GPS tracker - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Aug 14, 2011, 08:44 AM
Discussion

GPS tracker

I've had this in the slow burn bucket for a couple of weeks... I finally got all the parts, and needed something to test out my toaster oven controller... After finishing the controller interface, I solder pasted the pads, stuck on the parts and poof... out came a complete GPS tracker.... I'll explain what that is in a minute...

First pictures.

Top with Pro mini basic processor interface, gps connector, power, lm1117/5v regulator and associated LED's... (you can never have enough of those). Interfaces to a radiometrix FM transmitter stick. SMA connector to antenna

Bottom with radiometrix TX module

in this test case a 7.4v lipo was used for power.

GPS interface via GS406 connector and associated cables... using in this case a mediaTek 3329 GPS from DIYDRONES in NMEA mode...

So what is a gps tracker?

Well, I'm an Amateur Radio licensee, and we use something called APRS to tracking vehicle, objects, airplanes, just about anything. It's a one way RF based protocol that is broadcast over VHF FM radio (144.390mhz in the US). The software is from the trackuino project with some tweaks by yours truly.

Basically I wanted a way to track my quad incase of a flyaway, or just the fun of seeing where it might go when it's on an autonomous flight .

To see more aprs... you can go to www.aprs.fi and see what is going on in your local environment or if you know a ham callsign that might use aprs, put it in, it's used all over the world for all kinds of things...

Anyway, figured I'd share

Alan
to remove ads between posts
Aug 14, 2011, 08:56 AM
WOW super cool
Aug 14, 2011, 08:56 AM
Tri-Quad-Hexa-Octo-copters!!
Hi Alan,
Nice job! Can you share more build and setup info and code please?
Cheers,
Jim
Quadrocopter and Tricopter Mega Link Index
Aug 14, 2011, 09:10 AM
very interessting!!
Aug 14, 2011, 12:35 PM