Diy osd (Arduino and opensource) - Page 121 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jun 25, 2012, 10:48 AM
Registered User
Great project Dennis - I have been playing around on a breadboard and got the basic OSD working just fine.

Quick question about the current sensor - I'm trying to use an acs758 BI 100A but am having a few issues. Does anyone have working values for CF and RF on the attached schematic?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 25, 2012, 10:52 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_LaLanne
Great project Dennis!
Did you put the code / design under a license ? If not I would propose to use MIT as it allows use in commerical products.
No I haven't released it under any license - but written in post #1 that it can be used for all purposes. To be honest, I just like that my work is being used, I don't really care if it's copied, being used in commercial products etc. Actually, that's just neat

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack_LaLanne
Is there are part list somewhere despite the circruit scheme in post one ?
No, there is not a complete list anywhere, but it should be pretty straight forward with the few components used in the schematic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ary
Dennis, could you give us an advance on what you are working?
I really appreciate people that make open source projects
OpenSource headtracker and some PPM. I have started a topic - but not had the time to draw the simple schematic etc.
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...0#post21974530

Quote:
Originally Posted by ary
How can I add the second voltimeter. What does the number above "mah" indicate? In my OSD it is all the time in 0.
The RSSI is actually just another voltmeter. You can use that or copy-paste the code used and add another analog-read.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LKJ
Lok post 1785 one page back.

I think/hope i wil be one of the beta testers.

Lars.
You sure will. A test-version was shipped to you earlier today
Jun 25, 2012, 10:54 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyarrow
Great project Dennis - I have been playing around on a breadboard and got the basic OSD working just fine.

Quick question about the current sensor - I'm trying to use an acs758 BI 100A but am having a few issues. Does anyone have working values for CF and RF on the attached schematic?
If that's an Allegro - they don't like capacitive load. To get a descent low-pass filter you need a small cap and large resistor (as far as I remember). Two sec, will just find some info from earlier tests.
Jun 25, 2012, 10:59 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
This is the current-ripple I had:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...4&postcount=51
(Apparently a lot of spell/gramma mistakes in that post, I must have been drunk that day)

According to the datasheet max 10 nF load and minimum 4.7K ohm load.
Jun 29, 2012, 07:02 AM
Registered User
Hi Dennis,

Thanks very much for the replies - I'm still working on the current sensor

GPS is next - I'm hoping to make use of this unit: http://www.pvelectronics.co.uk/index...products_id=65
It's the same unit flytron seem to use but it's available to me in the UK.
Unfortunately it's limited to 4800bps - I read further back in the thread that 5Hz probably wont work at 4800bps. Will I be limited to 1Hz?
Is there really much difference in GPS performance between 1Hz and 5Hz?

Anyone know how to change the firmware on the PA6B GPS?
Jun 29, 2012, 07:09 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyarrow
Hi Dennis,

Thanks very much for the replies - I'm still working on the current sensor

GPS is next - I'm hoping to make use of this unit: http://www.pvelectronics.co.uk/index...products_id=65
It's the same unit flytron seem to use but it's available to me in the UK.
Unfortunately it's limited to 4800bps - I read further back in the thread that 5Hz probably wont work at 4800bps. Will I be limited to 1Hz?
Is there really much difference in GPS performance between 1Hz and 5Hz?

Anyone know how to change the firmware on the PA6B GPS?
It says: "Max update rate, 10 Hz". 10 Hz is not possible with 4800 baud, so you just have to change baudrate settings and increase the update-rate to 5 hz.

For this project I'll suggest 5 hz and 9600 baud, as that's what I have been testing with.
You have to see the datasheet/command data to get the commands for changing baud-speed. Can't remember them.
Jun 29, 2012, 07:13 AM
Registered User
albx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyarrow
Hi Dennis,

Thanks very much for the replies - I'm still working on the current sensor

GPS is next - I'm hoping to make use of this unit: http://www.pvelectronics.co.uk/index...products_id=65
It's the same unit flytron seem to use but it's available to me in the UK.
Unfortunately it's limited to 4800bps - I read further back in the thread that 5Hz probably wont work at 4800bps. Will I be limited to 1Hz?
Is there really much difference in GPS performance between 1Hz and 5Hz?

Anyone know how to change the firmware on the PA6B GPS?
I beleive the descripition is wrong, 4800 is the default speed, you can change it till 115200, I have the same and I can confirm it
Jun 29, 2012, 08:14 AM
Registered User
Oh cool, many thanks. Their description about the baud rate is a bit confusing.

At that price it's definitely worth a try!
Jun 29, 2012, 11:57 AM
Registered User
albx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dyarrow
Oh cool, many thanks. Their description about the baud rate is a bit confusing.

At that price it's definitely worth a try!
the gps can be powered by 5v, and from about 2.5 to about 3.7 volts need to be applied on the VBACKUP pin or the gps will not boot...
Jul 01, 2012, 07:38 PM
Registered User
Just an FYI for anyone trying to use it on NTSC and not being able to see the bottom line (current, voltage and MAH). After building the OSD in a breadboard in 15 minutes, and spending the next hour trying to get the bottom line to show, I followed ary suggestion from a few pages back in the thread and changed line 154, where it says "video_system" in lowercase to "VIDEO_SYSTEM" in uppercase and the bottom line started showing.

Amazing how simple it is to build and how good it looks. Thanks Dennis for all your effort!
Jul 02, 2012, 01:16 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoP
Just an FYI for anyone trying to use it on NTSC and not being able to see the bottom line (current, voltage and MAH). After building the OSD in a breadboard in 15 minutes, and spending the next hour trying to get the bottom line to show, I followed ary suggestion from a few pages back in the thread and changed line 154, where it says "video_system" in lowercase to "VIDEO_SYSTEM" in uppercase and the bottom line started showing.

Amazing how simple it is to build and how good it looks. Thanks Dennis for all your effort!
I suppose the NTSC problem is my fault - you are not the first one mentioning it. sorry guys

Glad you guys can help each other when I'm busy with other things
Jul 03, 2012, 04:56 PM
ary
ary
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoP
Just an FYI for anyone trying to use it on NTSC and not being able to see the bottom line (current, voltage and MAH). After building the OSD in a breadboard in 15 minutes, and spending the next hour trying to get the bottom line to show, I followed ary suggestion from a few pages back in the thread and changed line 154, where it says "video_system" in lowercase to "VIDEO_SYSTEM" in uppercase and the bottom line started showing.

Amazing how simple it is to build and how good it looks. Thanks Dennis for all your effort!
Are you using Linux to compile it? I had this problem on Linux but I didn't try it on Windows.

Warm regards!
Jul 03, 2012, 05:13 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ary
Are you using Linux to compile it? I had this problem on Linux but I didn't try it on Windows.

Warm regards!
I'm using Mac OS 10.7. After changing that it works like a charm.
Jul 05, 2012, 11:35 AM
ary
ary
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrlandoP
I'm using Mac OS 10.7. After changing that it works like a charm.
Mac OS is case sensitive too but i don't know if it has any relation with that
Regards.
Jul 07, 2012, 04:21 PM
Chilled and served
Henry.'s Avatar
Will this schematic work with a ceramic resonator, which i guess has a tolerance of 0.3% or so, without any problems or am i forced to use a crystal?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM