Aug 30, 2011, 06:20 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Sterling B-15M Chris Craft Corvette

Hello all,

Starting a new build thread for the Sterling 42' Corvette. I have been working off and on for a few years and recently decided to go full speed ahead. At the time when I framed up the hull I wasn't aware of the MACK products for power and running gear. Consequently I have had to do some work arounds to reinforce the shaft log areas (different shaft angle). Thanks to 42Corvette and FrankG I know what to do now. Not real pretty but it will be covered up later. I have left the bow planking and side sheeting untrimmed to protect the edges from hanger rash (handling) until I'm ready to sheet the bottom. I know the instructions say to sheet the bottom before installing the running gear but for me it is much easier to dry fit the running gear and confirm everything will work dimensionally before I button it up. I have checked for longitudinal twist with levels fore and aft and all is still right on. With the heavy reinforcing I think I will be OK. Also included a pic of the build fixture I used to frame the hull. The keel fits in the center blocks and frame F9 sits on support blocks. In the pic the bow won't sit down in the blocks because I installed a lower bow plank. The 3/4 plywood base serves as a surface plate to align and locate the frames, chines and sheers. Anyway here are the pics and look foeward to your inputs. Much more to come.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 05, 2011, 09:34 AM

TO: 61 Thompson

The reason they say (and I agree) that you fully finish the hull BEFORE installing the shafts and rudders, is because until then the hull shape can still creep (change). The instructions that come with MOST of these, where written by very skilled modelers. They may have tried several things, before coming to there recamendations. So unless you are a very experienced builder, I would tend to listen. Happy Building CB
Sep 05, 2011, 06:04 PM
Thread OP
Hello CaptCB,