New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:16 AM
iskess is offline
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Svede View Post
Maybe I've missed it, but is there a way to have the RTH come back at the altitude it kicks in at and then once home, do a descending circle/fig.8? I'm just thinking if it kicks in while I'm mountain surfing at 5000ft above launch, it could easily descend into the mountain side while trying to get down to a reasonable return cruise height.
Alex, this is exactly what I was asking about.

Suggestion #1 (not in priority order)
Last edited by iskess; Aug 31, 2012 at 09:54 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 31, 2012, 04:07 AM
Rastislavko is online now
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
What do you mean by throttle protection?
RVOSD has perfect built-in autopilot. It is triggered by failsafe - there are more detection modes for singal loss, but the idea is the autopilot is started when you have no valid signal. When autopilot is on, the motor starts spinning the prop and the airplane is trying to return to home using elevator and ailerons.

But imagine, what will happen if you:

1) turn on autopilot on ground (it needs just to hit one switch on transmitter)
2) turn off your transmitter before turning off the airplane
3) give your transmitter antenna too close to receiver antenna, so the signal is too strong and RX detect it as failsafe condition...

In all above the autopilot thinks you are too low, so started the engine to corret altitude. Too bad for your fingers :-).

It's a problem of all autopilots, not only RVOSD. There are several condition you can check before triggering autopilot or just throttle - valid GPS lock, some altitude or some speed. This is what needs to be added - in beta firmware there is non-working menu item "throttle protection", so I think it's just a matter of time :-) It was not added yet because you can fly from hill in negative altitude against the strong wind so with zero speed, but I think both conditions are very rare to met exactly at the same time when autopilot is on and is trying to return your plane home. ...
Old Aug 31, 2012, 04:46 AM
Hmerly is online now
Find More Posts by Hmerly
Registered User
Hmerly's Avatar
What the difference between RVOSD 5 and RVOSD 5.1?
RCG Plus Member
Old Aug 31, 2012, 05:10 AM
boopidoo is offline
Find More Posts by boopidoo
On a holiday?
boopidoo's Avatar
Other type of IMUs and added magnetometer. Also the previous, very convenient, method of upgrading by replacing one of the boards is no longer possible. This is because the IMUs had to be placed on the other board. The reason for this is AFAIK because the other tyope of IMUs are no longer available.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 08:32 AM
Rastislavko is online now
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
If I'm right there is also new, better version of pressure sensor/thermometer on v5.1.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 09:44 AM
Firatp is offline
Find More Posts by Firatp
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
V5 has a bad drift in altimeter. I thing new barometric sensor solved this problem.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:03 AM
BushmanLA is offline
Find More Posts by BushmanLA
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
There is one thing that RVOSD has that others don't seem to even come close to touching.
It LOOKS GOOD on screen.

Yes the stabilization and autopilot and waypoint features all work as good or better than most, but damn does it ever look sexy compared to all those other OSD's using the Analog Devices OSD chip or something similar.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:12 AM
Rastislavko is online now
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Most OSDs are based on MAX7456 chip. Remzibi, EzOSD, Cyclops OSD etc... I hate that. You can identify it by large numbers and letters all around the screen, because it was designed for video recorders or camcoders. There is fixed grid (something like chess board) where you can place characters. So it's very easy to code it or adjust for your needs. But it looks ugly and you can't do anything against it. RVOSD uses it's own graphic board, this is why it's very nice and readable despite small letters or numbers.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 10:23 AM
iskess is offline
Find More Posts by iskess
FPV in Hawaii
iskess's Avatar
[QUOTE=iskess;22597150]What do you mean by throttle protection?

Thanks for explaining. I always keep the motor switch off until ready for launch, and turn it off again first thing after landing. I wouldn't use the throttle protection option. I hope it remains an option so I can fly from a hilltop and still have RTH flying over the beach.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:08 PM
Rastislavko is online now
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by iskess View Post
Thanks for explaining. I always keep the motor switch off until ready for launch, and turn it off again first thing after landing.
You don't understand me. You can't disable throttle, triggered by autopilot, with any switch. Failsafe, caused by anything = full throttle (not everytime, you can set it by yourself, but it should be fast enough for climb). This is why I think this is the last disadvantage of RVOSD - it's not very safe with configured autopilot.

