Sep 07, 2011, 06:12 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

How to set up the tail properly?

I've been flying my T-Rex 500 for over 2 years now, always in HH mode, and have no complaints about how the tail holds in that mode. I'm aware that I haven't set my tail up properly, for if I ever forget to switch to HH mode before I lift off, the heli spins uncontrollably as soon as it's light on its skids (in time for me to realise what's wrong, stop it, and switch to HH mode).

So, can someone point me to a simple guide as to how I should set things up properly, please?
to remove ads between posts
Sep 07, 2011, 06:17 AM
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by abenn
I've been flying my T-Rex 500 for over 2 years now, always in HH mode, and have no complaints about how the tail holds in that mode. I'm aware that I haven't set my tail up properly, for if I ever forget to switch to HH mode before I lift off, the heli spins uncontrollably as soon as it's light on its skids (in time for me to realise what's wrong, stop it, and switch to HH mode).

So, can someone point me to a simple guide as to how I should set things up properly, please?
It's very easy. Set the gyro into rate mode and make note of which way the heli wants to spin in hover. Adjust the servo and mount on the boom whichever way forces the tail blades to counter this drift. This may take several test hovers to get right but adjust until you have the drift out as best you can mechanically while in rate mode.

Switch back into HH mode and go fly.
Sep 07, 2011, 08:57 AM
Thread OP
Thanks Xrayted. What I've been doing after every crash requiring a boom replacement, is to simply adjust the servo position until the tail rotor slider looks centralised, so I'm probably not too far off.

I'll follow your instructions next time I go to the flying field.
Sep 07, 2011, 09:34 AM
xrayted is right but I will add that you obviously keep the servo arm at 90 deg while you do it and you can use a touch of sub trim if needed to get it perfect.