Thread Tools
Old Jan 26, 2013, 04:04 PM
DVE is offline
DVE
Find More Posts by DVE
DVE
Registered User
Thanks, sounds good

I connected again via this adapter, but nothing displayed yet. When I short wired RX-TX, echo is present, so adapter is working.
Strange...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2013, 08:31 PM
Blusaber is offline
Find More Posts by Blusaber
Registered User
Blusaber's Avatar

Sensor hub


Hi

Does the data port on the D4Rll power the sensor hub or do you still need to power it with the servo type connector at the top?

Thanks

Gary
Old Jan 30, 2013, 03:19 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Even on D8R the data port does not power the hub. Yes, you need to power it separate.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 07:28 PM
Blusaber is offline
Find More Posts by Blusaber
Registered User
Blusaber's Avatar
Thank you

Gary
Old Feb 02, 2013, 01:28 AM
cr2o3 is offline
Find More Posts by cr2o3
Registered User
cr2o3's Avatar

Please help me, the beeps are driving me mad, and my dog


I have asked many people regarding y problem and so far nothing. I have been reading your thread and notice some extremely clever people are present, just in case.

I have the complete (except for the G-force unit) system for FrSky. I bought the module and non telemetry receiver before I knew it wasn't needed with the DHT-U I hooked up the DHY-U with no problems, and powered the Rx and bound them together, no problems. I then did the same with the D8R-II Plus RX and it bound with no problems.

Next came my downfall. I attempted to setup the DHT-U .Somewhere during this venture the DHT started beeping so I returned all the setting to default and it still beeped. I checked everything I could think of and still it beeped. I even changed batteries and no change. I reconnected the non telemetry R and peace reigned, no beeps, my dog suddenly loved me again.

As soon as I connect the D8R etc. away it went again. Please, I beg of you can you give me some idea as to what is wrong. I have been trying now for almost 2 weeks and not a thing changes.

I am running open9X on the 9XR. It was stock standard when the beeps started so it makes no difference. The firmware is whatever the latest FrSky equipment comes with and my battery pack supplies 4.9 volts according to a Fluke MM and the FrSky readout.

Help please?
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:10 AM
gbmarsh is offline
Find More Posts by gbmarsh
Wait...what?
gbmarsh's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr2o3 View Post
I have asked many people regarding y problem and so far nothing. I have been reading your thread and notice some extremely clever people are present, just in case.

I have the complete (except for the G-force unit) system for FrSky. I bought the module and non telemetry receiver before I knew it wasn't needed with the DHT-U I hooked up the DHY-U with no problems, and powered the Rx and bound them together, no problems. I then did the same with the D8R-II Plus RX and it bound with no problems.

Next came my downfall. I attempted to setup the DHT-U .Somewhere during this venture the DHT started beeping so I returned all the setting to default and it still beeped. I checked everything I could think of and still it beeped. I even changed batteries and no change. I reconnected the non telemetry R and peace reigned, no beeps, my dog suddenly loved me again.

As soon as I connect the D8R etc. away it went again. Please, I beg of you can you give me some idea as to what is wrong. I have been trying now for almost 2 weeks and not a thing changes.

I am running open9X on the 9XR. It was stock standard when the beeps started so it makes no difference. The firmware is whatever the latest FrSky equipment comes with and my battery pack supplies 4.9 volts according to a Fluke MM and the FrSky readout.

Help please?
Let's see,
So you have the D8R-II Plus bound and with the A1 jumper in place so that all you are reading is internal rx voltage?

No other sensors connected?

Did you change any of the alarms initially ie A1,A2 or RSSI ?

I would guess that you have inadvertently changed an alarm setting (most likely RSSI) and that is what the beeps are.

Cheers,
Geoff
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:23 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Indeed, I would ask you for pictures of all alarms settings.
Old Feb 02, 2013, 08:49 AM
cr2o3 is offline
Find More Posts by cr2o3
Registered User
cr2o3's Avatar
Without appearing lazy, I've tried every default setting shown in the instruction manual. I set everything to exactly what the manual showed and no difference. It's past midnight and being disabled I don't wish to wake my wife to get my radio and camera. I hope you understand. I may not get breakfast if I wake her now :-)

Actually I don't understand the alarm settings. I am using a 4.9 volt battery pack to power the RX . If I set the unit to alarm at A1-1 and to sound at 0 < 004 I read this to mean that if the voltage drops below 4 volts the alarm sounds. Is this the voltage at the RX from the battery pack or the lipo voltage which isn't connected? The manual is not very well written in this regard. If it is the lipo it's referring to why didn't it enter alarm mode as soon as it was bound? I only got alarm beeps when I changed the settings. I see in the manual it keeps referring to 3.3 volts.

Another confusing thing is a hilighted piece of text which states "To obtain the volt alarm value the following formula will be used
Alarm Value= Alarm volt / ratio / 3.3 * 255. What on earth is that about ? Why ratios and not just voltages? I assume the Star denotes multiply so the setting would be 1020 for 4 volts. As the setting only allows 3 digits this must be wrong.

My other problem is the manual tells me that if I have the A1 - X jumper installed the maximum voltage is 3..3 volts with a division ratio of 4:1. The specs say the voltage for the rx is 3.5 to 10 volts. I'm afraid all these ratios and voltages are totally confusing. I had no idea brain activity slowed so rapidly after 65 (5 days ago) It seems my days of ignoring manuals and getting things working anyway have gone. Now I can't understand the darned manuals.

