Thread Tools
Old Jan 30, 2013, 04:01 PM
Paul@SCC is offline
Find More Posts by Paul@SCC
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by EndOfDays View Post
Here a video showing my multicopter-journey in 2012. Since the WKM takes an important place in this journey I post it here:

https://vimeo.com/58527928

best regards

Ferdinand
Hi Ferdinand.
Great compilation You had a busy year. My favourite is the X16 piggy back project.
Looking forward to your 2013 videos.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:46 PM
bcollydas is offline
Find More Posts by bcollydas
Registered User
bcollydas's Avatar

Osprey Maiden flight


Is been long due. After a couple of months of sub-zero weather we had a break and is was above freezing.

We decided to give it a try/ The weather was rainny and alot of fog start to move in.
But what ta heck we are here now so we gave it a go.
The bird is heavy or it felt heavy but she hovered at 50% throttle.
Originally when I biult the machine I used the Hitec Aurora Tx and Rx.

But the guy I build it for he uses the DX-8.
So off comes the Aurora and installed the DX-8.
Now I had to go into the assistant and start all over again.
And that's where she's at right now.
In the video you will hear the motor ticking that's because the motors and esc's are not in sync.
Now I have to take everything off again and do the esc throttle calibration.

we didn't use the gps function as we wanted to try it in Atti mode.
She flew well and steady.
He is happy. Next video will be on board camera and esc calibration.

Cheers

Bill
maiden flight of the Osprey (2 min 52 sec)


I think the guy was scared more than I was LOL
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:42 AM
Efti is offline
Find More Posts by Efti
Self employed
Efti's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by sidneyw View Post
Home or office; where are you located?

----
ok Norway
And.. Today I could upgrade..

I did nothing since yesterday.. Only waited.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:02 AM
Panza is offline
Find More Posts by Panza
Registered User
Panza's Avatar
FW 5.18 Documentation :
"After taking off, every time the aircraft recorded a home-point successfully the LED will blink Cyan quickly for indicating."

-> but how can we record a HOME position during flight ???
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:12 AM
Tahoe Ed is online now
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Pg 28-29 of the 3.5 version of the WKM manual.

Manually: When 6 or more GPS satellites are found ( blinks once or no blinking), you can
switch the X2 channel between two positions quickly 3 to 5 times to record the current position
of the multi-rotor as the new home point.
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 31, 2013, 11:45 AM
Panza is offline
Find More Posts by Panza
Registered User
Panza's Avatar
No, false since 5.10
X2 define POI point or CourseLock Point
Try a RTH and you will see your X2 point is not the Home one.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:07 PM
Tahoe Ed is online now
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panza View Post
No, false since 5.10
X2 define POI point or CourseLock Point
Try a RTH and you will see your X2 point is not the Home one.
Panza I am not going to argue with you, the X2 will record both, POI point and new Home Point. It has nothing to do with Course Lock as the compass heading is set within 30 seconds of start up.
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 31, 2013, 12:07 PM
Aviator1 is offline
Find More Posts by Aviator1
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panza View Post
No, false since 5.10
X2 define POI point or CourseLock Point
Try a RTH and you will see your X2 point is not the Home one.
Really??? I have 5.16 and I can do it via X2.. You have three choices I think mixing with POI, Course lock and Home lock
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:19 PM
rc-mike is offline
Find More Posts by rc-mike
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
Hey guys, I did something incredibly stupid today. I had been plugging in my batteries on my S800 and powering up the whole copter to do adjustments. I don't have any batteries wit xt60 connectors on them. I decided to make a deans to xt60 adapter so I could plug directly into the pmu so I wouldn't have to worry about the props spinning up. I checked to make sure the polarity was correct before putting the xt60 back together but somehow I still put it together wrong. I plugged in the pmu and smoke came out of it of course. I think maybe I looked at the "-" side and thought it was "+" because of the seam running over it.
I can order another pmu but is there any way to power up the wookong and check everything to make sure I didn't mess up anything else? How likely is it that I damaged other things? I tried to search but my Internet has been out and my phone barely has enough service to do anything.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 01:53 PM
Panza is offline
Find More Posts by Panza
Registered User
Panza's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
Panza I am not going to argue with you, the X2 will record both, POI point and new Home Point. It has nothing to do with Course Lock as the compass heading is set within 30 seconds of start up.
So you are shure set new POI sets new Home point.
Why not, it's to try.
But immagine this case of flight :
- i take off at beach (sets home by power on)
- fliy to a beautifull clutch and take a nice shoot with the great POI function
- go back to land
but at return, i had a Tc failure, WK set on failsafe, and go's land in the chapelle wall....

