Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Oct 20, 2012, 06:29 AM
Time to learn to fly
Sandav's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vineet_p
Thanks for the reply.
I don't have a turnigy USB linker right now. I want to re-flash using the USBasp itself.
So I follow same steps without '+enable bootloader...' right?
yes
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 20, 2012, 06:52 AM
Registered User
vineet_p's Avatar
Thanks a ton mate.
Oct 20, 2012, 07:13 AM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vineet_p
Thanks a ton mate.
You might want to enable the bootloader anyway just in case one day you want to use it. Doesn't hurt.
Oct 20, 2012, 08:18 AM
Registered User
vineet_p's Avatar
If I try enabling the bootloader, it doesn't flash at all. I get the error "Error writing flash' or something like that.
I'll try without enabling the bootloader tomorrow and see.
Oct 20, 2012, 09:50 AM
Registered User
vineet_p's Avatar
Okay, Thanks for all your help guys.
I tried re-flashing them with the latest firmware using LazyZero's *serial* flash tool *without* enabling bootloader.
Oct 20, 2012, 10:53 AM
Note - Self Destruct - OFF
Arcorsai's Avatar

ESC firmware updating by Linker


Quote:
Originally Posted by tigar
thanks I will try this sequence and let you know.
A few weeks back I did the same with rctimers and usblinker worked first time without ext power.
Now I have trouble with F30...
Quote:
Originally Posted by whakahere
Thanks for tigar for asking usb linker question and SimonK for the answer! I am having problems with the F30 as well. I couldn't get it to work. I will try this out tomorrow. cheers.
Quote:
Originally Posted by vineet_p
Okay, Thanks for all your help guys.
I tried re-flashing them with the latest firmware using LazyZero's *serial* flash tool *without* enabling bootloader.
SimonK answered Tigar also on power sequence to get the Linker to work, I was going thru the same last night ( just got my linker & had to play ), Took me a moment to risk it after getting the same error when using the + bootloader option. just want to add.

Note that in Windows the SiLabs CP210x driver is set to be power controlled by the OS by default, uncheck that in the driver properties power management, and also do not connect the 5v red + middle pin thru to the esc - either build a jumper or lift the plastic tab & pull the red wire. (& put back after ) there is a YouTube video and blog by spinoinside that shows such a jumper.

Happy flying y'all.
Oct 20, 2012, 11:17 AM
Registered User
vineet_p's Avatar
Thanks Arcorsai. I tried flashing thru USBasp (I don't have a linker in hand) without the bootloader and it worked. But this means I'll not be able to reflash thru the linker in the future - anyway I don't want/need to.
Last edited by vineet_p; Oct 21, 2012 at 08:24 AM.
Oct 21, 2012, 06:36 AM
SirEdward
blimppilot@ph's Avatar

HK MultiStar 10A


just got 4 pcs MultiStar 10Amp ESC http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=25362 from the PO. I haven't tried it yet but im very much eager to flash it with simonK firmware, anyone have any idea what firmware should i use.
Oct 21, 2012, 08:11 AM
Registered User
Frank.T's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk

Hi, Frank! I meant frequency as in how often this "random" issue occurs. Is this through your flight board or also testing with your radio or servo tester? Which flight board? I'm trying with my RCTimer 30A and similar motor at 4S, and I'm not seeing it. Is this with AQ?
Yes every time I try to hove it occur and correct is is with the AQ FC.

I am back now to the previous version and they work fine. Sorry never test them with servo tester (will do next time if I find a problem).

//Frank
Oct 21, 2012, 08:16 AM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
After flashing my blueseries esc I get one beep when I connect battery and no working motor. I have 4 of them which needs bs.hex and 4 with bs_nfet. Any idea?
Oct 21, 2012, 08:48 AM
SirEdward
blimppilot@ph's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark
After flashing my blueseries esc I get one beep when I connect battery and no working motor. I have 4 of them which needs bs.hex and 4 with bs_nfet. Any idea?
Right after flashing the mcu will reset and you will hear that one beep, you then have to disconnect the esc to the battery and hook it up to the rx and do throttle range calibration, once the throttle range has been recorded you will hear another series of beeps. power cycle everything and you should be able to run the motor.
Oct 21, 2012, 10:20 AM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark
After flashing my blueseries esc I get one beep when I connect battery and no working motor. I have 4 of them which needs bs.hex and 4 with bs_nfet. Any idea?
Which BlueSeries do you have and which ones have the issue? The 12 and 30s take bs_nfet.
Oct 21, 2012, 10:38 AM
Registered User
LittleMo's Avatar
I have created a rough sketch () that allows you to load firmware over the servo wire using an Arduino or other ATmega device instead of using an USB Linker. You must have the simonk bootloader flashed and enabled first, from then on updates can be done over the servo signal wire just like the USB Linker.

I did this so that I can use a standard RS-232 serial connection connected to an ATmega328p to flash my ESC's. I didn't want to buy a USB Linker.

Please test carefully and let me know of any problems as this is not well tested.

* Try READING first from the ESC before trying to burn firmware to make sure the interface is working. More testing is needed.

Source code can be found here:
https://github.com/c---/ArduinoUSBLinker
Last edited by LittleMo; Oct 22, 2012 at 04:21 PM.
Oct 21, 2012, 10:57 AM
Kostas
kstmark's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFernMan
Which BlueSeries do you have and which ones have the issue? The 12 and 30s take bs_nfet.
I have the HK blue series 30 some of them needs bs.hex and other bs_nfet.hex.
I used an old motor to test them. I changed the motor and everything is ok.
Does any body knows if I'll have any problem with my hexa (naza controller) if I use these 6 esc? All of them are 30 hobbyking blueseries but the 2 of them needs bs_nfet and the other 4 bs. I'm think of putting the 2 different esc at left and right side.
Oct 21, 2012, 11:09 AM
Too Many Thread Subscriptions
TheFernMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kstmark
I have the HK blue series 30 some of them needs bs.hex and other bs_nfet.hex.
I used an old motor to test them. I changed the motor and everything is ok.
Does any body knows if I'll have any problem with my hexa (naza controller) if I use these 6 esc? All of them are 30 hobbyking blueseries but the 2 of them needs bs_nfet and the other 4 bs. I'm think of putting the 2 different esc at left and right side.
The Naza works will flashed ESCs. The ones with nfets are better.

You didn't say which ones are the ones with the issues. Bs_nfets or bs. ?

Did you do the throttle calibration like blimppilot said?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Drone Talk 2 May 26, 2011 02:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 09:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 09:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 02:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 02:31 PM