This thread is privately moderated by MuscleCBT, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Aug 23, 2011, 01:37 PM
MuscleCBT
Thread OP
Discussion

Line of sight...

Well, THAT made a big difference! After having Lasix eye surgery 14 years ago I went a long while without wearing glasses. After all, they corrected about 80 to 90% of the far-sightedness and astigmatism, who needed glasses anymore? Yeah, you can see this coming (sorry) but after breaking down and finally going to the eye doc and getting glasses to correct that last 10 to 20%, I'm a much better pilot. Depth perception is much improved too--great for flying next to the cliff at Pacifica. No more incipient death-walks down the hill to find the latest crash. Also, it's much more relaxing to fly out looking for lift and not be afraid of a dumb-thumb landing. Clark Kent rules!

More eye stuff...

Before I got these glasses though, I started the habit of putting the white/dark/white/dark pattern on the bottom of my glider wings. Not that I'm any kind of F3f slope racer but it helps a ton with depth perception at distance. Also, for combat glider (ZAGIs and such) here over the southern San Francisco cliffs, I put red on the top of my right wing and yellow over the top of my left wing. Doesn't look all that good close-up, but at 45 yards away it helps to know exactly which side is which on a flying wing to in to show (instantly) how to fly out of a collision.