FrSky 2.4Ghz - Telemetry Hub & Sensor discussion - Page 11 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Aug 01, 2011, 01:28 AM
Registered User
showmaster's Avatar

The telemitry race is on


FYI
Look up Spektrum STi.
Interesting.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 01, 2011, 01:33 AM
Registered User
Spektrum, not interesting
Aug 01, 2011, 06:36 AM
Registered User

PINs Futaba 3 PK and 3 PKS


I found this important topic regard Futaba 3 PK (or 3 PKS) usage

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=387442

this link with Manual_DHT-U provides a very important help to connect DHT-U display and futaba 3 pk.

So, thank your answers and thank this forum, in general I solved all my doubts.

I would like only to know if I could use Airtronics or Eagle Tree rpms sensors with frsky hub. Is there anyone tested rpm sensors NOT frsky?

Thank you
Aug 01, 2011, 09:38 AM
Registered User
showmaster's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA
Spektrum, not interesting
I agree with you that Spektrum it's self is not, but...
Telemitry info sent to a iPod or iPhone to me is.
Endless audio alarms, voice , tones, sound effects, ect.
Record all flight info, gps data for playback later. With Internet access even track using google maps, find lost planes fast.
Maybe something Frsky would want to explore for a future product?
Takes the burden off of the main radio link.
I mentioned it here more for the technology concept then to focus on a brand of radio since some are disappointed with Frsky's latest telemetry product offerings.
Exciting times to be in our hobby, both for the flyers, and the technology smart flyers like yourself.
Aug 01, 2011, 10:02 AM
Dean
A10FLYR's Avatar
So true there Showmaster.....
Aug 02, 2011, 05:01 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by showmaster
FYI
Look up Spektrum STi.
Interesting.
yes interesting, I hope also frSky will develop a similar app.
Anyway, I am faithful to android
Aug 02, 2011, 07:29 AM
New in all but 20Y hobbyist
lothar2048's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by danitaly
I found this important topic regard Futaba 3 PK (or 3 PKS) usage

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=387442

this link with Manual_DHT-U provides a very important help to connect DHT-U display and futaba 3 pk.

So, thank your answers and thank this forum, in general I solved all my doubts.

I would like only to know if I could use Airtronics or Eagle Tree rpms sensors with frsky hub. Is there anyone tested rpm sensors NOT frsky?

Thank you
Tested, opticall sensor from ET working.
Tested Sparkfun optical sensor and working too.
Tested GPS from ET working.
Tested GPS from flytron, working too, but needs to be set @ higer speed.
Optical sensor port is only sensing 2 blades. I'm working with 3 blades pusher ;-)
Aug 02, 2011, 08:29 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by danitaly
yes interesting, I hope also frSky will develop a similar app.
Anyway, I am faithful to android
Ever seen that?
Demo of Android Dashboard for FrSky Two Way modules (6 min 17 sec)
Aug 02, 2011, 08:37 AM
Registered User
The android app is pretty neat. Hope it gets packaged in such a manner that anyone can try it.

http://projects.onomato.biz/svn/android-dash/trunk/
Aug 02, 2011, 01:25 PM
Registered User
I hope something like "Torque" for car telemetry by OBDII...
Aug 02, 2011, 01:49 PM
Registered User
Emoto's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fireball2k
Ever seen that?
No! never seen that nice, not to distracting would like this for altitude in my thermal glider.
Who knows what we will be doing in a year
Aug 02, 2011, 06:05 PM
Ersky9x Developer
Mike Blandford's Avatar
How does the FrSky Hub get its power? From PLMS's test jig pics, it looks as though the only connection between the Hub and the Rx is a 2 wire (yellow and black) connection. I'm thinking about adding code to er9x to handle the hub protocol and display on the standard LCD (when time permits!).

Mike.
Aug 03, 2011, 02:49 AM
RC Soarer & wheel re-inventer
debianhot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Blandford
How does the FrSky Hub get its power? From PLMS's test jig pics, it looks as though the only connection between the Hub and the Rx is a 2 wire (yellow and black) connection. I'm thinking about adding code to er9x to handle the hub protocol and display on the standard LCD (when time permits!).

Mike.
There is a power connector on the top-right corner (same as the battery connector in your rx) .
You must power it allso together with the rx.
In the telemetry values that the hub sends there is allso a "voltage" that I supose corresponds to the power aplied to this connector (rendering obsolete/duplicate the internal AD1 that D8R-V2 has to meter the rx volt, if you use it together with the hub).

PS: Just received my hub together with vario , temp and rpm sensors
Aug 03, 2011, 03:39 AM
Martin - AKA mr.sneezy
PLMS's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike Blandford
How does the FrSky Hub get its power? From PLMS's test jig pics, it looks as though the only connection between the Hub and the Rx is a 2 wire (yellow and black) connection. I'm thinking about adding code to er9x to handle the hub protocol and display on the standard LCD (when time permits!).Mike.
Sorry about missing that cable in the picture. At the time I took the image I had not fired up the Hub. The yellow/black is the serial data from Hub to RX. The power is connected via a male-male JR servo cable between aby unused servo channel and the Hub where DebianHot said. Only the power wires are used.
If all servo channels are used then you can feed 5V right from the UBEC you're using

Note: The male-male JR cable I later used was not supplied, I made it from two dead servos leads.
Martin
PS. Anyone seen male-male JR extensions on the web cheap ? Hobbyking don't sell them.
Aug 03, 2011, 05:08 AM
New in all but 20Y hobbyist
lothar2048's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLMS
Sorry about missing that cable in the picture. At the time I took the image I had not fired up the Hub. The yellow/black is the serial data from Hub to RX. The power is connected via a male-male JR servo cable between aby unused servo channel and the Hub where DebianHot said. Only the power wires are used.
If all servo channels are used then you can feed 5V right from the UBEC you're using

Note: The male-male JR cable I later used was not supplied, I made it from two dead servos leads.
Martin
PS. Anyone seen male-male JR extensions on the web cheap ? Hobbyking don't sell them.
The Futaba ones are in fact JR ones.... http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...airs_set_.html

Chinese sometimes don't know what they are selling ;-)


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion FrSky 2.4ghz - Telemetry protocol discussions PLMS Radios 1472 May 15, 2016 05:38 PM
Discussion FrSky 2.4Ghz - Telemetry PDA application Mybrains Radios 18 Jun 23, 2011 09:02 AM
Sold FrSky Telemetry 2.4Ghz for JR Module, 2 RXs & extra nizee Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 May 07, 2011 02:28 PM
Wanted FrSky 2.4Ghz DIY Kit with Telemetry purcilas Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 5 May 04, 2011 04:10 PM