Thread Tools
Old Apr 02, 2012, 12:06 PM
Dennis Frie is online now
Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
There is 100ohm resistor inline, the value can be adjusted of course.
Hmm, you might be able to use the 75 ohm audio input impedance and just a series resistor? Not quite sure about this, I would just make a quick test-setup and see what gives the best result.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 02, 2012, 12:47 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dennis Frie View Post
Hmm, you might be able to use the 75 ohm audio input impedance and just a series resistor? Not quite sure about this, I would just make a quick test-setup and see what gives the best result.
What I am thinking of trying is a trim-pot and of course do lots of ground testing. I am also looking into a DTMF chip, I ordered a few.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 07:21 AM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Hope you two guys develop a diy-able solution with widely available parts, like for the osd, so that I can make it myself

Here's another pic of the osd screen.

I have an issue...the dimming and brightness pots (both 200ohm) have NO effect whatsoever...
Last edited by msev; Apr 03, 2012 at 10:50 AM.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 11:05 AM
Dennis Frie is online now
Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Hope you two guys develop a diy-able solution with widely available parts, like for the osd, so that I can make it myself

Here's another pic of the osd screen.

I have an issue...the dimming and brightness pots (both 200ohm) have NO effect whatsoever...
How have you connected the pot? It have 3 pins, and should be connected like this:

- Input
- Output
- not connected

If you connect it like this it will always be 200 ohm
- Input
- not connected
- Output
Last edited by Dennis Frie; Apr 03, 2012 at 11:14 AM.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 11:09 AM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
I have connected the central and outside pin...and the third pin is not connected to anything.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 11:15 AM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
I have connected the central and outside pin...and the third pin is not connected to anything.
I believe I saw that you are using 1.7, you need to add or change the following for the Arduino for the Dimmer Pin that you are using.

Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 

  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b000000010;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b111111101;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
Old Apr 03, 2012, 11:48 AM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Dennis, I have a question for you.

I was out testing my FPV setup and noticed I am getting these lines in the video that I am not sure of the source. Do you think it is because I am powering everything from the same power source? I have a LC Filter, maybe it is not working correctly?



P.S. The Current readings is still wrong.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 01:59 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Try it with a separate battery and you'll know the answer :P
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:02 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Do I need to replace this under "// SimpleOSD XL 16 mhz" or above where there is "// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want."

Does it matter if I change this in both areas?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rimshotcopter View Post
I believe I saw that you are using 1.7, you need to add or change the following for the Arduino for the Dimmer Pin that you are using.

Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 

  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b000000010;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b111111101;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
Last edited by msev; Apr 03, 2012 at 02:09 PM.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 02:09 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Do I need to replace this under "// SimpleOSD XL 16 mhz" or above where there is "// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want."
Yea, replace the SimpleOSD code with the mentioned. the SimpleOSD uses a different Dimming Pin then the Arduino.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 03:59 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Is it okay if I change at both spots under arduino and under Simpleosd?
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:05 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Is it okay if I change at both spots under arduino and under Simpleosd?
Try it and see, you will have your answer.
Old Apr 03, 2012, 04:17 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Hehe gave me my own medicine
Old Apr 03, 2012, 05:27 PM
msev is offline
Find More Posts by msev
Registered User
Still nothin'...If you're wondering i have dimming defined (1).

maybe i have to try this:
Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 
 //define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
 #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000001;
 #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
Old Apr 03, 2012, 05:32 PM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Still nothin'...If you're wondering i have dimming defined (1).

maybe i have to try this:
Code:
#if (dim_on == 1)
// This is used for dimming. can be changed to another pin if you want. 
 //define SimpleOSD OPEN's dim pin C5
 #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000001;
 #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111110;
  
  //#define DimOn  DDRC |= 0b00100000;
  //#define DimOff DDRC &= 0b11011111;
#else
  #define DimOn  DDRB |= 0b00000000;
  #define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111111;
#endif
You are not using the code that I posted,

#define DimOn DDRB |= 0b00000010;
#define DimOff DDRB &= 0b11111101;


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Diy osd karl k FPV Talk 2 May 03, 2011 01:31 AM
Idea New DIY OSD? atari7202 FPV Talk 1 Mar 25, 2011 01:08 AM
Discussion see my own diy OSD video Passion Aerial Photography 7 May 27, 2010 02:28 AM
Discussion REAL homebrew DIY OSD - Check it out! jafoca FPV Talk 8 Jun 29, 2009 07:52 PM
Discussion picoOSD DIY PIC12F683 based OSD in C kbosak FPV Talk 6 Jan 31, 2008 08:47 AM