Thread Tools
Sep 04, 2012, 09:13 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
Can you point me to any place with instructions on building a trainer port connector? I've not had any luck finding any,

From what I understand the trainport on the DX7s is a mono phono jack which has 2 contacts. The DL has 3 wires to connect... ???? (and a "sometimes you need it, sometimes you don't" resistor)

This page is of almost no help.. http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12

What version is your DL TX & RX . MINE IS V2 . Resistors I think are already installed . Not sure about older version DL . But think it will work but you need the resistors
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 04, 2012, 09:14 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankheadrc
What version is your DL TX & RX . MINE IS V2 . Resistors I think are already installed . Not sure about older version DL . But think it will work but you need the resistors
Got it in early April??? The receiver is version "C", iirc.
Sep 04, 2012, 09:19 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
Can you point me to any place with instructions on building a trainer port connector? I've not had any luck finding any,

From what I understand the trainport on the DX7s is a mono phono jack which has 2 contacts. The DL has 3 wires to connect... ???? (and a "sometimes you need it, sometimes you don't" resistor)

This page is of almost no help.. http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12

If you pause my video you can see some what how I hooked it up .
Sep 04, 2012, 09:21 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bankheadrc
If you pause my video you can see some what how I hooked it up .
Yeah, I can see how it works enough to set it up..

just worried about quotes like this on the DL site and it being echoed here and on FPVLab.. :/

http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12
Quote:
The JR trainer port has very low PPM levels, and should be a last resort for connection to the Dragon Link. It will work in some cases, but many have reported unsatisfactory results using the trainer port JR radios.
Sep 04, 2012, 09:23 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
Got it in early April??? The receiver is version "C", iirc.
You might need the resistor , try it first if doesn't work you will need to add the resistors . Not sure where or exactly how but mike should be able to guide you throught .
Sep 04, 2012, 09:24 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
Yeah, I can see how it works enough to set it up..

just worried about quotes like this on the DL site and it being echoed here and on FPVLab.. :/

http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12
That was the way was going until I posted ? Here to Jettpilot / Mike
Sep 04, 2012, 09:30 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
I'll give that a shot.. Do I not need to be worried about all the posts saying JR/Spektrum trainer port PPM level are too low to work well?
If ppm out of DX7 is low or not enough the green led on dragon link won't light up or wont work at all , that's when you would need the resistors , then you should be fine .
Sep 04, 2012, 09:41 PM
FPV Pilot
blueprint's Avatar
Does anybody know if Mike is still accepting upgrades for the old Dragon Link V1's?
Sep 04, 2012, 09:52 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint
Does anybody know if Mike is still accepting upgrades for the old Dragon Link V1's?
Curious about this as well.
Sep 04, 2012, 10:10 PM
Registered User

Wrong receivers


My neighbor and I both have DL version 1s that we bought a couple months before the v2 came out. (i think we got them back in april) Anyway we ordered a couple new receivers from RMRC and they are the v2 receivers. THey will not bind. I am assuming that we have a different firmware version or something because before when I ordered extra receivers from DL I had to specificy when my DL TX shipped and I did not have to @ RMRC. The reason I thought it would be alright is because last time I ordered receivers I thought I got v2 receivers because they had the extra LEDs that the old ones didnt have so i assumed that the v2s were compatible with the older TXs but i guess you know what they say about assuming.... So my question is am I correct that the firmware versions are incompatible and that I will need have the firmwares flashed on the receivers or exchange them? Also if that is the problem is there a cable available somewhere to flash them myself? I am sorry if this was covered somewhere else in the hundreds of pages in this thread but I didnt have time to read them all so i could work all the OT I can to support this dang hobby. Thanks in advance.
Sep 04, 2012, 10:20 PM
Registered User
wister's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by viper522
No, at this time it will not autopilot a VTOL craft. The Naza GPS upgrade will give you position hold and return to home functions, however, and costs about the same as DOSD when you add an inexpensive OSD to the multirotor.
Hi, Thanks for the reply. I have the gps module, I am interested in the waypoint ability. hopefully some day they will an upgrade for the VTOL craft.

thanks again.

John
Sep 04, 2012, 10:30 PM
Team Basement-RC
Tracks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sl4ppy
Yeah, I can see how it works enough to set it up..

just worried about quotes like this on the DL site and it being echoed here and on FPVLab.. :/

http://www.dragonlinkstore.com/v2/node/12
This was more an issue with the dx6. The 7 and 8 have run off the trainer port for lots of people. The resistors are not needed for use with spektrum radios.
Sep 04, 2012, 10:32 PM
Team Basement-RC
Tracks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueprint
Does anybody know if Mike is still accepting upgrades for the old Dragon Link V1's?
Yes, mike is still doing free upgrades.
Sep 04, 2012, 10:34 PM
Team Basement-RC
Tracks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIMpYchUM
My neighbor and I both have DL version 1s that we bought a couple months before the v2 came out. (i think we got them back in april) Anyway we ordered a couple new receivers from RMRC and they are the v2 receivers. THey will not bind. I am assuming that we have a different firmware version or something because before when I ordered extra receivers from DL I had to specificy when my DL TX shipped and I did not have to @ RMRC. The reason I thought it would be alright is because last time I ordered receivers I thought I got v2 receivers because they had the extra LEDs that the old ones didnt have so i assumed that the v2s were compatible with the older TXs but i guess you know what they say about assuming.... So my question is am I correct that the firmware versions are incompatible and that I will need have the firmwares flashed on the receivers or exchange them? Also if that is the problem is there a cable available somewhere to flash them myself? I am sorry if this was covered somewhere else in the hundreds of pages in this thread but I didnt have time to read them all so i could work all the OT I can to support this dang hobby. Thanks in advance.
The cable isn't quite available yet. You're better off getting your Tx and older receivers upgraded, instead of getting the new ones downgraded.
Sep 04, 2012, 10:47 PM
-NEFPV-
Quote:
Originally Posted by gIMpYchUM
My neighbor and I both have DL version 1s that we bought a couple months before the v2 came out. (i think we got them back in april) Anyway we ordered a couple new receivers from RMRC and they are the v2 receivers. THey will not bind. I am assuming that we have a different firmware version or something because before when I ordered extra receivers from DL I had to specificy when my DL TX shipped and I did not have to @ RMRC. The reason I thought it would be alright is because last time I ordered receivers I thought I got v2 receivers because they had the extra LEDs that the old ones didnt have so i assumed that the v2s were compatible with the older TXs but i guess you know what they say about assuming.... So my question is am I correct that the firmware versions are incompatible and that I will need have the firmwares flashed on the receivers or exchange them? Also if that is the problem is there a cable available somewhere to flash them myself? I am sorry if this was covered somewhere else in the hundreds of pages in this thread but I didnt have time to read them all so i could work all the OT I can to support this dang hobby. Thanks in advance.

have you had any problems flying at the same time?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Long Range UHF RC system now avail on STOCK thomasscherrer FPV Equipment 14300 Jun 07, 2017 03:10 AM
Wanted Scherrer UHF long Range or Dragon Link patrick21x FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 24, 2015 03:50 AM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF Long range RC system - BEST VIDEO contest for AUGUST !!! JettPilot FPV Talk 60 Aug 21, 2014 03:40 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF RC System - Video Contest JettPilot FPV Talk 63 Aug 02, 2011 10:52 PM