New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:18 PM
lipus is offline
Find More Posts by lipus
Registered User
hi,

I got this chinese ESCs from ebay

front:

back:

can anyone identify these? I want to flash them but dont know what FW to flash

any help is welcome,
thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:54 PM
Farmer_Joe is offline
Find More Posts by Farmer_Joe
RC Farmer
Farmer_Joe's Avatar
From the diodes it looks like N-fet design...
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:17 PM
2400RDR is offline
Find More Posts by 2400RDR
Out of helis, sanity returning
Folks-

Much water has been under the bridge in the short time (but many pages) since this thread has begun. It seems like most of the necessary info is in the first post, but the download instructions don't jibe. I'm assuming that I go to the downloads area, get the most recent zip file, extract tgy.hex from there and use it to flash my tgy compatible ESC.

Would that be correct?

Rick

PS- I imagine what I'm asking has been elucidated somewhere in these 207 pages, but I figure it's more efficient to ask rather than trying to filter the whole thread.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:36 PM
LazyZero is offline
Find More Posts by LazyZero
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vantasstic View Post
Question...
I've getting ready to try flashing some ESCs. I know what firmware to use and have built a programmer cable. I've used the Lazy Zero program to flash KK boards with success and was thinking of using it for the ESC flash too. My question comes with the fuses. Do I need to set some fuses (manually) after flashing or does the Lazy Zero and TGY programming do that for me? Thanks.

edit: Just reread the instructions on the first post. The newest firmware doesn't need any fuse settings, so all I need to do is flash and go. Is that correct?
Kkflashtool doesn't touch the fuses. You just need to select the right firmware according to the spreadsheet posted in post #1.

Best Christian
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:47 PM
Vantasstic is offline
Find More Posts by Vantasstic
'FPV'er...not a "LOS'er
Vantasstic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by LazyZero View Post
Kkflashtool doesn't touch the fuses. You just need to select the right firmware according to the spreadsheet posted in post #1.

Best Christian
Thanks. Your program was the easiest to use when flashing my KK boards. Thanks for developing it...much, much simplier.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:53 PM
Nek is offline
Nek
Find More Posts by Nek
Nek
DIY O.G.
Nek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2400RDR View Post
Folks-

Much water has been under the bridge in the short time (but many pages) since this thread has begun. It seems like most of the necessary info is in the first post, but the download instructions don't jibe. I'm assuming that I go to the downloads area, get the most recent zip file, extract tgy.hex from there and use it to flash my tgy compatible ESC.

Would that be correct?

Rick

PS- I imagine what I'm asking has been elucidated somewhere in these 207 pages, but I figure it's more efficient to ask rather than trying to filter the whole thread.
Yes it is, github has changed it's layout since then so the first post is a bit confusing regarding the download page, but I figured people will/should manage on their own, or they are in for many more problems when actually doing the flashing

Good luck with your ESC
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:18 PM
2400RDR is offline
Find More Posts by 2400RDR
Out of helis, sanity returning
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nek View Post
Yes it is, github has changed it's layout since then so the first post is a bit confusing regarding the download page, but I figured people will/should manage on their own, or they are in for many more problems when actually doing the flashing

Good luck with your ESC
Thanks NEK- just wanted to make sure before I let the magic smoke out of anything. "Measure twice, cut once" you know.

Rick
Old Apr 03, 2012, 05:58 PM
mamba max1 is offline
Find More Posts by mamba max1
Registered User
mamba max1's Avatar
Just flashed x4 Hobby King SS 18-20A esc's with the tp.hex file. Once I got the first one done, the next three were easy (well, aside from my iron dying on me ughhh). All work so far. Will be putting them on my quad in 1-2 weeks (or when ever my things from China show up)


Word of advise to those with old eyes, get an esc with the little tabs. You do not want to solder on the ATML chip pins. I have excellent vision, and I really really had to look verrry close. haha
Old Apr 03, 2012, 07:13 PM
wingspinner is offline
Find More Posts by wingspinner
Registered User
Ok, found that MT3506 motors seem to like "High" timing on the ESC. Simon, is it possible for you to generate a .hex with the equivalent of "High" timing? I downloaded all the AVR tools and then started looking at your code and realized I'm spending a lot of time spinning up on all the AVR stuff when all I need is to change a couple of values in your code. Would be great if you could assist on that!

