DJI WooKong-M Autopilot System for multirotors **Owners Thread** - Page 1068 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Nov 12, 2012, 04:30 AM
Registered User
squigg ....

DJI are not changing the plugs to grey ones during the firmware upgrade. The grey plugs are on new WKM shipments. I asked DJI.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 12, 2012, 07:49 AM
Vulcan skyhook multirotor
Andre6553's Avatar
does the z15 gimbal only work on dji or can it work on its own as well
Nov 12, 2012, 07:53 AM
Registered User
It will work on its own..BUT..you have to have it connected to a WooKong M or ACE ONE
Nov 12, 2012, 07:58 AM
Registered User
hexa's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andre6553
does the z15 gimbal only work on dji or can it work on its own as well
Z15 use the wkm sensors for stability.
If you want to use the z15 on say a Mk setup. You will need the z15 and a wkm. Wkm attached to z15 and Mk flies the copter.
Nov 12, 2012, 08:00 AM
Registered User
hexa's Avatar
Add z15 with wkm set up to pole or motor bike and you will get super holly wood footage
Nov 12, 2012, 08:02 AM
Registered User
As I said! Use it with a WKM
Nov 12, 2012, 09:26 AM
Registered User
hexa's Avatar
Lol
Nov 12, 2012, 09:51 AM
DJI Supporter
Sid3ways's Avatar
Technically I think all you need is the IMU which you can buy separately for around 650 or so. Anyone else confirm that with hard info? Thought I saw the video of someone using the IMU standalone.

EDIT: Nevermind, after thinking about it compass comes into play which is inside the GPS unit. Fail.
Last edited by Sid3ways; Nov 12, 2012 at 10:26 AM.
Nov 12, 2012, 01:00 PM
3D Heli and Planes
jbdww's Avatar
Feature Request

1. Logging. It would be nice to see stuff like, mode changes, errors, and warnings. Sometime when the machine is far away, I might not see what the LED is doing.

2. I would like to see if my machine is out of balance somehow during flight. Which motor is working the hardest during a hover, etc. I know external things like wind can changes this, but maybe we fly in a controlled environment.

By adding these two features, the tech support may go down as we can see more info to help solve mechanical issues that may look like software issue. For instance I had a yaw issue, which turned out my machine was way out of balance because I was not picking it up in the right spot to check CG.
Nov 12, 2012, 01:01 PM
3D Heli and Planes
jbdww's Avatar
Oh, did I say I would like to see logging features?
Nov 12, 2012, 01:04 PM
What goes around comes around.
squigg's Avatar
Thanks for clearing that up HJ.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hex junky
squigg ....

DJI are not changing the plugs to grey ones during the firmware upgrade. The grey plugs are on new WKM shipments. I asked DJI.
Nov 12, 2012, 01:22 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by hexa
Z15 use the wkm sensors for stability.
If you want to use the z15 on say a Mk setup. You will need the z15 and a wkm. Wkm attached to z15 and Mk flies the copter.
The Z15 is a lot of money hanging under a multi. Why is it so expensive? And it only works with a WKM. I have the AV130 mount and a new Sony 760 camera and the stabilization is awsome. Both are less then the price of the Z15. Perhaps it will be cameras that will provide the best video stab. in the future and not the gimble.
Nov 12, 2012, 02:46 PM
I never finish anyth
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buffythesaint
The Z15 is a lot of money hanging under a multi. Why is it so expensive? And it only works with a WKM. I have the AV130 mount and a new Sony 760 camera and the stabilization is awsome. Both are less then the price of the Z15. Perhaps it will be cameras that will provide the best video stab. in the future and not the gimble.
IOS is good but you also need a stable platform. The reason the Z15 is so expensive is because it's dead steady no matter the flight conditions. When people are flying for money getting the shot when YOU want it and not when the flight conditions warrant it could make all the difference in the world. That and when you only get one chance at a shot, the extra $1500 is well worth it just for added confidence.
Nov 12, 2012, 03:45 PM
FPV addict
Make it able to carry a cannon DSLR and I'd pick one up. Have a customer wanting to carry a 5D for a film shoot and now have to find a good gimbal or make one myself
Nov 12, 2012, 04:17 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by MCrites
IOS is good but you also need a stable platform. The reason the Z15 is so expensive is because it's dead steady no matter the flight conditions. When people are flying for money getting the shot when YOU want it and not when the flight conditions warrant it could make all the difference in the world. That and when you only get one chance at a shot, the extra $1500 is well worth it just for added confidence.

True, to a point, but then why not make it available with more camera type compatibility? considering the price, its pretty restrictive surely?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ballistic Recovery System for Multirotors Duck! Aerial Photography 66 Nov 13, 2015 05:37 PM
Discussion DJI - WooKong eStab for Scale sidneyw Scale Helicopters 97 Dec 30, 2012 11:48 AM
Discussion FY3ZT Autopilot for Aerial Photography feiyudz Aerial Photography 116 May 07, 2012 05:58 PM
Discussion DJI AceOne autopilot for sale... hazchem88 Aerial Photography 4 Mar 31, 2011 04:54 AM
Discussion DJI Innovation helicopter autopilot XP.3.1 for European customers JoelT Aerial Photography 2 Sep 24, 2009 12:43 PM