Thread Tools
Mar 24, 2012, 12:27 AM
Registered User
marchino65's Avatar
Hi,
looking at the source (config.h), I noticed that the speed of the connection to the GPS is set to fixed.

/ / ----------- GPS --------------
# define GPS_BAUD 4800
# define GPS_UBRR (F_CPU/16/GPS_BAUD-1)
# define GPS_MAX_CHARS 11

You can make a routine that automatically determines the speed configured on the GPS? (type Remzibi)

Marco
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 24, 2012, 01:26 AM
Youtube: TomRi25
Dr.Tom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj
2 Dr.Tom: Good that you found a solution, but it's a bit weird that you only can use 22 chars...
What type of camera are you using?
Thanks for the beer btw, sorry I wasn't any help...
I use a GoProHD cam.

Can you please compile the version with:
-PAL
-metric units
-GPS II speed fix enabled
-2Hz screen refresh

I think it might work, because the one you compiled originally works even if it has more than 22 chars (but hasn't got 2Hz & speedfix for new osd)
but I can't figure what am I doing wrong....
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1249

Thank you very much,
Last edited by Dr.Tom; Mar 24, 2012 at 03:24 AM.
Mar 24, 2012, 06:09 AM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchino65
Hi,
thanks for the utility, but I think it takes a signal converter TTL/RS232 to connect to your PC. Correct?

Marco
FTDI see http://www.robotgear.com.au/Product.aspx/Details/473 There are also other tuts on diydrones site

edit from seller --- If you just want to quickly test the module here are some tips:


1. Connect VCC to a source between 3.3V and 5V.
2. Connect at least one GND pad
3. Connect Vbackup to VCC if it's below 4.3V, or a coin cell otherwise. The module will not start without this!
4. Leave the other pads unconnected except TX, on which GPS data will arrive at 9600bps (if your host is not using 3.3V logic please use a buffer).


Frank
Last edited by frank48; Mar 24, 2012 at 07:28 AM. Reason: added quick test
Mar 24, 2012, 06:37 AM
Suspended Account
selling original G-OSD with RSSI buffer(lm358 and resistors plus 108 picofarad cap hot glued in a nice glob) for $60 + shipping to people who don't want to flash themselves.

just let me know what parameters you want(metric, 2Hz etc) and i will flash it. also i already tuned the trim pots for V1, V2 and RSSI(that is a pain too) so they read what my voltmeter says.

right now I replaced the RSSI percentage output with voltage(so you see 12.6v 12.6v 3.3v under batt1/batt2/rssi if your volts were at that) and it is in metric with 2Hz update rate with NTSC output
Mar 24, 2012, 10:16 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchino65
Hi,
but it is better than to have the Breakout Board ?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Micro-GPS-...ht_3107wt_1270
Hi
i have the G-osd falshed with CL-OSD all worked fine but my GPS module just died have a "burnt" smell
will this module work ? have anyone tried it?
Mar 24, 2012, 12:51 PM
Registered User
marchino65's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48
Ok guys, anyone getting one of these might find this utility useful to set the update rates etc.

Frank
Hi,
The attached program is a viewer only, this link configures ports, hz and speed
http://www.robotgear.com.au/Cache/Fi...iniGPS_1.4.zip
Home page
http://www.robotgear.com.au/Product.aspx/Details/473

Ciao
Mar 24, 2012, 01:15 PM
Went to mow a meadow
frank48's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by marchino65
Hi,
The attached program is a viewer only, this link configures ports, hz and speed
http://www.robotgear.com.au/Cache/Fi...iniGPS_1.4.zip
Home page
http://www.robotgear.com.au/Product.aspx/Details/473

Ciao
Hi

I think you will find the link you quote is an old version 1.4 which does not support 10hz configuration,

I attached v1.7 which is a config utility and does support 10hz refresh. I think you may have just run the program and not read the attached manual, you need to press ctrl/alt/s to enter setup mode

Quote:
Mini GPS has 5 function pages. Each page has its own feature. Now introduce Mini GPS
depends on each page in the following. The default function page is Status and About.
The user can press CTRL+ALT+S for the function pages on/off
Cheers
Frank
Mar 24, 2012, 01:33 PM
CL-OSD developer
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Tom
I use a GoProHD cam.

