Trying to get back into FPV - couple of questions - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jun 24, 2011, 10:31 PM
Expat
Discussion

Trying to get back into FPV - couple of questions


Hi all
I took a break from FPV since crashing into someones house last year.
Now, I have a new Lawmate 2.4 500mw VTX and a GoPro Hero.
I've hooked up the Lawmate to a cheap HK camera for testing. I tested all teh components separately using the included RCA jacks etc. and everything seems to work great. After soldering together and using servo plugs, I'm not getting a discernible picture. Also, the VTX only gets slightly warm, as opposed to hot when it tested OK.
I had to solder in 2 places. I also added servo wire for extension. The rest is factory wire joints, such as the JST and Y split. I'm using the included 12v->5v regulator for the Lawmate. I just used the sheath ground on the power wire from the regulator, and not the sheath ground around teh video out. The entire length from cam to VTX is about 130cm.
White, red, black VTX wires to corresponding cam wires.


Is teh problem the cheap solder gun/solder I used? Or the length of the wires? Or???

Thanks
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 24, 2011, 10:39 PM
Registered User
Your problem shouldn't be in the wire length, I would re-solder the connections and test the voltage coming out of the regulator.
Jun 24, 2011, 10:43 PM
Expat
Thanks. I don't have a voltage tester. The wires coming out of the regulator were awful small, not much to solder.
Jun 24, 2011, 10:52 PM
Registered User
One of the most critical pieces of my FPV equipment is my voltmeter, I would go out and get one first thing, they save you from having an "oh s***" moment when you find out that a bat didn't have juice
Jun 24, 2011, 11:07 PM
complet beginer
the situation might be improved by just redusing the wire lenght. but i have my douts that is the sole reason for the problem. or if you need that wire lenght or something, i would recomed a digital camra, dosent look like it is a digital camra.
Jun 24, 2011, 11:10 PM
Registered User
it definitely not the wire length that is the problem, I use 3ft of extensions for mounting the vtx on my wing without any problems.

Also, there is no try, only do, or do not
Jun 25, 2011, 03:29 PM
Expat
Is this what you're talking about?
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=10786

Or this?
http://cgi.ebay.com/New-LCD-Digital-...item4cf0f6ab33
Last edited by TheNiceGuy; Jun 25, 2011 at 03:36 PM.
Jun 25, 2011, 04:36 PM
Registered User
I have one similar to the one you found on ebay
Jun 25, 2011, 04:46 PM
Expat
Do ones that cheap work OK?
Jun 25, 2011, 04:59 PM
Registered User
Dont know probably
Jun 25, 2011, 05:13 PM
Expat
OK, thanks.
If my hunch is correct that the problem is the solder at the power line from the regulator, how can I fix it? I did the best solder possible with my gear. There are just a few tiny thin wires to be soldered onto the servo plug line. I don't know how to solder it any better.
Jun 25, 2011, 07:02 PM
making big holes in the sky..
Do NOT USE THE REGULATOR FROM LAWMATE.....
I have burned 2 (I think) vTX 500 on this lousy things. Rangevideo has a warning on there site, and I have tried to get Hobbywireless to do the same...

Use a umbec insted, I have tried a few and this is the best I have found so far
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=16663

It filtering out motornoice as vel so you dont need a exrta filter if you run you FPV-plane on one battery...

If you burned your vTX and you bougth it at Hobbywireless, ask for a replasement. I did and they sent me one for free... I love the guys at Hobbywireless, they have given me SO mush good service...
Jun 26, 2011, 12:07 AM
Expat
Thanks very much!
I bought my LMfrom ReadyMadeRC. HK is out of stock on that (as usual), but RMRC has these 2:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=124
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=337
Either one should work, yes? I think the only difference is 5A vs 3A and weight?
Jun 26, 2011, 03:53 AM
Expat
Final question here thanks -
IIUC, To get the system working I need this between my lipo and VTX:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
And then this between the lipo and everything:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=138
Is this correct?
Jun 26, 2011, 05:12 AM
making big holes in the sky..
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheNiceGuy
Final question here thanks -
IIUC, To get the system working I need this between my lipo and VTX:
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
And then this between the lipo and everything:
http://www.readymaderc.com/store/ind...roducts_id=138
Is this correct?
Hi
In most cases you need a L-C filter between your lipo (for motor and vTX), but the HK ubec http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=15212
filters in it self. so then its no need for a L-C filter..


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Newbie trying to get into FPV. monthos FPV Talk 6 Mar 21, 2010 03:38 PM
Discussion Help! Trying to get back into the hobby rcflyer23 Foamies (Scratchbuilt) 6 Dec 13, 2009 03:40 PM
Help! trying to get into fpv ROCKY2 FPV Talk 26 Nov 25, 2009 02:05 AM
Discussion Trying to get into Heli's and got a few questions! crazychambers Beginner Training Area (Heli-Electric) 18 Jun 03, 2009 02:01 AM
Discussion Trying to get back into the heli hobby, opinions on what bird wanted Sky_Dancer Mini Helis 2 Jul 26, 2008 06:15 PM