This thread is privately moderated by YarSmythe, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Aug 30, 2011, 11:57 AM
Lee / RC Enthusiast
Thread OP
Build Log

Keith Spark's - Glow Dog

Promised my buddy (a year ago) to build his 6' Glow Dog in exchange for a GP Evader. He's waited long enough.

Keith's original build thread is here. When mine is completed, I'll post the final pics to his thread.

Keith has created a nice short kit. The plans and pre-cut pieces are first class. Is this for a beginner? Probably not. I've been building kits for many years and this one is testing me right from the start. I'm sure it'll turn out great. I'm taking my time....mainly because I don't want to hand over a piece of crap to my buddy. He'd never forgive me.

Oh yea, this sucker uses a LOT of LED lights. I've seen Keith's plane up close (and at night) and it is awesome. Not sure I'll install as many as he used...but enough to make this thing turn some heads.

Here's what we have so far.

-Lee
Latest blog entry: For your viewing pleasure
to remove ads between posts
Sep 03, 2011, 09:02 AM
Lee / RC Enthusiast
Thread OP
The formers were quite difficult to keep straight during the attachment of the sides. I have a slight twist at the end that I'm hoping will even out once all the top/bottom sheeting is applied.

Here is the FIRST piece of sheeting I made for the belly. Took me nearly 15 minutes to shape & trim. On the plus side, it fits perfectly. Only 10+ to make.
Sep 03, 2011, 09:53 AM
Terry Dunn
Looking good Lee!
Sep 04, 2011, 08:04 AM
Lee / RC Enthusiast
Thread OP
All these compound foam curves make me yearn for the days of sheeting a plane in balsa. Flat sheets laid across a square frame...sand down the corners. TA DA!!