Can you please compile the version with:
-PAL
-metric units
-GPS II speed fix enabled
-2Hz screen refresh

I think it might work, because the one you compiled originally works even if it has more than 22 chars (but hasn't got 2Hz & speedfix for new osd)
but I can't figure what am I doing wrong....
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1249

Thank you very much,
Strange that several persons are having problems compiling the code...
Here is you files, try and see if it works.
Mar 25, 2012, 12:47 AM
Registered User
marchino65's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank48
Hi

I think you will find the link you quote is an old version 1.4 which does not support 10hz configuration,

I attached v1.7 which is a config utility and does support 10hz refresh. I think you may have just run the program and not read the attached manual, you need to press ctrl/alt/s to enter setup mode



Cheers
Frank
Hi,
I'm sorry you're right

Marco
Mar 25, 2012, 04:25 AM
Registered User
RocketMouse's Avatar
Help please!
I can not find in WIKI how Auto set home position works?
Mar 25, 2012, 07:44 AM
Youtube: TomRi25
Dr.Tom's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj
Strange that several persons are having problems compiling the code...
Here is you files, try and see if it works.
Thank you very very much!
It works




but why do some of us constantly get those wrong display figures, even without changing anything in the code before compiling?
and on page 84 there is a video of a whole procedure of compiling and flashing, nothing seems to be wrong.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1249
is there some more tweaking needed in AVR?
Are you doing something more in AVR than cleaning solution, editing the code for some minor changes, and then building one for desired atmel chip? because your files work!

I'm looking forward to 'learn how to catch fish, not only to eat a given fish'
because I would like to customize the osd for my needs, move numbers closer to edges for gopro use(it has black bars and visibility is much better there)

something like this
Code:
#define TEXT_TRIG_LINES_LIST 25, 38, 130, 160, 275, 300
Last edited by Dr.Tom; Mar 25, 2012 at 07:49 AM.
Mar 25, 2012, 08:44 AM
Registered User
alex_007's Avatar
Hello,

HK says we can use this E-OSD under 3S, but it's really the case? Can we use it with 4S?
Mar 25, 2012, 11:58 AM
Registered User
i tested one with 4s, it only works on batt2
Mar 25, 2012, 01:03 PM
CL-OSD developer
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex_007
Hello,

HK says we can use this E-OSD under 3S, but it's really the case? Can we use it with 4S?
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnygogo
i tested one with 4s, it only works on batt2
Just testing around works but it's better to do some calculations.

The voltage regulator is a 78L05 and that has an absolute maximum input voltage of 30 V, a voltage drop of 1.7V and a maximum current of 0.1A .
Let's say that the board draws 50mA.

The power needed to be burnt is (30-5-1.7)*0.1 = 2.33W. Does not sound like much but might heat up the board after a while. For 4S the power would be ((4*4.2)-5-1.7)*0.1 = 1.01 W. And for 2S it would be 0.17 W.

So for 4S the power would be 6 times higher! More voltage to burn => more heat!

One could also start calculating the thermal properties but lets not go there... :-)
Mar 25, 2012, 01:09 PM
CL-OSD developer
Thread OP
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Tom
Thank you very very much!
It works


but why do some of us constantly get those wrong display figures, even without changing anything in the code before compiling?
and on page 84 there is a video of a whole procedure of compiling and flashing, nothing seems to be wrong.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1249
is there some more tweaking needed in AVR?
Are you doing something more in AVR than cleaning solution, editing the code for some minor changes, and then building one for desired atmel chip? because your files work!

I'm looking forward to 'learn how to catch fish, not only to eat a given fish'
because I would like to customize the osd for my needs, move numbers closer to edges for gopro use(it has black bars and visibility is much better there)

something like this
Code:
#define TEXT_TRIG_LINES_LIST 25, 38, 130, 160, 275, 300
I think the problem is that something is different in our setup. A different compiler could give these types of problems. The code do not work with the compiler used in WinAVR for instance. Since the code is very time critical even a small change can break it. I wish it was a bit more stable but right now it a bit shaky.

Could you compile a clean trunk build on your side and send me the whole G-OSD folder inside the cl-osd folder?


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Drone Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM