Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Dec 22, 2011, 03:10 AM
Registered User
Hello
I need help please!
I just received my GPS module from DX.
And I don't know how to connect it to my E-OSD.
Please post some pictures showing the pin layout of the GPS and the OSD
Thanks
Eran
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Dec 22, 2011, 08:20 AM
Registered User
mark963's Avatar
...
Last edited by mark963; Dec 22, 2011 at 08:38 AM.
Dec 22, 2011, 01:19 PM
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by leprud View Post
Yep, these modules (and nearby) are excellent for CL-OSD (4800, 1Hz, NMEA). Don't forget to get antenna also!
I salvaged mine Lassen iQ from car alarm, also tried module from cheap usb-gps.

This is how i attached all together (used glb's 3$ "for bluetooth" board for 3.3V and as plate support for gps module), stock gps antenna with magnetic base and 3m cable was stripped to this size.
Attachment 4338074 Attachment 4338075
Leprud,

I got the same Lassen IQ module and just ordered a GPS antenna from DX, in order to do this mod like you did.

Can you please explain how did you wire everything up ?
Dec 23, 2011, 12:11 PM
FPV! and nothing else matters.
guy1a's Avatar
not getting any fix for the GPS...

how can i debug to see if the GPS is sending data / the device is receiving data ?
Dec 23, 2011, 03:11 PM
Suspended Account
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UPVfM...endscreen&NR=1

LOS is wrong sometimes when i'm right overhead. for example altitude will be 1200m and LOS only is 800m or so.
Dec 25, 2011, 01:21 PM
RC pilot by soul
Guys,

Does any one of the new versions of CL-OSD support a current sensor already ?
Dec 25, 2011, 01:58 PM
Suspended Account
idk man i havent flashed mine for a couple weeks. happy with my setup as of now.
Dec 26, 2011, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Joern's Avatar
Hi,

i had my first fpv flight with the cl-osd firmware on G-OSD II. It was fantastic. Thanks for the great work! We hat grey sky and it was cloudy - so it was difficult to read the upper line and the home arrow, because it was white text on a grey background. So my question. Can i change the color of different lines and of the home arrow from white to black? This would help a lot.

Regards
Joern
Dec 26, 2011, 06:03 PM
Suspended Account
no i dont think so but youbcan move stuff to the bottom in layout.h
Dec 27, 2011, 04:30 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joern View Post
So my question. Can i change the color of different lines and of the home arrow from white to black? This would help a lot.
Because of the way E-OSD and G-OSD are designed and work it is not possible.
Dec 27, 2011, 06:37 AM
Registered User

Success with update-Rate >1Hz?


Does anybody successfully use an update rate of 2Hz or more for E-OSD and GPS?. Do you see less latency than at 1Hz? (eg. for home arrow)? What is the highest rate you have successfully tried?

I tried 4Hz for OSD-Loop and GPS Globaltop PA6C GPS @9600 baud. I limited GPS-Messages to GGA and RMC so it used about 70% of Bandwidth @9600. Result: Sometimes very strange values are displayed (e.g. 110 satellites are tracked) - I guess it is transmit-errors. Has anybody else seen this behaviour?
Dec 28, 2011, 05:28 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by zonk_1976 View Post
Guys,
I recently bought a second hand GPS unit (SIRFIII) that had a default firmware locked to 19200bps. Since I wanted to use it with my e-osd, I had 2 possibilities :
1. Set the cl-osd code to use 19200bps
2. Change the GPS unit baud rate to 4800

Trying option 1, I faced the same problem related in post 588 by Davico : The cl-osd code obviously looses some caracters at that speed and displayed data is terribly inconsistent.
....
Hi Zonk,

My issue (588) turned out to be an actual bug with the initialisation of the AVR UART, it was fixed in r66. I have been running CL-OSD with my GPS at 38400 baud with no issues since then. Note that I am using the DIYD/APM code, rather than the NMEA code, though I'm pretty sure I tested NMEA at 38400 also.

Dave
Dec 28, 2011, 10:58 PM
Registered User
Not quite sure how to use the google code stuff, so I thought I'd post here just in case. I ordered a g-osdII from hk. Is there any way to implement an rpm sensor? I could use battery 1 as battery, battery 2 as rpm, and input 3 as rssi...

I also read earlier in the thread that the 3rd pot does nothing with the new firmware, is that still true?

This is an awesome project, I'm looking for ways to contribute too . Big thanks to all the authors!
Dec 29, 2011, 07:09 AM
MyFlyDream
erazotropa's Avatar
Hi all, i have been out for a while.. are there any latest good fixes of the G-OSD firmware?
I have got my G-OSDII today, and want to flash it with the latest firmware + fixes..
Dec 29, 2011, 07:41 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
what fixes do you need?
it still cannot predict your next turn


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Drone Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM