Sep 17, 2011, 01:56 PM
Registered User
Well, at least it is on your list.......... :-) Is the update for bugs or cool new things?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 18, 2011, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Here's a flight flown with waypoints.
Waypoint Flight with RVOSD G5 (5 min 48 sec)
Sep 18, 2011, 07:15 PM
Registered User
vertcnc

It looks like you were gliding the whole flight? It also looks like you might be using throttle cut to activate RTH or are you just shutting off the TX? I like that airframe. Have you been happy with it?

Bob
Sep 18, 2011, 07:38 PM
Registered User
It flying under power, I had a problem with wire for current sensor. Throttle level is controlled by OSD, depending if it needs to climb or decsent. RTH and Waypoints are activated by a 3 pos. Switch.
Foamaroo is a nice platform for FPV. Lots of room for gear. I run a 8000 mah battery for long range flights. I have been out 7 miles with out a problem.
Sep 18, 2011, 08:31 PM
Registered User
Ok, I figured your Foamaroo could not be that frugal with power. I know how the RVOSD 5 works , I have 2 of them :-)
Sep 19, 2011, 12:51 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Wow that video is really low quality, what do you use to record it? I'm sorry but I just can't watch it, I get a headache.
Sep 19, 2011, 06:23 AM
Registered User
Today I did a test on the ground, with and without the prop. When reaching WOT (with the prop) the plane was making some small jumps, and the vibrations seems to be too much. Without the prop, it seems fine...I think.

I have not done a balance test of the prop.

Info:

Plane - Skywalker
Motor - Scorpion SII-3014 1040KV
Lipo - 4s
Prop - TGS Sport 9x6E Precision propelle

Testing vibration - RVOSD Gen.5 (0 min 45 sec)


Is it possibly to test the vibration while airborne ? I'm not sure if I stil can control the plane while looking at the debug screen ?
Last edited by SpookiePower; Sep 19, 2011 at 06:28 AM.
Sep 19, 2011, 07:27 AM
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Yes, you can fly (ie control the model) and look at the debug screen at the same time.
Sep 19, 2011, 08:33 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by boopidoo View Post
Wow that video is really low quality, what do you use to record it? I'm sorry but I just can't watch it, I get a headache.
Lawmate. I not really good at post processing these.
Sep 19, 2011, 04:44 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by boopidoo View Post
Yes, you can fly (ie control the model) and look at the debug screen at the same time.
When I switch between the different screens, and reach the menu-screen, then I will not be able to control the plane - is this correct ?
Sep 19, 2011, 05:02 PM
The Flying Circus
ommadawn's Avatar
Yes. The plane holds its last control stick positions. In order to change any menu items you need to have any of the automatic flight modes, like FBW, turned off as well.
Sep 19, 2011, 05:07 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Yes. The plane holds its last control stick positions. In order to change any menu items you need to have any of the automatic flight modes, like FBW, turned off as well.
This is true, except that if you enter the menu with any stabilization mode activated, some menus cant be changed but at the same time the autopilot will temporary set level flight while you are in the menu, this will let you change the menus you can in a more relaxed way.
Sep 19, 2011, 05:08 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by ommadawn View Post
Yes. The plane holds its last control stick positions. In order to change any menu items you need to have any of the automatic flight modes, like FBW, turned off as well.
I have not yet been airborne with my RVOSD, but on my first flight, I do not plane to change anything in the menu settings. Just selecting the debug screen to see the vibration while flying around. But when going through the different screens, I guess I just have to quickly enter and exit the menu screen, to regain control of the plane.
Sep 19, 2011, 05:13 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elcheapo View Post
This is true, except that if you enter the menu with any stabilization mode activated, some menus cant be changed but at the same time the autopilot will temporary set level flight while you are in the menu, this will let you change the menus you can in a more relaxed way.
Just to be sure about the difference between Stabilizaton and Autopilot. Stabilizaton is where the plane helps you control the plane, and this type of stabilization is selected in the menu - right ? Autopilot, is where the plane take total control of the plane - and this is activated by using a 3-position-switch, or turning off the Tx - right ?
Sep 19, 2011, 05:19 PM
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
You can manually activate any of the stabilization modes.
When you toggle the auxiliary switch it will enable-disable the mode set on the menu Aux autopilot mode. You can call this "Stabilization" or "autopilot" mode.
If Rc link is lost and the OSD configured to detect it, then the system will force Return home.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 09:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 10:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 04:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 12:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 02:51 AM