Thread Tools
Old Jan 08, 2012, 02:17 PM
badbill is offline
Find More Posts by badbill
Habitual Freeloader
badbill's Avatar
[QUOTE=cafecubain;20359268]
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbill View Post
Here are screenshots of my setup, and a video of the same Quad in position hold and return home. I have had no problems at all with gimble jitters.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141

hi badbill

what esc's and motors that you use? I curious because I have a same frame XAircraft.

thanks!
I'm using the stock XA motors with Maytech 30 amp esc's. Graupner 11-5 props.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
RCG Plus Member
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 08, 2012, 03:15 PM
GGoodrum is offline
Find More Posts by GGoodrum
Registered User
GGoodrum's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbill View Post
I have had no problems at all with gimble jitters.
One of the reasons you aren't noticing the "jitters" is because this mount has rotary dampeners, in each axis. I've noticed the same sort of jitter reduction with the MC6500PRO mount, which has similar dampeners. What also helps is the roughly 2:1 reduction in each axis. Still, if you look for it, you can still see the drifting, once the GPS is locked on.

I hear that DJI has identified the problem. It is because once the GPS data is factored in, it is causing a .1-.2 degree change in the IMU attitude data. they can fix this with a mod to the IMU firmware, but for obvious reasons, it would be much better to do something on the MC end to take care of this. A small, or maybe even settable, artificial dead-band adjustment for the gimbal outputs would certainly be one way. In any case, they are looking at this, so hopefully there will be a software update coming that will address this issue, sooner than later.

-- Gary
Old Jan 08, 2012, 03:20 PM
Rkopf is offline
Find More Posts by Rkopf
Registered User
I finally got the chance to go out and fly my hex for the first time, and I have to say that after trying to get an XA flying well, this was a dream. I powered it up and waited about 12 minutes for the 3 red blinks to go away, but they never did. I then flew around for a while in ATT mode, but I could never get any satellites, and just gave up after I went through 2 packs. It was a clear day in a big open field w/o obstructions or any nearby metal.

?????
Old Jan 08, 2012, 03:29 PM
matthewlavin is offline
Find More Posts by matthewlavin
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dronenor View Post
I am using Flight Mode and gear switch, this occupate only one channel, with this a have all tree nav modes on flight mode switch, and fail safe activating in each nav mode from gear switch

I have made 2 mixer setup for this, If someone intrested I can post pic taken of the diffrent mixing from my Spektrum Dx8
Please post a pic.
Old Jan 08, 2012, 03:30 PM
milo12 is offline
Find More Posts by milo12
Registered User
Nice job Gary, looks like your persistence paid off. Now that they have an idea what is causing the problem they should be able to fix it. I wonder how they didn't notice it while testing the new magic gimbal.
Old Jan 08, 2012, 03:46 PM
WaveV is offline
Find More Posts by WaveV
Registered User
Question? Is anyone using the primary battery to power there fpv setup?
Old Jan 08, 2012, 04:42 PM
Dronenor is offline
Find More Posts by Dronenor
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by badbill View Post
Here are screenshots of my setup, and a video of the same Quad in position hold and return home. I have had no problems at all with gimble jitters.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Aodv96McpE
Nice video!! I tried failsafe today with my Hexa, it flies like on rails, I can not say other than that I love this machine

But it seems that Dij have problems with the webpage server today, i like to try IOC?

My gimble works perfect too.
Old Jan 08, 2012, 04:55 PM
liteglow is offline
Find More Posts by liteglow
Registered User
I uploaded the new software 1.20 since the site is down.

http://www.sendspace.com/file/03wheh

try that :-)

cheers
Old Jan 08, 2012, 05:16 PM
Dronenor is offline
Find More Posts by Dronenor
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewlavin View Post
Please post a pic.
First you have to set travel adjust and then make 2 diffrent mixes, look at the picture att.

I hope DJI will come with pwm adjusted mode for all modes include IOC, then we need only use one singel channel for all modes. I have made 6 diffrent modes with this two switches earlier.

look in dji assistent for high lighted blue for every mode, if not trim a littel bit

I hope you enjoy it
Old Jan 08, 2012, 05:40 PM
liteglow is offline
Find More Posts by liteglow
Registered User
is IOC mode worth to use flying FPV ?

sorry to ask but I did not quite understand the meaning with IOC...
Old Jan 08, 2012, 05:57 PM
Paul@SCC is offline
Find More Posts by Paul@SCC
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
is IOC mode worth to use flying FPV ?

sorry to ask but I did not quite understand the meaning with IOC...
I don't think you would FPV with it enabled.
This guy has produced a nice vid with it in action.

http://m.youtube.com/index?desktop_u...?v=QXmCirSGBC8
Old Jan 08, 2012, 06:04 PM
cafecubain is offline
Find More Posts by cafecubain
Registered User
cafecubain's Avatar
[QUOTE=badbill;20359474]
Quote:
Originally Posted by cafecubain View Post

I'm using the stock XA motors with Maytech 30 amp esc's. Graupner 11-5 props.

Bill Davenport
AMA 28141
thanks!
Old Jan 08, 2012, 06:09 PM
Dronenor is offline
Find More Posts by Dronenor
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by liteglow View Post
is IOC mode worth to use flying FPV ?

sorry to ask but I did not quite understand the meaning with IOC...
Intelligent Orientation Control (IOC), or carefree (MK) is good if you fly outside the visible range
Last edited by Dronenor; Jan 08, 2012 at 06:15 PM.
Old Jan 08, 2012, 07:54 PM
Tahoe Ed is offline
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
It also works well for A/P as long as you remember to keep it in front of you.
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 08, 2012, 09:16 PM
cabalerro is offline
Find More Posts by cabalerro
Registered User
cabalerro's Avatar
i don't know if anyone facing this situations...our quad flies well and smooth for few sessions...3-4 packs of 4S...when comes to the 4th battery, the quad flies wobbly and not stable to hover...expect that esc/motors overheat...tries to let it rest few hours and fly it again still the same behaviour...ended up reset everything, reflashed new firmware and start all over again..now hovering smooth again...face this same situation 2 times...without making any changes it suddenly wobble...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 66 Nov 13, 2015 05:37 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM