Jul 13, 2011, 03:27 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

40% Schueler-Fleckstein AS-W 15B

Welcome to the build log of my 40% AS-W 15B. First some background. This is a Schueler-Fleckstein kit produced in the late 90's. Back then I was corresponding with Robin Lehman about acquiring a scale glider, and Robin mentioned that he was expecting a 40% scale AS-W 15B soon from SF with an anticipated list price of $2500.00. I told him I was interested, but honestly that was a bit beyond my means back then. I was a lowly entry level engineer making peanuts at Scaled Composites and paying off student loans etc. About a year later the glider finally was for sale, but at $3500.00! I wonder if I could have locked in the original price? Probably not. Anyway, that was more than a months pay for me back then and I didn't buy it. But I was kicking myself ever since.

The AS-W 15B is my absolute favorite sailplane. The lines are perfect. I like the lower aspect ratio and the cross tail and the dolphin fuselage. So over the years I obsessed over a large scale AS-W 15, occasionally searching the web for one for sale. Well, lo and behold a few months ago I came across an ad on the RCAerotowing site for the very glider that I had been searching for. I wasn't going to lose this one! I had a cashiers check in the mail the next day!

I got some really interesting info on the background of this glider from Asher Carmichael that I would like to reprint here:

"Aeroanalysis,
That is one gorgeous plane and it looks very familiar. I believe it's the same plane I sold to Wil in about 2003. Some planes in our hobby seem to maintain a history so in an effort to maintain one for this airplane, here's some pertinent info which you may or may not care about.