Thread Tools
Aug 28, 2011, 01:58 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Discussion

Spektrum DX8 - Not yet 1yrs and yet another Problem.


Well just like the title says, not even a year old and I got another problem with it.

Mine was one of the 400 hundred that went back but it went back prior to the DSMX release and so the work to those 400 (mine) was done but not explained to me what for. (Found out later when DSMX came out)

I was there for my Flashing DSM2 receiver led that I knew had to do with the radio but was told different by HH. The service bulletin came out and it had to go back.

Well now it was working good until today. A while ago I taught my radio had rebooted but since I was just on the bench messing around I taught nothing of it. Today rebuilding a crashed plane (pilot error for sure) I notice it rebooted AGAIN but this time I taught maybe it was the LIPO pack and so I change back to stock pack and now can duplicate every time.

Here is what I am talking about. Video speaks for itself. At the very end, the hand gesture is not to point at something but to show how I am currently feeling, the other gesture I wanted to use would not of been PG rated.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cYZweHXh0jA
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 28, 2011, 02:05 PM
Registered User
Looks like a bad battery connection. Possibly between a pair of cells.
Aug 28, 2011, 02:06 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Checked and not the cause.
Quote:
I notice it rebooted AGAIN but this time I taught maybe it was the LIPO pack and so I change back to stock pack and now can duplicate every time.
It's something inside in that area of the radio, this is the most sensitive spot to tap it that causes a reboot.
Aug 28, 2011, 02:29 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Well it looks like I found the problem and the problem would not of been from manufacturer but straight from Horizon Service Center. I guess when the work on the radios and need to replace the gimbals they DISCONNECT the ribbon connector linking the back side of the radio to the rest of the radio. That ribbon on the radio's side was not fully seated, SHAME on you HH Service center, this could of cost me a plane.

Luckily all its going to cost is new double sided tape to re-attached the rubber grips. Anyone know where to get that stuff?
Aug 28, 2011, 02:34 PM
Registered User
BigGuyJT's Avatar
That really is bummer freechip. I remember another guy having a problem similar to that. It started when he first got it back though. I think it was a loose ribbon cable or something along those lines.
Aug 28, 2011, 02:36 PM
Registered User
BigGuyJT's Avatar
I'm glad you figured it out. I started typing, got up to do something really quick and there was your post lol!
Aug 28, 2011, 02:37 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
I just need that tape now.
Aug 28, 2011, 03:22 PM
Registered User
way to go freechip!

I am afraid I can't help you with the double sided tape, but could you use something else? Glue, perhaps hot glue? CA?
Aug 28, 2011, 03:26 PM
Registered User
Double sided Scotch tape available at any office supply place
Aug 28, 2011, 03:35 PM
Glad you found it and it was a simple fix. Perhaps things are a bit too rushed at the service center and mistakes are getting made.
Aug 28, 2011, 03:52 PM
Registered User
seefest's Avatar
3M double sided tape for automotive trim?
Aug 28, 2011, 03:52 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by schooner2000
Glad you found it and it was a simple fix. Perhaps things are a bit too rushed at the service center and mistakes are getting made.
I won't comment on what goes on there, was pretty peed off when it started acting weird on me, voltage would drop on the display and then come back, then it started rebooting. Glad it was an easy fix.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hugh P
Double sided Scotch tape available at any office supply place
Thanks for the info, Andy emailed me couple minutes earlier.

Just got back and it does work nicely.
Aug 28, 2011, 03:53 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by seefest
3M double sided tape for automotive trim?
got some of that and its too thick.
Aug 28, 2011, 05:31 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
All fixed. I recommend DX8 owners who had there units serviced for the DSMX-DSM2 & Gimbal issues to check there radios. Gentle tap along the bottom right corner, if it reset then you may have the same going on inside with lose cables.

Spektrum DX8 (0 min 20 sec)
Aug 28, 2011, 06:35 PM
Registered User
seefest's Avatar
I'm surprised the "Spektrum Groupies" haven't been on here yet claiming that this was "user error"(obviously its not). LOL

I think if I was one of the "unlucky 400", I would sell that transmitter and buy a new one.
I wouldn't have any confidence in that radio.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Yet another Easy Star first flight hucker Foamies (Kits) 1 Jul 04, 2011 07:35 AM
Discussion And yet another E-starter question aclinml Electric Plane Talk 5 Jun 25, 2011 09:39 PM
Discussion spektrum dx8 + AR500 RX problem robert14 Hand Launch 7 May 15, 2011 07:08 PM
Discussion Yet another DX8 issue (beeps and chirps) basser Radios 5 Jan 04, 2011 01:14 AM