Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Nov 17, 2011, 04:17 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by alll View Post
Thanks for that. Makes perfect sense.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 17, 2011, 06:16 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocketscience View Post
I know.. I keep mine in the car now so I can fly it whenever. Not too many planes or helis have a permanent spot in my trunk.

I use 100% rates with 30% expo on ail/ele but I find rudder needs 120% for my tastes. Simply a little slower compared to a heli with an actual tail rotor.

It banks and yanks with the best of them.
Hi, i have the same feeling, i fly Heli's too, and the rudder is a bit sluggish, so i think your idea of 120% on rudder might be the solution. I made mine foldable, as it is 630mm so i might bring it to work now and go out at lunch time
Nov 17, 2011, 09:23 AM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
i tried ver.4.7 on xcopter on my 2 boards hk v1 and kk blackboard.. all the stick channel on my tx are wrong,, rudder stick becomes aileron,.. aileron becomes ele/pitch..elevator becomes ail/roll..throttle is ok..other version on 2.3ver is ok... any ideas..

Last edited by barok; Nov 17, 2011 at 09:55 AM.
Nov 17, 2011, 10:43 PM
Registered User
Movie Guy's Avatar
barok, have a look at this post. The motor assignments are different for different firmware.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=332
Nov 18, 2011, 01:12 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Hi Manu,

yes there is a gap of 1-2 seconds. I tried to reduce it but then the programmer is not ready for flashing the firmware.
The interesting thing is that your kkmulticopter flash tool is using the avrdude from winavr not he one I pack with the software. Maybe that is the problem. It uses also other parameters, so it seam that the configuration is also taken from the winavr.

Maybe I can add a global progress bar in one of the future versions.

Can you check it on a other PC?

Christian

Quote:
Originally Posted by alll View Post
Hi Christian,

I used the "repository" firmware upload, and i don't find it easy to know if the program is still doing something or not. Is it possible to have some sort of progress bar of the overall upload (fuses, download, upload...)

The program seems doing nothing, but in fact it does! There is a big time gap between the fuses and the firmware.

And i always get an verification error after firmware upload...

Thanks,
manu

Code:
Flashing firmware from file.: X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex

C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin\avrdude.exe -C C:\WinAVR-20100110\bin\avrdude.conf -p m168 -P COM4 -c avrispv2 -D -F -B 8 -U flash:w:X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex:i 

avrdude.exe: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.02s

avrdude.exe: Device signature = 0x1e940b
avrdude.exe: Expected signature for ATMEGA168 is 1E 94 06
avrdude.exe: reading input file "X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex"
avrdude.exe: writing flash (15216 bytes):

Writing | ################################################## | 100% 30.20s

avrdude.exe: 15216 bytes of flash written
avrdude.exe: verifying flash memory against X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex:
avrdude.exe: load data flash data from input file X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex:
avrdude.exe: input file X:\@RC\tricopter\kkmulticopterflashtool\tmp\xx15d_QUADX_M168_SF_EN.hex contains 15216 bytes
avrdude.exe: reading on-chip flash data:

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 28.42s

avrdude.exe: verifying ...
avrdude.exe: verification error, first mismatch at byte 0x0002
             0x98 != 0x10
avrdude.exe: verification error; content mismatch

avrdude.exe done.  Thank you.

Error during writing flash.
Nov 18, 2011, 03:52 PM
Registered User
barok's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Movie Guy View Post
barok, have a look at this post. The motor assignments are different for different firmware.

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=332
hey MG... that did it..never thought each firmware was different..

thanks eh...
Nov 19, 2011, 10:02 PM
Registered User

Problem Flashing to HK V1 Board


My trying to flash to V4.7 using Lazy Zero's tool but I keep getting a "Can't find USB device" error. I have this USB programmer:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/51-AVR-ISP-P...item27b9e6169e

It installs automatically under Win 7 64 bit and is listed as a "USB input device" I downloaded the "Libusb0" driver and when trying to update the driver to it, windows states I already have the best driver installed and won't update it. In the flash tool I'm selecting the HK V1 board and "USBASP" programmer. When I hit "start" it states the error message along with "error setting fuses".

Any ideas anyone?
Nov 20, 2011, 12:16 AM
Registered User
Movie Guy's Avatar
barok, you are most welcome. For all the times someone posted an answer that I needed, I am happy to give back. I also know that I will need more answers to my future questions........
Nov 20, 2011, 04:32 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sympster View Post
My trying to flash to V4.7 using Lazy Zero's tool but I keep getting a "Can't find USB device" error. I have this USB programmer:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/51-AVR-ISP-P...item27b9e6169e

It installs automatically under Win 7 64 bit and is listed as a "USB input device" I downloaded the "Libusb0" driver and when trying to update the driver to it, windows states I already have the best driver installed and won't update it. In the flash tool I'm selecting the HK V1 board and "USBASP" programmer. When I hit "start" it states the error message along with "error setting fuses".

