New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Sep 13, 2012, 11:04 PM
picard10th is offline
Find More Posts by picard10th
Registered User
picard10th's Avatar

RVOSD saves my plane


Lost DX7 signal @1.2 miles I was already trying to get back because of bad video. Very windy and I was disoriented in unfamiliar area. I just noticed while coasting home, no throttle groung speed was over 40mph. I really had to nose her down to lose altitude, hit over 70mph in down spiral.
71mph Skywalker Condor Saved by RVOSD (27 min 20 sec)
Just placed a big order with RV I was so pleased!
Last edited by picard10th; Sep 14, 2012 at 11:18 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 14, 2012, 09:09 AM
bjornthans is offline
Find More Posts by bjornthans
Registered User
bjornthans's Avatar
just a question. is it possible to just run the osd and get the information that is there without a camera connected via the vtx? lets say your camera dies or something like that?
Old Sep 14, 2012, 10:21 AM
picard10th is offline
Find More Posts by picard10th
Registered User
picard10th's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjornthans View Post
just a question. is it possible to just run the osd and get the information that is there without a camera connected via the vtx? lets say your camera dies or something like that?
No, needs a cam connected. I patched a canon camcorder output one time so I could read the osd.
Old Sep 14, 2012, 10:28 AM
Martin Y is offline
Find More Posts by Martin Y
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
If I'm correct RTH still works if your camera dies.
Old Sep 14, 2012, 11:23 AM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y View Post
If I'm correct RTH still works if your camera dies.
Yes it works
Old Sep 15, 2012, 03:27 PM
iskess is offline
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
Bump #3
So nobody has answered my simple questions about how the RVOSD handles waypoint navigation. In re-reading my post, perhaps I am coming across as critical of its capabilities, which may in turn seem critical of Alex. I'm sorry if this is the case, it was not my intent to behave like one of the Trolls that haunt these forums. I am honestly trying to gain a complete understanding of the limitations of the RVOSD waypoint navigation functionality.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
Bump....
Can someone please confirm that my understanding of the limitations of the waypoint functionality are correct. This is not clear from the manual or the videos I've watched.
Thank you for your time.
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess<br />
Let me know if i understand this right... <br />
So if I havent used the waypoint sequencer yet, it will show waypoints 1-5. <br />
There is no way to show waypoint 6 unless I let the autopilot fly to waypoint 1 first. The only way to fly to waypoint 6, is to fly the whole route 1-5 first, and I can't stop and loiter at waypoint 5, it will move on to 6. If it moves on to 6, I would have to turn off the waypoint sequencer and re-engage it, which would cause the autopilot to fly back to 1 and start all over again. <br />
So the only real way to have it fly directly to a waypoint any time you want is to have that waypoint be 1, and set Last Waypoint to 1.
Old Sep 15, 2012, 04:46 PM
boopidoo is offline
Find More Posts by boopidoo
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
I would say your second post is quite correct. It does fly to each waypoint in sequence.
Old Sep 15, 2012, 07:26 PM
iskess is offline
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by boopidoo View Post
I would say your second post is quite correct. It does fly to each waypoint in sequence.
Thank you!
So if I turn off the autopilot at waypoint 5 to manually circle the point and look around, then turn the autopilot back on again, will it continue to #6 or start again at #1?
Old Sep 17, 2012, 02:07 PM
flashervn is offline
Find More Posts by flashervn
Registered User
Hi, I just got my first RVOSD 5. Can anyone please tell me where is the best place to put it on a Skywalker? I also have the anti vibe mount from RangeVideo. Thanks

Minh
Old Sep 17, 2012, 02:39 PM
dayanki is offline
Find More Posts by dayanki
Registered User
dayanki's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashervn View Post
Hi, I just got my first RVOSD 5. Can anyone please tell me where is the best place to put it on a Skywalker? I also have the anti vibe mount from RangeVideo. Thanks

Minh
Hi, the Skywalker is cavernous, you can put the RVOSD wherever you want. This is an example.
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:32 PM
flashervn is offline
Find More Posts by flashervn
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by dayanki View Post
Hi, the Skywalker is cavernous, you can put the RVOSD wherever you want. This is an example.
Hi, thanks for the answer. What I was really asking is where to install it on a Skywalker so it is
1. Nearest to CG
2.With the least vibration

In the example you shown, isnt it too close to the motor where most of the vibration happens? Thanks
Old Sep 17, 2012, 03:40 PM
boopidoo is offline
Find More Posts by boopidoo
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
Thank you!
So if I turn off the autopilot at waypoint 5 to manually circle the point and look around, then turn the autopilot back on again, will it continue to #6 or start again at #1?
I'm sorry I haven't tried to do that so I don't know.
Old Sep 17, 2012, 04:18 PM
dayanki is offline
Find More Posts by dayanki
Registered User
dayanki's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flashervn View Post
Hi, thanks for the answer. What I was really asking is where to install it on a Skywalker so it is
1. Nearest to CG
2.With the least vibration

In the example you shown, isnt it too close to the motor where most of the vibration happens? Thanks
Hi, I do not own the skywalker (but I own the RVOSD5). In the example it seems to me that the RVOSD is located near the CG of Skywalker, though this is not essential. IMHO, with the anti vibration mount you need not worry too much, instead check the balancing of propeller and engine.
Old Sep 17, 2012, 04:48 PM
Rastislavko is offline
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
This is how I made it: it's in the CG, takes almost no place (you can fit batter under it) and accessible via side door. RVOSD is in that black shrink wrap (I had no transparent one when I was replacing G4 to G5 board), I made my own anti-vibration mount (yellow), it was before RV made their own :-). Also the current sensor is in black shrink wrap - next to BEC. Final placement of ESC is on the opposite site. GPS is under the wing, next to LRS RX. I'm very satisfied with this placement, vibrations are no problem, I can take it out when I need to upgrade firmware (Alex knows how many times I did so )...

Oh, and one more thing: NEVER use that pan and tilt from BEVRC. It's a piece of ...
Old Sep 18, 2012, 04:22 AM
iskess is offline
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
Thank you!
So if I turn off the autopilot at waypoint 5 to manually circle the point and look around, then turn the autopilot back on again, will it continue to #6 or start again at #1?
Does anyone know what happens if you turn off the autopilot in the middle of a waypoint sequence, then turn it back on?
Will it continue the sequence from where you were, or will it start over at waypoint #1 again?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 10:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM