" cause if one of the poles is in the horizontal plane the directivity of the antenna would point towards the sky. Provided you can mount it as a vee, you should have the open side point in front of the plane so as you have best reception if you trun back to you. Otherwise you would have a high gain link when flying out but would risk to loose the signal once you try to return home.

If you need an alternative rx antenna, check out IBCrazy's turnstyle antenna. This antenna can be mounted horizontally and has four poles. Note, it's not just a cross kind of dipole there is more to it, but it's a good solution i.e. for wings. You would have to have the transmitter antenna horizontally too though as this antenna is horizontally oritented.

HTH

Markus
Old Jan 26, 2012, 05:16 AM
mr..speed is offline
Find More Posts by mr..speed
Registered User
mr..speed's Avatar
Hello Sid,
not sure if already asked, why is it not possible to have HT on channel 10 and 11 with a 9ch RC radio, That would be a nice feature adding additional channels.
It should be only a fw upgrade.
Last edited by mr..speed; Jan 28, 2012 at 06:09 PM.
Old Jan 26, 2012, 06:31 AM
smarm is offline
Find More Posts by smarm
Registered User
Anyone else running a sanders style antenna?

Got one made for the quad, seems to work alright

http://www.fpvmanuals.com/2011/03/23...nd-turn-style/
Old Jan 26, 2012, 06:56 AM
Opt is offline
Opt
Find More Posts by Opt
Opt
Registered User
Just got my rangelink
I have it working on the bench - it has bound and all servos are working.

When I connect the RSSI output to my OSD, the voltage jumps up and down between 0 and 1.5V or so. Any idea could be causing this?
Old Jan 27, 2012, 02:00 AM
Locko is offline
Find More Posts by Locko
Registered User
Locko's Avatar
Can you run your antenna like in this picture or will I loose range? ( Thats the wing picture)


If you run the antenna like this will you get interference from the Cp on 1w 1.3 lawman being so close?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! NEW DRAGON LINK ADVANCED: Full Telemetry, Bluetooth, Droid Planner, Data Modem JettPilot FPV Equipment 54731 Today 08:17 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 05:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 07:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 06:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 04:55 PM