Any ideas anyone?
Hi,

I know this programmer. I can't get it work either. It claims to be a USBasp, but the driver definition file says it is a xwopen usbasp. I started some weeks ago a list of incompatible programmers. It is the only one I know for the moment.

http://lazyzero.de/en/modellbau/kkmu...l/incompatible

Sorry Christian
Nov 20, 2011, 06:46 AM
Registered User
This is it. It came as an "extra" freebie when my friend ordered this one:

http://www.goodluckbuy.com/usb-asp-a...-adapter-.html

I'll just borrow his. Not sure why they included it free in the order. Maybe they were just trying to get rid of them.
Nov 20, 2011, 02:31 PM
MyFlyDream
erazotropa's Avatar
Ok, little question..

I fly this firmware with v4.7 with scalestick 5

I like the agility in this way, but the Yaw is very slow..

will increasing the following value give more yaw speed?

Code:
; This one determines the maximum Yaw command applied.
; Less gives less yaw autority, but also less possibility of motor saturation during full rudder stick.
; More gives more yaw autority, but also more possibility of motor saturation during full rudder stick.
.equ	YawLimit	= 250
Nov 20, 2011, 03:01 PM
AVR Dude
Quote:
Originally Posted by erazotropa View Post
Ok, little question..

I fly this firmware with v4.7 with scalestick 5

I like the agility in this way, but the Yaw is very slow..

will increasing the following value give more yaw speed?

Code:
; This one determines the maximum Yaw command applied.
; Less gives less yaw autority, but also less possibility of motor saturation during full rudder stick.
; More gives more yaw autority, but also more possibility of motor saturation during full rudder stick.
.equ	YawLimit	= 250
I increase the yaw rate by adding -1 to the code below

;--- Calculate yaw command output ---

lds t, YawGyroDirection
tst t
brpl ma62

b16neg GyroYaw

ma62: b16fdiv GyroYaw, ScaleGyro ;scale inputs
b16fdiv RxInYaw, ScaleStick-1


And I fly ScaleStick = 4 to get better pitch and roll :-)
Nov 20, 2011, 03:30 PM
MyFlyDream
erazotropa's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steveis View Post
I increase the yaw rate by adding -1 to the code below

;--- Calculate yaw command output ---

lds t, YawGyroDirection
tst t
brpl ma62

b16neg GyroYaw

ma62: b16fdiv GyroYaw, ScaleGyro ;scale inputs
b16fdiv RxInYaw, ScaleStick-1


And I fly ScaleStick = 4 to get better pitch and roll :-)
Thanks I will try this
Nov 21, 2011, 04:45 AM
Master of Flash
LazyZero's Avatar
Yes, I think so. These programmers also disappear more and more on ebay.

Best Christian

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sympster View Post
This is it. It came as an "extra" freebie when my friend ordered this one:

http://www.goodluckbuy.com/usb-asp-a...-adapter-.html

I'll just borrow his. Not sure why they included it free in the order. Maybe they were just trying to get rid of them.
Nov 21, 2011, 05:26 AM
Chopping board captain
elmesito's Avatar
Frustration is growing

Another weekend has gone by without seen the quad in the sky!

I have now turned to the KKKR firmware V2.3, but other problems now appear, and I am losing the will to live (not literally)!

This latest firmware has solved the old throttle problem and started a new one. Now the back motors are spinning much slower than the front ones.
I now am so frustrated that at any failure of my attempts, the quad goes back into the corner and stays there for the whole week.

A common failure I found throughout of all the firmwares I tried, is that the Aileron/Roll stick does not cause any reaction on the copter.
I have excluded a problem with the transmitter/receiver combo, by testing each single channel with a servo.
I now think that my board has its pin 31 bust.

Is anybody here capable to modify for me an xcopter firmware that uses a different pin as input for the Tx Roll (pin 30 for example)?

I am now seriously thinking to bin the board and head for something more expensive, but easier to setup.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion NEW KK Multicopter Core Board V5.5 Quadcopter and firmware loader terriwang Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Apr 05, 2016 04:21 AM
Sold KK Multicopter Core Board V5.5 Quadcopter and firmware loader $95 Shipped terriwang Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 20 Jun 05, 2011 11:34 PM
Cool KK Multicopter Core Board V5.5 Quadcopter and firmware loader $95 Shipped terriwang Hot Online Deals 0 May 26, 2011 12:28 AM
Sold Quadcopter KK Multicopter RR or RTF w/Turnigy 9X -- Trades welcome KKUSA Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 12 Mar 04, 2011 04:29 PM
For Sale SOLD, THANKS - COMPLETE KK QUAD RTF Kapteinkuk multicopter for sale bob.titus FPV Equipment (FS/W) 0 Nov 12, 2010 07:23 AM