I'm afraid I require a lead by the hand on this lot. The Quanum system was a walk in the park compared to this minefield. If you think I'm a lost causejust say so and I'll box it up and put it away, or sell it on Ebay. I was thinking of doing the same with my Eagle tree kit as I found this FrSky far superior for what I wanted.
Old Feb 02, 2013, 09:03 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Boing ! This was !
The culprit was the voltage setting, 004 is NOT 4V !!! should be:
4.8 / 4 / 3.3 * 255, as in formula, and the result is 92.7, set it at 92 for alarm a notch under 4.8V
Because seems so complicate?
Because there are a lot of things to be measured in a plane !
There are NiMh at 1.2V, LiPo at 3.7V, LiFePo4, at 3.3V, cells counts from 2 to 12 ! How do you want to fit all of these in a single pattern ?

I agree could be simpler, but for this to happen, we must do a serious lobby to Frsky to change actual system, and this can be very simple, without changes in actual product line, just a little pressure from the users.
Will start this lobby after they return from their spring holiday.
Old Feb 02, 2013, 11:39 AM
microtechnics.eu is offline
Find More Posts by microtechnics.eu
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr2o3 View Post
Without appearing lazy, I've tried every default setting shown in the instruction manual. I set everything to exactly what the manual showed and no difference. It's past midnight and being disabled I don't wish to wake my wife to get my radio and camera. I hope you understand. I may not get breakfast if I wake her now :-)

Actually I don't understand the alarm settings. I am using a 4.9 volt battery pack to power the RX . If I set the unit to alarm at A1-1 and to sound at 0 < 004 I read this to mean that if the voltage drops below 4 volts the alarm sounds. Is this the voltage at the RX from the battery pack or the lipo voltage which isn't connected? The manual is not very well written in this regard. If it is the lipo it's referring to why didn't it enter alarm mode as soon as it was bound? I only got alarm beeps when I changed the settings. I see in the manual it keeps referring to 3.3 volts.

Another confusing thing is a hilighted piece of text which states "To obtain the volt alarm value the following formula will be used
Alarm Value= Alarm volt / ratio / 3.3 * 255. What on earth is that about ? Why ratios and not just voltages? I assume the Star denotes multiply so the setting would be 1020 for 4 volts. As the setting only allows 3 digits this must be wrong.

My other problem is the manual tells me that if I have the A1 - X jumper installed the maximum voltage is 3..3 volts with a division ratio of 4:1. The specs say the voltage for the rx is 3.5 to 10 volts. I'm afraid all these ratios and voltages are totally confusing. I had no idea brain activity slowed so rapidly after 65 (5 days ago) It seems my days of ignoring manuals and getting things working anyway have gone. Now I can't understand the darned manuals.

I'm afraid I require a lead by the hand on this lot. The Quanum system was a walk in the park compared to this minefield. If you think I'm a lost causejust say so and I'll box it up and put it away, or sell it on Ebay. I was thinking of doing the same with my Eagle tree kit as I found this FrSky far superior for what I wanted.
Guessing you have an old version of manual.
Did you check page 5 of last DHT-U manual, dated August 2012?

Click on this Link to download latest DHT-U V 2.0 Manual

Doesn't it look easy ?
Last edited by microtechnics.eu; Feb 03, 2013 at 11:59 AM.
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:02 PM
Rotozuk is offline
Find More Posts by Rotozuk
Rotozuk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
Will start this lobby after they return from their spring holiday.
Sign me up.
Site Sponsor
Old Feb 02, 2013, 02:20 PM
danvel2 is offline
Find More Posts by danvel2
Registered User
danvel2's Avatar

Playing with frsky telemetry


I've upgraded my DHT-U with the latest firmware and I love it!! specially for the ability to datalog the telemetry as a simple text file (one row per second) in a standard micro-SD card.
Please have a look at this video in which I use excel's VB to create an animation of the quadcopter flight from the telemetry data.
I hope you like it!
Best viewed in high resolution (set to 720p HD)

FRSKY TELEMETRY ANIMATION WITH EXCEL #2 (3 min 45 sec)
Old Feb 02, 2013, 03:17 PM
pmullen503 is offline
Find More Posts by pmullen503
Registered User
That's pretty sweet!
Old Feb 03, 2013, 09:59 AM
cr2o3 is offline
Find More Posts by cr2o3
Registered User
cr2o3's Avatar
Very nice Danvil2, very nice indeed.
Old Feb 03, 2013, 10:11 AM
cr2o3 is offline
Find More Posts by cr2o3
Registered User
cr2o3's Avatar
Thank you renatoa, It certainly sounds promising. It's 2 am at the moment. Please excuse me, my sleeping pattern is all over the place and morphine knocks me out for a certain time and then I wake up and can't sleep. So rather than wake up my wife and my dog (he absolutely hates helis, aircraft motors and beeps) I will reset it first thing in the morning. and see if your magic works.

Microtechnics, I must have an old manual. Mine is one sheet of paper folded in half. I will log onto FrSky and download the latest copy and check page 5. Sorry guys the brain cells simply don't work at their full potential when they are full of drugs (legitimate ones)I find it hard to believe I have a full Amateur radio call. I look at these manuals and almost immediately start going round in circles. I can still find a way of fitting the DHT-U to the Turnigy 9XR using no screws, glue or holes so something still works.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FrSky 2.4ghz - Telemetry protocol discussions PLMS Radios 1472 May 15, 2016 06:38 PM
Discussion FrSky 2.4Ghz - Telemetry PDA application Mybrains Radios 18 Jun 23, 2011 10:02 AM
Sold FrSky Telemetry 2.4Ghz for JR Module, 2 RXs & extra nizee Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 May 07, 2011 03:28 PM
Wanted FrSky 2.4Ghz DIY Kit with Telemetry purcilas Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 04, 2011 05:10 PM