Thread Tools
Jan 20, 2013, 06:36 AM
hey whats burning?
metalbender4by's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by octane81
On their website you have the choice of buying recievers for TX bought ;

1. before 7 dec 2011
2. 7 dec 2011 <-> 7 april 2012
3. After 7 april 2012

I thought option 1 is the old v1 without upgrade. Option 2 is v1 with upgrade. And Option 3 is for the new V2.
If this is correct I have no idea , since some say i need to send in mine v1 for a upgrade.

I choice Option 2 , and that worked fine with my transmitter.

Question 2 ; shall I use the dummy plug on RX when doing calibration or not?
On the website at one place it says to use it , and on another page it says to have nothing connected.
With the V1 when you range check you have to put the dummy load on the tx and remove the antenna from the rx.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jan 20, 2013, 08:51 AM
Gravity is patient............
Quote:
Originally Posted by billyd60
I just had my version 12a dragon link receiver and transmitter upgraded to the latest version.

When I test rssi on the bench, with only a 4.8v battery running the rx and a single rssi connection (nothing else connected or powered up), I am getting around 2.8V with the tx about 5 feet away. However, about every 9 seconds (but sometimes every 3 or 4 seconds), the rssi drops to about 0.8v for a 1/2 second, and then goes back to 2.8v.

The rx has been calibrated per the instructions. Any ideas why the rssi is pulsing like that?
Nobody?
Jan 20, 2013, 10:09 AM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
Hey can anyone help? My Dragonlink will not transmit anymore it just stays on the red led. It workedfinewhen I flew it last. Then I tried turning it on yesterday and its not working. It's not my radio bc my 2.4 module is working fine nd I plugged a friends DL tx in my radio and it worked fine. Any clues?
Jan 20, 2013, 10:12 AM
Taking care of business
Ho-Jazz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flohio117
Hey can anyone help? My Dragonlink will not transmit anymore it just stays on the red led. It workedfinewhen I flew it last. Then I tried turning it on yesterday and its not working. It's not my radio bc my 2.4 module is working fine nd I plugged a friends DL tx in my radio and it worked fine. Any clues?
Check the resistor on your harness. I had same issues, turned out the resistor leg was broke.
This only applies if you are using it though.
Jan 20, 2013, 12:07 PM
Registered User
moisas's Avatar
Is the radio Tx in PPM mode?
check that because if it is in Pcm mode the led stays red and Dragonlink will not transmit

Quote:
Originally Posted by flohio117
Hey can anyone help? My Dragonlink will not transmit anymore it just stays on the red led. It workedfinewhen I flew it last. Then I tried turning it on yesterday and its not working. It's not my radio bc my 2.4 module is working fine nd I plugged a friends DL tx in my radio and it worked fine. Any clues?
Jan 20, 2013, 12:18 PM
Qualified
JohnVH's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kc10kevin
I'm using this one: http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...oducts_id=1032


Works well,but you may lose some range according to the experts.
Oh, thanks! How far have you gone on this?

Mike, whats your take on it?
Jan 20, 2013, 01:46 PM
Lt Col, USAF, Retired
Quote:
Originally Posted by JettPilot
This will work at much much reduced range. I do not like this antenna but it will work if you are less than 5 Km or so.

What would be better is to have my antenna, make the top vertical as the antenna in your picture, and just let the bottom wire hang loose. This will give you almost full range.

Mike
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVH
Oh, thanks! How far have you gone on this?

Mike, whats your take on it?
Above is Mike's response from a couple of months ago. I don't go anywhere close to 5km with my quad. If I ever do then ill change it back to the stock antenna.
Jan 20, 2013, 02:25 PM
Qualified
JohnVH's Avatar
cool, thanks
Jan 20, 2013, 03:11 PM
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
He's had mine for 3 weeks. I'm hoping to get it back this week.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike SF
Hi Mike, how long does it usually take to upgrade V1 Rx and Tx to V2?

I sent in my 3 units last week and I'm eager to fly again. The weather is really nice here in the San Francisco Bay Area
Jan 20, 2013, 03:27 PM
DroneWorksUSA.net
flohio117's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho-Jazz
Check the resistor on your harness. I had same issues, turned out the resistor leg was broke.
This only applies if you are using it though.
No transistor just the 3 wires orange red brown.

Quote:
Originally Posted by moisas
Is the radio Tx in PPM mode?
check that because if it is in Pcm mode the led stays red and Dragonlink will not transmit
My radio is in ppm/n I plugged another Dragonlink in an bam it came right on. I plugged my 2.4ghz module in and it works fine also.
Jan 20, 2013, 06:13 PM
Registered User
Hey guys, I'm considering buying a oracle diversity receiver to go with my DL, DOSD, and 1.2ghz system. Any thoughts??

Pros/cons??
Jan 20, 2013, 07:12 PM
Registered User
Ascended's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVH
Oh, thanks! How far have you gone on this?

Mike, whats your take on it?
I wouldn't recommend one of these. You'll lose a lot of range compared to stock.
Jan 20, 2013, 07:26 PM
Registered User
Ascended's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flylite
Hi All,

I have a strange issue with my DL v2 and Futaba 8FG Tx.
When I wiggle the sticks rapidly (as if I was to do a quick 3d move) the DL Rx link light goes out and the output locks up for a second or so.
Anyone seen this before? Its not a power brownout as this also happens when there are no servo's plugged in. Stressed - need this working for an imprtant day next week.

James
Firstly, update your firmware on the TX. There was an issue in earlier firmware which could cause issues if the PPM length changed too rapidly.

Secondly, try this without any servos attached. If you have large/digital servos (analogues can too but not to the same degree usually) they can drain the capacitors on the BEC and cause the receiver to lose power. I had big issues with this on my TREX-600 heli.
Jan 20, 2013, 07:30 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnVH
Oh, thanks! How far have you gone on this?

Mike, whats your take on it?
I use TBS antenna on my quad, Ive been 2.5km with it so far,

on planes I use Mikes stock ones or ones I make myself but same style as Mikes.
Jan 20, 2013, 07:35 PM
Registered User
Ascended's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by octane81
The old calibration procedure didnt say anything about connecting the dummy load to the RX.
Just power on without antenna.

I see the new procedure says to power it on with dummy load.
Does it make big difference in performance?
The dummy load drops the signal down quite a bit. This makes it easier for the receiver to figure out the peak frequency. It's not required, but it is nice to do

Quote:
Originally Posted by octane81
why does it needs to be upgraded? bought Feb 2012
There has been new firmware released since your purchase, but it should not be required to work with the receivers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by octane81
yea who knows ... theres even a v2 rev2 rx from reading on their website..
since my tx is v1 (or what version of version 1 is it?), and it workes with v2 rx (with leds) , do i need to upgrade my tx? hmm
its all too confusing!
The V2 R2 receivers added even more power filtering for extra reliability and changed the size of the protection resistors to make assembly easier. If you're not running big digital servos or lots of servos off it, the changes wont affect you.

There has been 1 revision of the TX boards which are in production right now - mostly it just changed with width and length of the PCB to better fit the case. We undersized the PCB by about 0.5mm to allow for any tolerance issues - however we haven't seen any yet so the boards are being made wider so they don't rattle around in the case There is no reason for you to change TX if you already have V2 (given that you have high/low power and a rectangular case - you have V2.)


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Long Range UHF RC system now avail on STOCK thomasscherrer FPV Equipment 14300 Jun 07, 2017 03:10 AM
Wanted Scherrer UHF long Range or Dragon Link patrick21x FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 24, 2015 03:50 AM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF Long range RC system - BEST VIDEO contest for AUGUST !!! JettPilot FPV Talk 60 Aug 21, 2014 03:40 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF RC System - Video Contest JettPilot FPV Talk 63 Aug 02, 2011 10:52 PM