Also, if your airplane crashlands somewhere, it starts autopilot = full throttle on ground. Too dangerous for any potential spectators...
Old Aug 31, 2012, 12:41 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
Quote:
You don't understand me. You can't disable throttle, triggered by autopilot, with any switch. Failsafe, caused by anything = full throttle (not everytime, you can set it by yourself, but it should be fast enough for climb). This is why I think this is the last disadvantage of RVOSD - it's not very safe with configured autopilot.
There is a solution, set glide and cruise throttle to zero at take off. Then set it to the desired level after.
Quote:
Also, if your airplane crashlands somewhere, it starts autopilot = full throttle on ground. Too dangerous for any potential spectators...
There is a solution also, set both glide and cruise throttle to zero if you know there is no chance to go back home, and going to crash-land outside RC range.
Of course this doesn't work for unexpected crashes, but I didn't programmed the autopilot to crash.
On my 40km range test flight you can see I did this when I knew there were no battery left to go back home. Look at the very end of this video:
FPV style, 44km record FRsky RC 2.4Ghz. (7 min 4 sec)


Of course I know I have to do something for the protection of those that still crash outside range, turn off RC transmiters with the airplane still active on ground. And a long list of funny things that I have witnessed on this years of giving support to RVOSD users.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 01:57 PM
Rastislavko is online now
Find More Posts by Rastislavko
You can't take the sky from me
Rastislavko's Avatar
Alex, if you run out of battery, you no need to set throttle to zero - ESC will stop motor with empty battery, so it will not harm anybody...

I know how much work you have, especcialy now, when you are releasing new HW version with new firmware. This is about safety, but full functionality is first, I can understand this.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 02:12 PM
Elcheapo is offline
Find More Posts by Elcheapo
Registered User
Elcheapo's Avatar
The airplane will lose altitude and crash before the propeller completely stops. ESC could be trying to move a stuck propeller after crash landing, this is why I did this.
However after that flight I noticed the ESC I am using K-force(Hobbywing) does stop trying to start the motor if it detects the propeller is stuck.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 02:54 PM
picard10th is offline
Find More Posts by picard10th
Registered User
picard10th's Avatar
Hi Alex,
I'm happy to report I'm having much better results with the SW Condor then I did with the EPP FPV. I think the flex in the control surfaces gave the AP a hard time it was even unresponsive for me at times.

I'm trying to get strong confidence in the RTH before I go any distance. One concern is some times is seems very slow to respond like its not sure what to do maybe in time it would turn but I have to cancel RTH while I can still safely pilot it back what setting would start the turn quicker not necessarily increase turn angle or don't you see a problem? Example at 9:22

Skywalker Condor 1880 RVOSD PH & RTH tests (10 min 53 sec)
Last edited by picard10th; Aug 31, 2012 at 03:08 PM.
Old Aug 31, 2012, 03:23 PM
cabster101 is offline
Find More Posts by cabster101
Registered User

Set neutral AHI in air


Anyone else ever have a hard time setting neutral AHI while in the air? I've done it before a few times but sometimes I can't get the screen to calibrate it to come up. I get in the menu and go to Set neutral AHI and push to the right but nothing happens. I've had the issue off and on in the past but today I couldn't access it at all. I can set all other menu options without issue.

I can set it on the ground but I can never get it perfect. I've had better luck setting it in the air when I can get it to come up.

This is on 5.07 but I had the same issue on 5.06.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Maiden Reports 12345 Arizona Model Aviators 744 Oct 16, 2015 10:17 PM
Help! RVOSD thermal sensors rcmonster99 FPV Talk 16 Jun 20, 2011 11:21 AM
Discussion Weekend weather reports neck Arizona Model Aviators 13 Jun 10, 2011 05:59 PM
Discussion where are the Joe Nall horror "reports? guy hanson Radios 49 May 18, 2011 01:06 PM
Discussion Finally Fixed the Country Reports daboz Dynamic Soaring 5 May 16, 2011 03:51 AM