Thx,
Ron
Old Apr 03, 2012, 07:43 PM
pug398 is offline
Find More Posts by pug398
Registered User
Has anyone here flashed 12s 120A opto esc? Maybe the ZTW or erc brand?

timecop you know anything about them?
Old Apr 03, 2012, 08:40 PM
simonk is offline
Find More Posts by simonk
hacker
Quote:
Originally Posted by wingspinner View Post
Ok, found that MT3506 motors seem to like "High" timing on the ESC. Simon, is it possible for you to generate a .hex with the equivalent of "High" timing? I downloaded all the AVR tools and then started looking at your code and realized I'm spending a lot of time spinning up on all the AVR stuff when all I need is to change a couple of values in your code. Would be great if you could assist on that!
Hello! I have had a few requests for this, so I will try it, but I don't really think it's going to fix it entirely, even if it does help. I think stock firmwares typically use repeating timers for commutation and update them after several zero-crossings, which can work around one or a couple of erroneous crossing detections. My tree and quax' original code always waits for the crossing before starting the timing wait and then commutation. So, it might help because the demagnetization might take less and cause less interference with the zero-crossing detection, but if it's possible to avoid being misled by it to begin with, this would be a better solution. More soon..
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:14 PM
lipus is offline
Find More Posts by lipus
Registered User
can anyone help me identify theses ESCs?

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=3096
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:21 PM
timecop is offline
Find More Posts by timecop
Suspended Account
They look good. Nfet design.
Do your homework and trace the gate signals.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:36 PM
wingspinner is offline
Find More Posts by wingspinner
Registered User
Hi Simon,
Today I, reluctantly, changed out my Hobby King re-flashed 30 a ESC's for non-flashed units that were programmed with "HIGH" timing. No startup problems and no ticks, buzzes, etc. This may not be all of the problem but it's demonstrated to me that it's a major portion of the problem with regards to the mt3506. I'd love to try your code with "HIGH" timing.

Cheers,
Ron

Quote:
Originally Posted by simonk View Post
Hello! I have had a few requests for this, so I will try it, but I don't really think it's going to fix it entirely, even if it does help. I think stock firmwares typically use repeating timers for commutation and update them after several zero-crossings, which can work around one or a couple of erroneous crossing detections. My tree and quax' original code always waits for the crossing before starting the timing wait and then commutation. So, it might help because the demagnetization might take less and cause less interference with the zero-crossing detection, but if it's possible to avoid being misled by it to begin with, this would be a better solution. More soon..
Old Apr 03, 2012, 10:41 PM
lipus is offline
Find More Posts by lipus
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by timecop View Post
They look good. Nfet design.
Do your homework and trace the gate signals.
thanks tc

i'm an electronics ignorant, but i'll try to get help from a friend


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Rctimer 30A esc cutting out with KK board Efliernz Multirotor Talk 2 May 26, 2011 03:20 PM
Sold FS: Tricopter Parts- HK401b, Pentium 30A ESC, rctimer 750kv motors pwu_1 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 2 Jan 18, 2011 10:58 PM
Sold RCTimer 2826-6 + ESC 30A New in packaging will trade as well Pics Added! planebldr Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2010 10:54 PM
Discussion RCTimer 30A Programmable ESC hunter7193 Power Systems 8 Jan 02, 2010 03:27 PM
For Sale Several New ESC's - 10a, 20a, 30a - Reduced Callen9345 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Apr 20, 2009 03:31 PM