Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Sep 11, 2011, 03:28 AM
CL-OSD developer
I did som tweeking of the code and now I get correct distance and bearing up to 100 km.
Don't see the point of going any further in the testing.
(Haven't uploaded that code yet...)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 11, 2011, 05:03 AM
Registered User
Distance is certainly more useful than just the GPS coordinates that G-OSD displays. Does it show in meters or fractions of a kilometer?

Is a way point working? Even something simple like an 8 position indicator using ascii characters? If so, can I turn off or comment out the GPS coordinates all-together to reduce on-screen info?

\|/
-0-
/|\
Sep 11, 2011, 05:10 AM
Registered User
Cid156's Avatar
If it is working fine, I think that hk will use your soft to update the osd
Sep 11, 2011, 07:21 AM
CL-OSD developer
patricklupo: Right now in meters or feet depending build options.
I have a "arrow home" even if it's right now just a circle with a line from the centre to the direction of home.
Sep 11, 2011, 02:06 PM
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
patricklupo: Right now in meters or feet depending build options.
I have a "arrow home" even if it's right now just a circle with a line from the centre to the direction of home.
Can you post some screen shots ?
Sep 11, 2011, 02:20 PM
Registered User
Freakazoid's Avatar
Starting to regret buying this OSD a little less now.
Keep up the good job Callelj!
Sep 11, 2011, 03:00 PM
CL-OSD developer
Freakazoid: Thanks!

i3dm: Still a bit of work in the progress but here is the current layout below.
Any suggestions?

My thought was to make the layout as customizable as possible but it's proving harden than I first thought.
But still there is some room to move things around a bit.
I have two sizes of characters, this is the big one and I also have one that is half the size in both width and height.
No mixing of the two sizes is possible, only one size can be used.
But I could make characters half the width, half the height or both. :-)
Sep 11, 2011, 04:12 PM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
Hi callelj.
My suggestion will be to separate 8S FIX somewhere away from distance(545M) this is not vital information. Let' say move 8S FIX to full right.
Sep 11, 2011, 08:21 PM
Registered User
what was the problem?
Sep 12, 2011, 02:51 AM
CL-OSD developer
schumixmd: Yes, that sound good.

esreis: When taking the square of the two deltas and adding them together they could overflow the uint32_t for long distances. Specially at 45 deg since both values get big.
Added a check before for that special case.
Precision will of course suffer a bit but at that distance the error would not be a problem.
Sep 12, 2011, 03:41 AM
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by callelj View Post
Freakazoid: Thanks!

i3dm: Still a bit of work in the progress but here is the current layout below.
Any suggestions?

My thought was to make the layout as customizable as possible but it's proving harden than I first thought.
But still there is some room to move things around a bit.
I have two sizes of characters, this is the big one and I also have one that is half the size in both width and height.
No mixing of the two sizes is possible, only one size can be used.
But I could make characters half the width, half the height or both. :-)
This is my suggestion. please excuse 1st grade graphics

for me personally there was a lot of un needed info on the screen (note smallet text too).
Sep 12, 2011, 04:24 AM
Registered User
+1 on I3DM's layout with smaller text, except I'd move the waypoint arrow to the bottom so I can focus on the scenery and only check the waypoint home when I'm panicking cause my lipo's low.

Calle, you really have a working waypoint arrow on the G-OSD?! Wow you get code optimizer of the year award.
Last edited by patricklupo; Sep 12, 2011 at 04:31 AM.
Sep 12, 2011, 04:34 AM
RC pilot by soul
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricklupo View Post
+1 on I3DM's layout with smaller text, except I'd move the waypoint arrow to the bottom so I can focus on the scenery and only check the waypoint home when I'm panicking cause my lipo's low.
.
good idea.
Sep 12, 2011, 04:42 AM
Registered User
schumixmd's Avatar
that look nice i3dm
Sep 12, 2011, 04:43 AM
Registered User
Parity's Avatar
Finally registerd here, but was working with cl-osd since callelj published the code.
I use cl-osd as well, and I am able to customize it to my likeing.
I prefere only little information at the moment, you can see my screen layout here:
Altitude, LOS-distance, Speed, Voltage and RSSI and home arrow.

Parity


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Super OSD ($90): Open Source Graphic OSD: Vario, 6xADC, Games, Datalog, Dual Video tom66 FPV Equipment 1928 May 24, 2014 11:07 AM
Discussion Open Source Remote Control System (OSRC) Gizmoman31 Radios 152 Apr 24, 2012 06:01 PM
Discussion Open source OSD for FPV UFO_MAN FPV Talk 75 Sep 07, 2011 02:03 PM
Question Open Source Octo Design Available...Looking for someonw who can cut a copy for me... Schatham421 Multirotor Drone Talk 14 Apr 12, 2011 05:22 PM