New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 25, 2012, 08:01 AM
jdubg23 is offline
Find More Posts by jdubg23
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by n411x View Post
Has anyone been able to preform the spinning top ie the very fast flat spin that is on the advertisement video ????
i have done it a couple times.... havent been able to repeat the stick movements though, you have to hold a little elevator i think...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 25, 2012, 07:10 PM
jdubg23 is offline
Find More Posts by jdubg23
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
when you really get it goin it almost maintains altitude in the spin
Old Jan 26, 2012, 01:45 AM
dbgood is offline
Find More Posts by dbgood
Fly Fast!
dbgood's Avatar

Retracts


Hey guys,
Do you think i can put the eflite retract 15-25 size on my Scimitar that i
have lying around?
I know they call for the 10-15 size,seems like the only difference
is the strut size goes 3mm to 3.5 for the 15-25 series.
Bending the nose strut looks like a pain to fit it in the wheel opening.
Weight also looks about the same as on the horizonhobby site.
Maybe i can put the 15-25 on it soon..
Let me know what you think,
thanks guys,
Dan
DB
Old Jan 26, 2012, 07:01 AM
rcpilot23 is offline
Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Got my scimitar today with the eflite retracts

just found out I need to buy the scimitar front retract strut. EFL1018017




Do I have to use the optional scimitar front strut?
Last edited by rcpilot23; Jan 26, 2012 at 07:08 AM.
Old Jan 26, 2012, 08:36 AM
jdubg23 is offline
Find More Posts by jdubg23
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcpilot23 View Post
Got my scimitar today with the eflite retracts

just found out I need to buy the scimitar front retract strut. EFL1018017




Do I have to use the optional scimitar front strut?
the only difference in the struts is the scimitar strut is "bent" you can easily bend the strut that is included with the retracts and save $5
Old Jan 26, 2012, 12:29 PM
nioa is offline
Find More Posts by nioa
More Motors, More Fun... :-)
nioa's Avatar
I concur. I was disappointed in the EFL1018017. It is easy to cut down the strut that comes with the retract set and bend your own custom strut.

If the EFL1018017 had the "flats" cut into it for mounting the wheel axle, then it might be worth it, as the flats need to be accurately cut. Honestly, I don't know why Horizon bothered. The EFL1018017 I bought didn't even line up the wheel correctly, it was tilted!

Nick
Old Jan 26, 2012, 04:22 PM
rcpilot23 is offline
Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Ok thanks guys for the info.

Turns out that the strut is not even in stock in australia anyway.

So problem solved thanks.


Just need to get a day here in Perth that is not 42 degrees C so I can fly it.
Old Jan 26, 2012, 06:24 PM
crashguru is offline
Find More Posts by crashguru
Registered User
crashguru's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by nioa View Post
I concur. I was disappointed in the EFL1018017. It is easy to cut down the strut that comes with the retract set and bend your own custom strut.

If the EFL1018017 had the "flats" cut into it for mounting the wheel axle, then it might be worth it, as the flats need to be accurately cut. Honestly, I don't know why Horizon bothered. The EFL1018017 I bought didn't even line up the wheel correctly, it was tilted!

Nick
I think it was tilted to clear the steering pushrod when in the retracted position. It was tilted way too far in my opinion. it looked silly when it was in the down position. I ended up taking the regular retract strut, bending it and cutting it straight. It works like a charm and just misses the steering pushrod. Don't bother buying the special strut!
Old Jan 26, 2012, 06:46 PM
pylot2b is offline
Find More Posts by pylot2b
Registered User
I agree. I modified the stock strut bent a 45 and used a dremel to grind the flats and trim off the extra length. It lasted one flight when mine crashed on it's maiden. I think I am one and done on this plane. Too expensive to replace an airframe. I had high hopes for this plane! Still not sure what happened to mine.

I will probably sell the spare parts. Motor and a few of the servos are still good. Wings seem to be fine.
Old Jan 26, 2012, 08:42 PM
jdubg23 is offline
Find More Posts by jdubg23
half-ass Astronaut
jdubg23's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pylot2b View Post
I agree. I modified the stock strut bent a 45 and used a dremel to grind the flats and trim off the extra length. It lasted one flight when mine crashed on it's maiden. I think I am one and done on this plane. Too expensive to replace an airframe. I had high hopes for this plane! Still not sure what happened to mine.

I will probably sell the spare parts. Motor and a few of the servos are still good. Wings seem to be fine.
unless im mistaken you can get all new foam parts for under $150... if you already got 320-400 into it might as well fix it for 150
Old Jan 26, 2012, 09:07 PM
pylot2b is offline
Find More Posts by pylot2b
Registered User
I priced it about $180 plus a few servos and 2 retracts. Well over $200. Not sure if I am going to get back on this horse. Maybe in time. But to watch $550 snap spin violently from 200' into the ground will be hard to recover from!
Old Jan 27, 2012, 09:49 AM
jhroof is offline
Find More Posts by jhroof
Registered User
I have telemetry setup on my Scimitar. The other day I was flying it and the alarm started going off. I landed without problems and found it was the Rx voltage alarm that was sounding. The voltage was reading 4.2. The alarm is set at 4.8. The voltage dropped when I increased the throttle. This was a good battery with a fresh charge and the voltage on the battery was way above the alarm voltage. I haven't had time to recheck everything with a voltmeter just to verify. Is it possible some of these ESC's may have a bad BEC circuit? I could go with a separate BEC, but I don't know if I trust the ESC. I have telemetry setup on other planes and I have never had the Rx voltage alarm go off.
Old Jan 27, 2012, 09:57 AM
pylot2b is offline
Find More Posts by pylot2b
Registered User
Very interesting find! Wondering if that's what happened to mine. I can't go back and check because the ESC was damaged in the crash. Wondering if I have cause enough to call Horizon about it.
Old Jan 27, 2012, 10:12 AM
jhroof is offline
Find More Posts by jhroof
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pylot2b View Post
Very interesting find! Wondering if that's what happened to mine. I can't go back and check because the ESC was damaged in the crash. Wondering if I have cause enough to call Horizon about it.
I would give them a call. I had a plane crash several years ago because of an elevator that came loose. They sent me a new plane at no charge. Of course they may want the old one back or what is left of it.
Old Jan 27, 2012, 10:23 AM
rcpilot23 is offline
Find More Posts by rcpilot23
Registered User
rcpilot23's Avatar
Has anyone needed to balance the prop?


Mine seems to be well balanced.


Thread Tools