So it's not logic to set new home at each POI video shoot...
Sure Ed POI->set HOME ?
(dt wt to arg w y too)
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:09 PM
tigar is offline
Find More Posts by tigar
Registered User
tigar's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-mike View Post
Hey guys, I did something incredibly stupid today. I had been plugging in my batteries on my S800 and powering up the whole copter to do adjustments. I don't have any batteries wit xt60 connectors on them. I decided to make a deans to xt60 adapter so I could plug directly into the pmu so I wouldn't have to worry about the props spinning up. I checked to make sure the polarity was correct before putting the xt60 back together but somehow I still put it together wrong. I plugged in the pmu and smoke came out of it of course. I think maybe I looked at the "-" side and thought it was "+" because of the seam running over it.
I can order another pmu but is there any way to power up the wookong and check everything to make sure I didn't mess up anything else? How likely is it that I damaged other things? I tried to search but my Internet has been out and my phone barely has enough service to do anything.
After my PMU failed I am using a bec connected to the PMU port. I have a good cc bec and I trust it more than the PMU. I still have it on and I have the replacement PMU as spare part.
I think you can also power it from your esc...
Old Jan 31, 2013, 02:34 PM
rc-mike is offline
Find More Posts by rc-mike
Stay airborne my friends
rc-mike's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tigar View Post
After my PMU failed I am using a bec connected to the PMU port. I have a good cc bec and I trust it more than the PMU. I still have it on and I have the replacement PMU as spare part.
I think you can also power it from your esc...
Thank you very much! I assumed it would work okay but with my luck I figured I'd better check before plugging stuff in. I plugged in a BEC and it powered up and after taking it outside I got a GPS lock. So I guess it's okay. I may just stick with the BEC since I don't use voltage monitoring anyway.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 04:53 PM
Aviator1 is offline
Find More Posts by Aviator1
Registered User
Aviator1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panza View Post
So you are shure set new POI sets new Home point.
Why not, it's to try.
But immagine this case of flight :
- i take off at beach (sets home by power on)
- fliy to a beautifull clutch and take a nice shoot with the great POI function
- go back to land
but at return, i had a Tc failure, WK set on failsafe, and go's land in the chapelle wall....

So it's not logic to set new home at each POI video shoot...
Sure Ed POI->set HOME ?
(dt wt to arg w y too)
Hi Panza. I think this has been lost in translation?? What me and I think Ed also are saying is once you power up it sets a home point when GPS is good enough but you can set a new home point using X2 switching between Home Lock and Off... Without powering down and back up again.
POI and Course lock are separate functions.
Old Jan 31, 2013, 10:48 PM
Tahoe Ed is online now
Find More Posts by Tahoe Ed
DJI Support
Tahoe Ed's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panza View Post
So you are shure set new POI sets new Home point.
Why not, it's to try.
But immagine this case of flight :
- i take off at beach (sets home by power on)
- fliy to a beautifull clutch and take a nice shoot with the great POI function
- go back to land
but at return, i had a Tc failure, WK set on failsafe, and go's land in the chapelle wall....

So it's not logic to set new home at each POI video shoot...
Sure Ed POI->set HOME ?
(dt wt to arg w y too)
With the WKM, setting a POI does not set a new Home Point. The controller handles it differently. Pages 30-31 of the WKM Manual under TIPS.
Site Sponsor
Old Feb 01, 2013, 06:04 PM
rruiz is offline
Find More Posts by rruiz
Registered User
rruiz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tahoe Ed View Post
With the WKM, setting a POI does not set a new Home Point. The controller handles it differently. Pages 30-31 of the WKM Manual under TIPS.
Hello Ed

Page 28:
Note:
Pay attention to the following statement, which may also lead the MC to cancel the course lock:
 Switch U channel to Manual Mode position, or switch off transmitter, or fly in waypoint mode.

So this means that if I am flying with Atti Mode and between HOME-LOCK >> COURSE-LOCK>> HOME-LOCK >> COURSE-LOCK, bla bla bla (without issues) ; but sudenly I move to MANUAL MODE and then I switch HOME-LOCK the "Forward Direction" is been lost?

Do I was clear?

Maybe that is why I had issues using the Course Lock switch !
EDIT: I also read that you have to be 10 meters far away from the equipment...

Regards

Roberto
Last edited by rruiz; Feb 01, 2013 at 06:16 PM. Reason: Edit: 10 meters


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 66 Nov 13, 2015 05:37 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM