Thread Tools
Old Oct 11, 2011, 03:48 AM
ommadawn is offline
Find More Posts by ommadawn
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
You wont be disappointed BP. It just gets better and better.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 11, 2011, 03:59 AM
ScooterInVegas is offline
Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
New Avatar for BP.

Old Oct 11, 2011, 04:02 AM
ommadawn is offline
Find More Posts by ommadawn
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
A bear behind!
Old Oct 11, 2011, 04:08 AM
ScooterInVegas is offline
Find More Posts by ScooterInVegas
Village Idiot!
ScooterInVegas's Avatar
I thought it was the front. You know, so when your happy, you can look down and call the bear a lair.
Old Oct 11, 2011, 04:02 PM
Bear_Pants is offline
Find More Posts by Bear_Pants
Suspended Account
Awesome! Thanks guys! Wooooooot!


<<
<<<
<<<<

(I prefer rage faces. But BP is obviously suiting)

I didn't realize it was just called AHI lol. Was trying to refer from flight simulator experience
Old Oct 12, 2011, 05:01 AM
datyip is offline
Find More Posts by datyip
Registered User
How can I know if waypoints navigation is enable with my rvosd5?
Old Oct 12, 2011, 05:44 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScooterInVegas View Post
Yep. The "horizontal attitude indicator" as you call it is called AHI.

AHI my butt, wait till you flip a switch and the plane turns around and comes home!! And Fly By Wire (FBW) in the wind, the plane flys like there is no wind. Cool...
Didn't know that, cool indeed but what's the maximum wind speed it can withstand?
Old Oct 12, 2011, 09:50 AM
sharonx is offline
Find More Posts by sharonx
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
I have Gen4 which I upgraded to Gen5 with this :
http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...roducts_id=259

If i but this
http://www.rangevideo.com/index.php?...roducts_id=271
and also buy GPS module and current sensor, can I combine this with my old video board to form another OSD GEN4 ?

Is the main board the big one ?
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:52 AM
SpookiePower is offline
Find More Posts by SpookiePower
Registered User
Some times the gps coordinates shows up on my OSD (Gen.5) and some times they disappear again. I thought it might have something to do with the altitude, when they are on/off but I really can't see a pattern in how this works. Can someone tell me this ?
Old Oct 12, 2011, 10:58 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
[QUOTE=SpookiePower;19572393]Some times the gps coordinates shows up on my OSD (Gen.5) and some times they disappear again. I thought it might have something to do with the altitude, when they are on/off but I really can't see a pattern in how this works. Can someone tell me this ?[/QUOTE

The way I understand it, GPS coordinates show up at start up then disappear when signal is OK, they reappear when signal becomes week or when you're in failsafe mode.
Someone correct me if I'm wrong.
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:09 AM
SpookiePower is offline
Find More Posts by SpookiePower
Registered User
I found this in the manual - about the disappering GPS coordinates

Low altitude angle:
When the angle between the airplane and the observer's local horizon gets under this value, GPS coordinates and date will be shown.

The default value is 10.

So it must depend not only on the altitude, but also on the LOS distance.
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:13 AM
lrrps is offline
Find More Posts by lrrps
Registered User
lrrps's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower View Post
I found this in the manual - about the disappering GPS coordinates

Low altitude angle:
When the angle between the airplane and the observer's local horizon gets under this value, GPS coordinates and date will be shown.

The default value is 10.

So it must depend not only on the altitude, but also on the LOS distance.
Meaning that if you fly too low, GPS data will show up?
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:32 AM
SpookiePower is offline
Find More Posts by SpookiePower
Registered User
Yes it does. One can also say that the farther away you are, the more altitude you must have be before the GPS coordinates disappears.
Old Oct 12, 2011, 11:45 AM
BushmanLA is offline
Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrrps View Post
Meaning that if you fly too low, GPS data will show up?
Yes.

The idea is that you don't really need GPS on the screen all the time. You only want it to show up if your aircraft is in trouble and about to die because it going down.
Old Oct 12, 2011, 12:21 PM
ommadawn is offline
Find More Posts by ommadawn
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Its not the height, rather the angle between the plane and yourself that triggers the additional information. Yu also get to see the date displayed. If you set it to 90 degrees it will display all the time. I leave mine at 10 degrees. If the plane is a long way away it will display even if you are above 1000ft.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 10:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM