Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 08, 2011, 06:57 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps
Ok guys, I have 2 VTX one in 900Mhz 500mW and the other in 5.8Ghz 200mW, I also have 2 ground stations, the 900 Mhz ground station consists of 2 receivers with an Oracle diversity, the receivers are coupled to a patch antenna and a stock antenna.
The 5.8 Ghz ground station consists of 2 RC-305 receivers (one hooked to a SPW antenna, the other to a 9 turn helix antenna) linked to a diversity.
My question is, can I take the video outputs of the 2 diversities and hook them to a third diversity?

Thanks for your inputs.
You sure can !!! You should be able to switch between different frequencies at will that way. That is the theory anyways I would definately try it, but no guarantees, as electronic eqiupment many times holds unexpected suprises

Mike
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 08, 2011, 07:00 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFDIBERIAN
I am currently running the DL with a DX8, and if the DL gets too close to the DX8's antenna, I hear clicking noises emanating from the transmitter suggesting that the RF is not disabled on my Spektrum DX8. I use Programmable master on the trainer mode.

What should I do to EASILY disable the 2.4ghz RF? I want to use it now and then for small helicopters and parkflyers on 2.4.
I do not have a DX 8 so this is a hard question. Is there a " Trainer " mode that you can put the radio into in its computer menu ? That might disable the 2.4 GHZ part. Where is the clicking noise comming from, the Dragon Link or your RC TX ? They should be able to both operate at the same time. Just try folding your 2.4 GHZ antenna over horizontal when using Dragon Link.

Mike
Dec 08, 2011, 07:02 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy321
Are you going to be able to re update these transmitters and receivers?

If not, are you going to sell them for a discounted price for people like me who fly alone?
Hi,

The Dragon Links are perfectly good, it will be the same hardware. What I will be doing is updating the firmware , but it will all be the same equipment.

Mike
Dec 08, 2011, 07:06 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JettPilot
You sure can !!! You should be able to switch between different frequencies at will that way. That is the theory anyways I would definately try it, but no guarantees, as electronic eqiupment many times holds unexpected suprises

Mike
Thank you for the reply Mike, I wanted to have 2 seperate VTX for dedundancy, ideally on the same freq. but I happen to have 2 different freq.
Dec 08, 2011, 11:40 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Mike, I have a new question.
I hooked the 12 channel receiver to 2 servos, switched on the TX while pressing the black (not red) button to bind the RX, green led blinks as it should.
I powered the RX, switched off the TX then switched it back on, green led turns solid green and servos respond with stick movement.
Now, on my DX7 I select a different model, switch on the TX then the same RX and the servos move while le model is different, that doesn't sound normal does it?
Dec 08, 2011, 12:33 PM
Registered User
eyesonsky's Avatar
Someone use a Voltage Protector like this one? Its effective?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16223
Dec 08, 2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by eyesonsky
Someone use a Voltage Protector like this one? Its effective?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16223
To be effective you need an coil and a capacitor, the capacitor alone won't be too effective.
Dec 08, 2011, 01:50 PM
Registered User
Excellent. I will probably order in next few days so will keep eye on thread to see if I should wait for new firmware

Richard
Dec 08, 2011, 01:57 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps
Mike, I have a new question.
I hooked the 12 channel receiver to 2 servos, switched on the TX while pressing the black (not red) button to bind the RX, green led blinks as it should.
I powered the RX, switched off the TX then switched it back on, green led turns solid green and servos respond with stick movement.
Now, on my DX7 I select a different model, switch on the TX then the same RX and the servos move while le model is different, that doesn't sound normal does it?
Sounds like your talking about Model Match on the Spektrum radios. Model Match ONLY works for Spektrum receivers using the Spektrum memories. Any 'add on' rf deck, like the DL in your case, don't care about model match...they will respond to any selected model memory...as long as the DL Tx and Rx are bound. In short...sounds like it's working normal to me.
Dec 08, 2011, 08:48 PM
Taking care of business
Ho-Jazz's Avatar
Hey Mike, I ordered a long range whip ant from you about a month ago. When I put it on the tx, I get 0% rssi. I posted up in here but got no response. I mailed it back to you at the address it was sent from and still have heard nothing. What else do I need to do? Not ranting here, but I would like an answer.
Dec 08, 2011, 08:52 PM
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ho-Jazz
Hey Mike, I ordered a long range whip ant from you about a month ago. When I put it on the tx, I get 0% rssi. I posted up in here but got no response. I mailed it back to you at the address it was sent from and still have heard nothing. What else do I need to do? Not ranting here, but I would like an answer.
#1. Have you done a range check with it? If your RSSI is truly 0% then you should have no-to-little range.
#2. What OSD system are you connecting the RSSI to. What pin on your Rx and verify you've got the RSSI wire connected to the proper pin on your OSD and calibrate the OSD.
Dec 08, 2011, 09:11 PM
Team Basement-RC
Tracks's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFDIBERIAN
I am currently running the DL with a DX8, and if the DL gets too close to the DX8's antenna, I hear clicking noises emanating from the transmitter suggesting that the RF is not disabled on my Spektrum DX8. I use Programmable master on the trainer mode.

What should I do to EASILY disable the 2.4ghz RF? I want to use it now and then for small helicopters and parkflyers on 2.4.
I use a DL with the DX8 on the trainer port. I set the DX8 to Programmable Master, but then set ALL the channels to slave.
Dec 09, 2011, 12:10 AM
Registered User

problema TX DL


saludos Mike.

Te envie un mensaje privado, por favor revisalo y me cuentas.. GRACIAS.
Dec 09, 2011, 01:04 AM
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic
Sounds like your talking about Model Match on the Spektrum radios. Model Match ONLY works for Spektrum receivers using the Spektrum memories. Any 'add on' rf deck, like the DL in your case, don't care about model match...they will respond to any selected model memory...as long as the DL Tx and Rx are bound. In short...sounds like it's working normal to me.
This means that if I buy another DL RX for another model & bind it, it will work on that latter model, the first model will still work with the first DL RX, no mixing around between these 2 models, right?
Dec 09, 2011, 06:53 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps
Mike, I have a new question.
I hooked the 12 channel receiver to 2 servos, switched on the TX while pressing the black (not red) button to bind the RX, green led blinks as it should.
I powered the RX, switched off the TX then switched it back on, green led turns solid green and servos respond with stick movement.
Now, on my DX7 I select a different model, switch on the TX then the same RX and the servos move while le model is different, that doesn't sound normal does it?
Yes, this is very normal. Your RX will respond to any model you program. The only difference is that the mixes, reverse, etc are different with each model you have programmed.

Mike


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product Long Range UHF RC system now avail on STOCK thomasscherrer FPV Equipment 14300 Jun 07, 2017 03:10 AM
Wanted Scherrer UHF long Range or Dragon Link patrick21x FPV Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 24, 2015 03:50 AM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF Long range RC system - BEST VIDEO contest for AUGUST !!! JettPilot FPV Talk 60 Aug 21, 2014 03:40 PM
New Product ChainLink UHF Long Range System siim227 FPV Talk 2853 Jul 01, 2013 04:23 PM
Yippee! Win a FREE Dragon Link UHF RC System - Video Contest JettPilot FPV Talk 63 Aug 02, 2011 10:52 PM