RangePiloting.com --- RangeLink UHF LRS - Page 3 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by sid.huang, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Dec 22, 2011, 08:34 PM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
i will meter the pins on the futaba connector when i get a new battery for my multi meter tomorrow. all i did was cut off a spare foxtech aio goggles cable and connected the following


1. black to white (left side of your connector with locking tab up)
2. blue to green
3. red to red
4. black to black
Last edited by hairbag; Dec 22, 2011 at 08:51 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 22, 2011, 09:52 PM
Chinglish-funny
i will meter the pins on the futaba connector when i get a new battery for my multi meter tomorrow.

>thanks
Dec 22, 2011, 10:15 PM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
no problem sid.

do you know how/where the rssi connections are on the cyclops osd 1.5?
Dec 22, 2011, 10:21 PM
Chinglish-funny
maybe u need remove the shrinkable tube, at center of the pcb, u can find it, and need solder.
Dec 23, 2011, 06:42 PM
Chinglish-funny
Hi hairbag, so you futaba radio is a built-in 2.4ghz system :

http://www.futaba-rc.com/systems/futk7000.html

or Futaba 7CAP 7-Channel PCM Radio with R137HP Receiver (35MHz)
http://shop.singahobby.com/?q=node/17570
Dec 23, 2011, 06:45 PM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
i see a set of 4 pin holes on the osd main board but do not know which of the 4 holes to use. all 4? should only need 1 signal and 1 ground ? dont want to fry the board and let the magic power smoke out!

here is a pic of the pins i have working on my futaba 7c(built in 2.4ghz)...this is the cable head and color coded to your cable, this is also the same wiring that works with my foxtech goggles with their plug and play cable
Last edited by hairbag; Dec 23, 2011 at 07:09 PM.
Dec 23, 2011, 06:48 PM
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairbag
i see a set of 4 pin holes on the osd main board but do not know which of the 4 holes to use. all 4? should only need 1 signal and 1 ground ? i

here is a pic of the pins i have working on my futaba 7c...this is the cable head and color coded to your cable
show me the pic, i think that is not for rssi,just for internal MCU program.


Sid
Dec 23, 2011, 06:49 PM
Chinglish-funny
Many thanks.Hairbag. i think i know what wrong with my made cable.


Sid
Dec 23, 2011, 08:41 PM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
looks good Sid and yes other two pins are open...not getting anything on the meter with them.

here is cyclops osd 1.5 main board top and bottom
Dec 23, 2011, 08:51 PM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
also one question about mounting your antennas.

is it best to have the two end halves at a 90 degree angle to each other or in a straight line or something else?
Dec 23, 2011, 08:54 PM
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairbag
looks good Sid and yes other two pins are open...not getting anything on the meter with them.

here is cyclops osd 1.5 main board top and bottom

it at the bottom, it named as "RSSI" "GND"


Sid
Dec 23, 2011, 08:58 PM
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairbag
i see a set of 4 pin holes on the osd main board but do not know which of the 4 holes to use. all 4? should only need 1 signal and 1 ground ? dont want to fry the board and let the magic power smoke out!

here is a pic of the pins i have working on my futaba 7c(built in 2.4ghz)...this is the cable head and color coded to your cable, this is also the same wiring that works with my foxtech goggles with their plug and play cable

Sorry, can u confirm it,,,,, i have the simulator cable, and the PPM pin is not the same as yours. i afraid if wrong ,it will blowing up the radio.
Dec 23, 2011, 09:35 PM
Chinglish-funny
hi all,before it confirmed pls don't try it.



Sid
Dec 24, 2011, 10:44 AM
Registered User
hairbag's Avatar
cant believe I missed the rssi tag on the bottom of the board LOL

whoa Sid...

just noticed in your photos that the pins are reversed on you diagram...you need to line up to the pin header on the far left (top half). looks like you have the bottom half of the cable head turned upside down so that it would be opposite. just move the two outside wires to the other side and you should be good.

i have both my goggles and my Rangelink working perfectly. no problems at all so far .

how do you suggest to mount the RX antennae on the plane? 90degree angles, verticle, horizontal?
Last edited by hairbag; Dec 24, 2011 at 11:45 AM.
Dec 24, 2011, 12:02 PM
Chinglish-funny
Quote:
Originally Posted by hairbag
cant believe I missed the rssi tag on the bottom of the board LOL

whoa Sid...

just noticed in your photos that the pins are reversed on you diagram...you need to line up to the pin header on the far left (top half). looks like you have the bottom half of the cable head turned upside down so that it would be opposite. just move the two outside wires to the other side and you should be good.

i have both my goggles and my Rangelink working perfectly. no problems at all so far .
>have try use the headertracker

how do you suggest to mount the RX antennae on the plane? 90degree angles, verticle, horizontal?
>verticle, both tx and rx antenna verticle, will be give u best performance. but horizontal rx antenna ,easy to install, about performance, at low power also easy push you plane up to 10KM.
that is why diversity is not so important at uhf band.


Sid

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hawk Sky!Upgrading the Tx/Rx? Dakine48 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 9 Sep 22, 2011 08:45 AM
Discussion Upgrading from esky nano, going 6ch cp sgt.smith Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 17 Sep 16, 2011 12:14 AM
Discussion help with upgrading plane from amazon.com speedyAK Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 Aug 14, 2011 01:55 PM
Discussion Upgrading from MCX duncan749 Electric Heli Talk 12 Jul 29, 2011 05:26 PM
Discussion Thomas's LRS now available from TrueRC Canada! Hugeone FPV Talk 14 Mar 23, 2010 10:01 AM