Thread Tools
Feb 05, 2013, 08:56 PM
Chi va piano, va lontano
guaglione87's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
Can put power on any channel but probably best to stay away from the last 3 (RSSI, PPM, TTL).
thank you sir!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 05, 2013, 08:57 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator
any reason why? as im powering my rx via ppm port as that the only cable connected to my rx from my apm2.0
Occurs to me, I'm doing the same on my tricopter, but it's Rx only, with no servos.
It's just not uncommon for special data ports to have limited power handling capacity.

ian
Feb 05, 2013, 08:58 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator
have anyone using APM+MimimOSD here with rangelink? trying to get the RSSI to show up properly in MimimOSD can't seem to get it to work
Yes, you need to configure the analog input on the APM then enable rssi on the OSD. You then need to scale the output given the 8 bit adc ranges 0 to 5v.
Feb 05, 2013, 10:16 PM
9W2DLR
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
Occurs to me, I'm doing the same on my tricopter, but it's Rx only, with no servos.
It's just not uncommon for special data ports to have limited power handling capacity.

ian
ah noted thanks!

Integratedneck

analog port enabled OSD set to raw value but the value is jumping around, how one do actually scale the data?
Feb 05, 2013, 11:25 PM
Chi va piano, va lontano
guaglione87's Avatar
Brand new rangelink tx in the mail to replace the first one that did not function - so i sent it back. This time, when i hooked it up with my 5v source (external sbec) the light flickered on one time, and then nothing. Not a thing.

Anyone have this experience?
Feb 05, 2013, 11:27 PM
Chi va piano, va lontano
guaglione87's Avatar
By the way, i hooked up another servo extension on another port, and measured the 5v at it's end, so the voltage is getting through, just not lighting the LED up, and the rx is not responding... frustrated.
Feb 05, 2013, 11:28 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Note, the LED won't light up before you bind it and re-power both Tx and Rx.
Feb 05, 2013, 11:58 PM
Chi va piano, va lontano
guaglione87's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
Note, the LED won't light up before you bind it and re-power both Tx and Rx.
Well... that was embarrassing...

Daemon - thanks a bunch! I was freaking out there for a second. Works like a charm now.

Thanks again.
Feb 06, 2013, 07:47 PM
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
Yes, you get less range with a monopole. Or put another way, you don't
get something for nothing.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...1820142&page=2
My own testing matches his results.

ian
Well its on a disco quad, I'm going to run 1.3ghz on VTX in order to punch through trees and shrubs. Not looking to set distance records but I don't want to lose link and have it fall out of the sky.
Feb 06, 2013, 08:35 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
That's not what the person I was responding to, asked.
Feb 07, 2013, 02:31 AM
Member #1
Teamsherman's Avatar
Hi Guys,

Is anyone here using rangelink with Skylark TinyII OSD? I'm trying to get RSSI on screen but it keeps saying rssi not detected. I have the cable running from the rssi port on the RL rx and at the other end on the OSD rssi in port.

Do I need to turn the rssi function on in the software of the OSD on my PC? I haven't yet plugged it into my computer.
Feb 07, 2013, 01:03 PM
KD4KW
Kd4Kw's Avatar
I don't know about the range link but my buddies older chain link worked fine. He just ran wire from rssi on rx to rssi in on the tiny.....your mileage may vary.
Feb 07, 2013, 03:24 PM
Registered User
what is the difference between v1 and v2 receiver?Need to buy a new one and saw 2 versions so...
Feb 07, 2013, 03:28 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flye
what is the difference between v1 and v2 receiver?Need to buy a new one and saw 2 versions so...
Re-read the titles/descriptions of each closely. There is only one version of Rangelink Rx.
Feb 07, 2013, 08:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by skellator
ah noted thanks!

Integratedneck

analog port enabled OSD set to raw value but the value is jumping around, how one do actually scale the data?
Need to see the min and max values. It wil be in the range 0-255 corresponding to the 8 bit ADC scaled to 5v. So 255 = 5V. For me my rangelink does .9 - 3.1v so my range is something like 50 to 150. With the upper and lower limit set for the minimosd remove the show raw values and you get a percentage.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Yippee! NEW DRAGON LINK ADVANCED: Full Telemetry, Bluetooth, Droid Planner, Data Modem JettPilot FPV Equipment 60181 Today 03:45 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
New Product ChainLink--The new UHF narrow band long range system BEVRC FPV Talk 878 Jun 08, 2013 06:53 PM
New Product UHF Long range JR / Futaba module Hooks FPV Talk 18 Aug 13, 2012 05:46 AM
Sold [VDS]LRS thomas scherrer UHF + 2 receivers long range LTS49 FPV Equipment (FS/W) 8 Jul 22, 2011 03:55 PM