Thread Tools
Old Oct 18, 2011, 05:54 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by nano_khalid View Post
Hi all,

Now I'm considering to buy RVOSD 5 (http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...roducts_id=135)
But I still need your support to provide me some info as below:

1) This RVOSD have IMU build-in inside?? (My understanding base on the spec, it include. Hope it not like ET or DOSD which is need to buy separately)

2) Some OSD like ET required stabilizer to make RTH. If not it will possible to crash. Did RVOSD required stabilizer too?? From the spec I study, I think it have built-in stabilizer.

3) In order to set waypoint, we need to communicate with computer. And we need this : http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...roducts_id=152
And this PICkit also required to keep update the firmware. Is it correct??

Appreciate your support fella!!

Thanks in advance..
Yes, the IMU is built-in but you need to remove as much as you can the vibrations induced by the motor/prop if you don't want to crash when using the autopilot especially the RTH mode.
As for the waypoint sequencer, it's not activated for exportation.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 18, 2011, 08:29 AM
nano_khalid is offline
Find More Posts by nano_khalid
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
Yes, the IMU is built-in but you need to remove as much as you can the vibrations induced by the motor/prop if you don't want to crash when using the autopilot especially the RTH mode.
As for the waypoint sequencer, it's not activated for exportation.
1)Vibration --> Seem like not too good. I must find the best position to avoid vibration
2)Waypoint --> From RVOSD spec:
-Autopilot modes, Return home, Level flight, Heading hold, Position hold, Fly by wire and waypoint navigation.
-Is possible to set up to 15 3D waypoints via remote control
-Programmable virtual fence to keep airplane at safe distance on waypoint navigation mode
-Automatic return home if virtual fence distance exceeded, RC signal lost or latest waypoint reached..

Seem like this spec is not correct. I cannot use it..

Any advise??
Old Oct 18, 2011, 09:50 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by nano_khalid View Post
1)Vibration --> Seem like not too good. I must find the best position to avoid vibration
2)Waypoint --> From RVOSD spec:
-Autopilot modes, Return home, Level flight, Heading hold, Position hold, Fly by wire and waypoint navigation.
-Is possible to set up to 15 3D waypoints via remote control
-Programmable virtual fence to keep airplane at safe distance on waypoint navigation mode
-Automatic return home if virtual fence distance exceeded, RC signal lost or latest waypoint reached..

Seem like this spec is not correct. I cannot use it..

Any advise??

RTH works on every RVOSD shipped worldwide, only the WP sequencer is not activated if you live outside CONUS, Hawai and Alaska.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:19 AM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Welcome aboard Firatp,
You made a wise choice. RVOSD will give you hours of enjoyment and a few challenges.
Do you know Melih? He is is Istanbul too, and is a significant contributor to the FPV field.
http://blog.flytron.com/author/admin
Hi
I know Melih he is always interested this kind if equipment as far as I have met him.
Cheers
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:25 AM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
Yes, the IMU is built-in but you need to remove as much as you can the vibrations induced by the motor/prop if you don't want to crash when using the autopilot especially the RTH mode.
As for the waypoint sequencer, it's not activated for exportation.
Hello
Regarding vibration level. How strength is RVOSD against to vibration? How can I check if RVOSD is happy with vibration level?

One more quick question!
I couldn't understand "hide ground distance" What is it for ?
Thanks
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:28 AM
nano_khalid is offline
Find More Posts by nano_khalid
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
RTH works on every RVOSD shipped worldwide, only the WP sequencer is not activated if you live outside CONUS, Hawai and Alaska.
Is it possible to activate?
I make some study from the forum.
Some said it can activate by update firmware. and some people said we need to sign some form to activate. Is it correct?
Old Oct 18, 2011, 10:32 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firatp View Post
Hello
Regarding vibration level. How strength is RVOSD against to vibration? How can I check if RVOSD is happy with vibration level?

One more quick question!
I couldn't understand "hide ground distance" What is it for ?
Thanks
To check for vibration, watch the AHI while you increase motor speed, it should not dance too much otherwise RTH will cause your plane to crash.
To limit vibrations the simpliest solution is to add balancing weights on the plate that holds the RVOSD.
I have 6 weights on mine.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 12:36 PM
Bear_Pants is offline
Find More Posts by Bear_Pants
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
To check for vibration, watch the AHI while you increase motor speed, it should not dance too much otherwise RTH will cause your plane to crash.
To limit vibrations the simpliest solution is to add balancing weights on the plate that holds the RVOSD.
I have 6 weights on mine.
Can you elaborate on this? Pictures of your rvosd? I have a wing so I don't have many options on where to place it.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:03 PM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bear_Pants View Post
Can you elaborate on this? Pictures of your rvosd? I have a wing so I don't have many options on where to place it.
I hotglued my RVOSD on a larger piece of foam and glued 6 weights on it, helps removing most of the vibes.

Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:18 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
I suggest you guys to flash the latest firmware version to your OSD. This should help with all concerns people were having about RVOSD.
That's the way it works, people express concerns, and I fix them on the updates .
http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...n-for-your-OSD
Also is important to read the manual. RVOSD is easy to set up. But still you could make some mistakes if you try to rush things.
http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...progress...%29
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:25 PM
Bear_Pants is offline
Find More Posts by Bear_Pants
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcheapo View Post
I suggest you guys to flash the latest firmware version to your OSD. This should help with all concerns people were having about RVOSD.
That's the way it works, people express concerns, and I fix them on the updates .
http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...n-for-your-OSD
Also is important to read the manual. RVOSD is easy to set up. But still you could make some mistakes if you try to rush things.
http://rangevideo.com/forum/showthre...progress...%29
Question on flashing updates. Do I need that picket tool? Or is it possible via the micro usb port on the OSD?

Thanks for the link. Didn't catch the second one.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:29 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
You do need the pickit to flash the updates.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 01:40 PM
Bear_Pants is offline
Find More Posts by Bear_Pants
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcheapo View Post
You do need the pickit to flash the updates.
oh. that sucks.
Old Oct 18, 2011, 03:37 PM
Blackrat is offline
Find More Posts by Blackrat
Registered Loon
Blackrat's Avatar
is this the new firmware to help with vibes ? i dont have a vibration problem , would you still recommend the upgrade ?
Old Oct 18, 2011, 04:35 PM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
To check for vibration, watch the AHI while you increase motor speed, it should not dance too much otherwise RTH will cause your plane to crash.
To limit vibrations the simpliest solution is to add balancing weights on the plate that holds the RVOSD.
I have 6 weights on mine.
Tonight, I had chance to test it. I surprised how sensitive it is. Even VTX fan made it vibrated. When I power the motor all bars hit to full right. I thing that this is something unwanted. I can say RVOSD is more sensitive than FY20. I hope to solve this soon.
Cheers


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 10:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM