Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Aug 18, 2011, 02:33 PM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by actionplus View Post
Well, send your board to me with a uC, and I will replace it for you, free of charge
WHats the cost of the Atmega 32 ?

Edit: on Ebay its about 7$ with shipping included. not a bad choice really !
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 18, 2011, 04:49 PM
esreis is offline
Find More Posts by esreis
Registered User
callelj: I think I got it.

Calculates distance and bearing, returns sin & cos directly. is very small, should fit.

Will test some more, and send you. Only good for small distances (few km)
Old Aug 18, 2011, 04:52 PM
Slaphappysamy is offline
Find More Posts by Slaphappysamy
Registered User
I think the point is he wants to use the existing hardware. Why stop at using a better uC . It makes no sense to replace the existing uC, because once you have reached that point why even bother using the stock pcb. Desgin a new PCB based on the capabilites of your new uC. Now you are no longer improving an available piece of hardware but creating your own osd system. I would rather just buy a OSD system than go through all of that. I have a few highend OSD systems and I also just purchased the G-osd to play with.

I believe the idea is to take the cheapo HK hardware and make something useful out of it with better coding. Thats admirable and Im looking forward to seeing what he comes up with.
Old Aug 18, 2011, 06:09 PM
schumixmd is online now
Find More Posts by schumixmd
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Hi callelj,

I just uploaded the hex to my E-OSD. it is ok, but i face some problems.
First one is the the image is static..
second one is that my camera is NTSC
third is that there are interference.. if I put the hand close to E-OSD then I start to see some values of battery one.. to see the arrow is moving 360 degree.. but have very distorsioned picture and some times.. black and white..

can you add the NTSC support to it.. then i will start to play with the rest..

and yes... I think that the onboard led should be switched on, otherwise is hard to understand if the osd is on or off..
Old Aug 19, 2011, 05:17 AM
callelj is offline
Find More Posts by callelj
CL-OSD developer
schumixmd: Hmm, does not sound so good. I haven't tested the latest E-OSD hex I uploaded since i'm focusing on G-OSD right now.

NTSC is on the todo list but I have less time to work on this project right now. :-/

I have seen the interference bug before. I really don't know if it's a hardware error or a software error. But it might have to do with the fact that plastic cover has been removed. I really don't know. It would be interesting to see if a stock board without the cover have the same problem.

Yes, the onboard led should light up on E-OSD. Adding that to todo list.
Old Aug 19, 2011, 05:52 AM
schumixmd is online now
Find More Posts by schumixmd
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
schumixmd: Hmm, does not sound so good. I haven't tested the latest E-OSD hex I uploaded since i'm focusing on G-OSD right now.

NTSC is on the todo list but I have less time to work on this project right now. :-/

I have seen the interference bug before. I really don't know if it's a hardware error or a software error. But it might have to do with the fact that plastic cover has been removed. I really don't know. It would be interesting to see if a stock board without the cover have the same problem.

Yes, the onboard led should light up on E-OSD. Adding that to todo list.
I do have the GOSD too.. but I'm flying with it, so I don't want to reprogram it right now, that's why I started with EOSD, and i'm thinking of what I said before, to add GPS compatibility to EOSD by soldering 2 pins on RX and TX pins from the atmega.

I think interferences could be because I didn't disconnected EOSD from arduino (I use arduino as avrisp), only V+ and GND.
Old Aug 19, 2011, 06:09 AM
i3dm is offline
Find More Posts by i3dm
RC pilot by soul
Keep up the good work guys ! you are doing good service to the entire FPV community.
Old Aug 19, 2011, 06:31 AM
callelj is offline
Find More Posts by callelj
CL-OSD developer
schumixmd: Ok, might be that.

I think I will try to move the characters from program space to the EEPROM instead. That might free up some program space. But it will require everyone to program the EEPROM as well.

I think I might have to add float but not use math.h but instead do my own functions using taylor series. But I don't know if it will fit... Hmm... Tricky...
Old Aug 19, 2011, 08:21 AM
esreis is offline
Find More Posts by esreis
Registered User
callelj: routine working so far, just covering corners of the envelope, should send you today.
Old Aug 19, 2011, 04:21 PM
callelj is offline
Find More Posts by callelj
CL-OSD developer
esreis: Sounds good, sent you an email...

I tried to move the characters to the eeprom but it was only 512 bytes so I could not fit it there. :-(
Might need to remove some characters but then I will need code to compensate for that...

Do anyone know how to see what takes up space in a program on AVR?
I remember that I could get a graph of it when programming PIC...
Old Aug 19, 2011, 04:22 PM
esreis is offline
Find More Posts by esreis
Registered User
callelj: Tried and failed to send the routine - messages have size limitation.

traded off speed for size, has slow functions, but is small. I don't think it could be a problem at 1Hz.

haven't received your email
Old Aug 19, 2011, 04:24 PM
callelj is offline
Find More Posts by callelj
CL-OSD developer
Sounds great, size optimization is better right now.
Sent the email like 5 min ago so might still get there. :-)
Old Aug 20, 2011, 02:16 AM
foot8sativa is offline
Find More Posts by foot8sativa
Registered User
foot8sativa's Avatar
could deleting the second voltage reading help to make space?
Old Aug 20, 2011, 11:37 AM
boopidoo is offline
Find More Posts by boopidoo
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
So what is needed to update the OSD with new firmware?
Old Aug 20, 2011, 12:32 PM
actionplus is online now
Find More Posts by actionplus
Registered User

avr programmer


Quote:
Originally Posted by boopidoo View Post
So what is needed to update the OSD with new firmware?
You will need a avr programmer.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 12:07 PM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 07:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 03:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 06:22 PM